iBasso DX100 Reference DAP Impression

Koelsch

Still listening to it and see if there will any more improvements. Just let a fellow bro try out today. He was using JH13 with Twag/Twcu hybrid and commented that the sound stage is very expansive (equal or slightly better than CLAS + ALO RX mkII), less bassy than HM801, slightly warm, very good 3D presence and instrument separation but not as detailed as he expected. He was listening to Inception album at 16/44.1 ALAC and Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 at 24/96 FLAC.

Anyone is welcome to try it out, at my convenience, of course =:p

who tested the iBasso dx100 uh? :D heh

-Sora-

The price has taken me by surprise.. aiyo Y SO EX!!!! no money to spend alr zz

Randius

who tested the iBasso dx100 uh? :D heh

He doesn't seem to post here often =:p

Took DX100 to Jaben to audition the CK100 Pro. Some of the staffs took a look and their comment was funny

The price has taken me by surprise.. aiyo Y SO EX!!!! no money to spend alr zz

Did it come as a surprise? It was pitched as a high-end product going up against Hifiman and Colorfly so the price won't be cheap at all.

iAHBEE

He doesn't seem to post here often =:p

Took DX100 to Jaben to audition the CK100 Pro. Some of the staffs took a look and their comment was funny

Did it come as a surprise? It was pitched as a high-end product going up against Hifiman and Colorfly so the price won't be cheap at all.
sic comments from them prease :o

iRbaboon

It was made out to be a high end product, by the looks of it's components. But not priced very competitively to the other selections in the market. To me, it seems like just another one of those top-class PMPs. What really sets it apart from the rest (functions wise)?

Randius

sic comments from them prease :o

Already did.

"He was using JH13 with Twag/Twcu hybrid and commented that the sound stage is very expansive (equal or slightly better than CLAS + ALO RX mkII), less bassy than HM801, slightly warm, very good 3D presence and instrument separation but not as detailed as he expected. He was listening to Inception album at 16/44.1 ALAC and Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 at 24/96 FLAC."

Randius

It was made out to be a high end product, by the looks of it's components. But not priced very competitively to the other selections in the market. To me, it seems like just another one of those top-class PMPs. What really sets it apart from the rest (functions wise)?

No offense but mind if I ask what other selections in the market are you referring to? J3? D3? T51? iPod Touch? Pardon me asking but which one of these can drive HD600 / LCD3 to satisfying level without an external amp? Do they have coaxial and optical output? Do they play 24/192 files without downsampling them? I don't think of DX100 as a PMP because I am not looking for one. If I do, DX100 will not be on my list because of the low resolution of LCD and short battery life. It does its main function very well and to me, all other features are just nice to have.

If you are referring to HM801, C4 then they are all in the same price range.

iRbaboon

No offense but mind if I ask what other selections in the market are you referring to? J3? D3? T51? iPod Touch? Pardon me asking but which one of these can drive HD600 / LCD3 to satisfying level without an external amp? Do they have coaxial and optical output? Do they play 24/192 files without downsampling them? I don't think of DX100 as a PMP because I am not looking for one. If I do, DX100 will not be on my list because of the low resolution of LCD and short battery life. It does its main function very well and to me, all other features are just nice to have.

If you are referring to HM801, C4 then they are all in the same price range.

Satisfaction is purely subjective. But if you want to do the math, 60 ohm and 91db/mw is not really difficult to drive. Don't know why u so mad lol, I'm just asking what sets it apart from other selections in the market, aside from the components.

Anyway, stuff DX100 has that others don't, in numerical order

1. in and outputs.
2. Plays 24/192 without downsampling.

Anything else? Preferably compared to other selections in it's own class. I don't have any experience with any of those top-end stuff so please enlighten me.

Randius

Satisfaction is purely subjective. But if you want to do the math, 60 ohm and 91db/mw is not really difficult to drive. Don't know why u so mad lol, I'm just asking what sets it apart from other selections in the market, aside from the components.

1. in and outputs.

Anything else? Preferably compared to other selections in it's own class. I don't have any experience with any of those top-end stuff so please enlighten me.

Sorry if I sound harsh but I am not angry at all and I am just putting a few questions towards you because you didn't state what are the "other selections in the market" and I have to make a guess. Maybe you are right that the headphones mentioned are not hard to drive then why do people want to use amps with them? Let's not go into discussion on that. Personally, the only other products I would associate as in same class are the HM801 and C4 or maybe a CLAS stack. Because I only heard the HM801 with standard module only briefly and not the C4, I am not going to comment on them. One fellow bro had tried it out and he owned the HM801 and now iPod 5G + CLAS + ALO RX mkII and I have posted his impression.

I wish to correct you on the input - DX100 does not have any input. No USB/optical/coaxial/line in.

DX100 has higher power output than both HM801 and C4 except HM801 with balanced module. It has WIFI but I won't even bother turning it on as it will further shorten the already-short battery life.

I know many find the price hard to swallow (I sold away my previous setups and a couple of other stuffs in order to afford this) but the same goes for HM801 and C4. For those who are pairing CLAS + amp with their ipods/iphone, the prices also add up to be same or higher. With that in mind, I find the price for DX100 justifiable. Heck, I can even put it in my jeans pocket! :D

You are welcomed to try it out ;)

-Sora-

1. in and outputs.

Got so difficult go ibasso.com to see its features meh? y u keep asking stupid questions? Even from reading randius post alr can figure that DX100 offer stuff others dont like optical/ coaxial output. A 3-Setting Gain Switch is also very rare

alamakazam_

Nice try but nope, my jeans are not super baggy =:p

Npnt haha, really u say 3 thickness of iphone , how to squeeze into jeans

ok... I tried stack 2 iphone + 1 ipod touch stuff in my jean
actually can lah, but not comfortable

alot of thing can be done... but sometimes abit 勉强

mantisviii

Probably can force in, if you wear normal jeans. But it'll be sticking out for sure. LOL

iAHBEE

Got so difficult go ibasso.com to see its features meh? y u keep asking stupid questions? Even from reading randius post alr can figure that DX100 offer stuff others dont like optical/ coaxial output. A 3-Setting Gain Switch is also very rare

No experience/interest mah.. Jin fierce :o

Randius

Npnt haha, really u say 3 thickness of iphone , how to squeeze into jeans

ok... I tried stack 2 iphone + 1 ipod touch stuff in my jean
actually can lah, but not comfortable

alot of thing can be done... but sometimes abit 勉强

Yup, it will be bulging but for HM801, CLAS stack, you don't even need to think about it.

XP

Nice try but nope, my jeans are not super baggy =:p

I gave up on trying to fit it into my jeans. And I have to wear a belt to keep my jeans from slipping LOL. Now using my DX100 with a pouch I bought from those army shops:

soTBG.jpg

iRbaboon

Got so difficult go ibasso.com to see its features meh? y u keep asking stupid questions? Even from reading randius post alr can figure that DX100 offer stuff others dont like optical/ coaxial output. A 3-Setting Gain Switch is also very rare.

Strong comprehension skills.

I asked what's the difference between DX100 and the others at the same price range or considered high-end for comparison purposes. Makes it easier to compare and decide should one decide to purchase one of these.

You can't find such comparisons on Ibasso's website, so it's definitely relevant and not stupid. Read first before talking. Rofl.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.