China Tablets to recommend

seasonscrystal

I can't read chinese well and suck at searching for news, etc on chinese sites. So I'm counting on u for news on dual/multi-cored ICS tablets liao. TIA! :p

lol multi-cores/many-cores is Allwinner A10 lor. Dual core China tablet available now, try look at SmartQ Ten3 at 1499 RMB (around S$310)
´¿Õý±ùä¿ÁÜÈýÃ÷ÖÎ ÖÇÆ÷Ten3ԤװAndroid4.0_ÖÇÆ÷MID_MP3ÐÂÎÅ-ÖйشåÔÚÏß

Edit: This one experience wise should be like that of Kindle Fire with a 9.7" IPS screen. Personally I don't like the price point... 1499 RMB is asking too much 1299 will be more real... lol But that's just me lah, everyone sees value worth differently.

lao3hero

lol multi-cores/many-cores is Allwinner A10 lor. Dual core China tablet available now, try look at SmartQ Ten3 at 1499 RMB (around S$310)
´¿Õý±ùä¿ÁÜÈýÃ÷ÖÎ ÖÇÆ÷Ten3ԤװAndroid4.0_ÖÇÆ÷MID_MP3ÐÂÎÅ-ÖйشåÔÚÏß

Edit: This one experience wise should be like that of Kindle Fire with a 9.7" IPS screen. Personally I don't like the price point... 1499 RMB is asking too much 1299 will be more real... lol But that's just me lah, everyone sees value worth differently.

The specs leh? U think ok? Wall of chinese text sibeh stressed lol. And where/how to buy ah?

seasonscrystal

Thanks for the english link lol. We can buy from Taobao from outside China ah?

Can use vpost with their China Vpay service. Easier to use agent.

The better agents I'd gathered are sgshop (using them for months but have mixed feeling about their service, can be very good and can be annoying), Hirakawa from MO (No service charge but EMS more expensive, but to ur doorstep.), 65daigou (I haven't try yet, but heard it's alright).

I do suggest you leave in comment/remark only order for u IF the seller have ready stock.;)

Also MAKE SURE u really like that tablet before u get, also KNOW what you're getting lol Do some read ups, SmartQ Ten2 has pretty good track record. Don't want later u come in with regrets or had expectations too high up and want it like galaxy series or ipad2-3:s13:

lao3hero

Can use vpost with their China Vpay service. Easier to use agent.

The better agents I'd gathered are sgshop (using them for months but have mixed feeling about their service, can be very good and can be annoying), Hirakawa from MO (No service charge but EMS more expensive, but to ur doorstep.), 65daigou (I haven't try yet, but heard it's alright).

I do suggest you leave in comment/remark only order for u IF the seller have ready stock.;)

Also MAKE SURE u really like that tablet before u get, also KNOW what you're getting lol Do some read ups, SmartQ Ten2 has pretty good track record. Don't want later u come in with regrets or had expectations too high up and want it like galaxy series or ipad2-3:s13:

Thanks. Btw i pm'ed u but it's full leh..

lao3hero

I recommend a china brand ICOO D90W tablet pc,Main Features
Android 4.0,Cameras Wifi 3G 21060P HD Video chat,10-point Capacitive display,Allwinner Many core A10 1.5GHz.

looks nice but do u know the weight? Did a quick glance but like never list.. Thanks.

lao3hero

I recommend a china brand JXD S9000 tablet pc,Main Features
Android 2.3,Dual Cameras Wifi 3G ,10-point Capacitive display,Allwinner Many core A10 1.0GHz.

Thx but i want android 4 with many cores leh.

Btw, do y'all recommend just based on reading internet specs or personally own/played with the sets b4 ah?

seasonscrystal

A new chipset is creeping into the China tablet market, it's by Telechip, model TCC8923 Cortex-A5 1.2GHz (But I think it operates at 1GHz) with Mali400.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Cortex A5 is the cheapest chipset in ARM Cortex series. It's also uses lesser power compared with others. In the past Qualcomm was the only one using this, like in HTC explorer. It's also capable to have 1-4 cores unlike A8 which is only single core.

SXZ(神行者)PD10 with TCC8923 is currently released in China. The retailers are saying it's better than Allwinner A10 & RK2918. Also some are advertising it as dual cores which I have doubts. Anyway, only time will tell how good it really is:s13:
¹ØÓÚÖö¥µÄÉñÐÐÕßa5Ë«ºË£¬¸÷λÔõô¿´¡­ - ¹ú²ú7~10´çƽ°åMID - iMP3ËæÉíÓ°Òô -

seasonscrystal

Gonna list the new chipset out or gonna be out.

AMlogic 8726-M3 Cortex A9 Mali400 - Currently used in Ramos tablet, was only "hot" for a week or so when W6HD was out, but now no news.

Telechip TCC8923 Cortex A5 Mali400 - SXZ advertised it as a dual-cores but I have doubts.

VIA8850 Cortex A9 Mali400 - Performance is said to be same as Allwinner A10 but cheaper.

Allwinner A13 Cortex A8 Mali400 - A cheaper version of A10 at US$4.99

MTK6575 Cortex A9 SGX531 - This is said to be a dual-core, mainly used in mobile phones, but can be used on tablet for phone/3G. However, the GPU is kinda weak.

Rockchip RK30xx Cortex A9 Mali400 - This is a dual-core chipset, which I'd personally have high hopes on.:D

AMlogic (8726?)-M6 Cortex A9 (Should be Mali400) - This is also a dual-core chipset which Ramos will likely use.

mamborol

I have a 2 month old Teclast A10 for sales if anyone interested.

My wife wanna buy me an iPad, so I might just let go my Teclast A10.

IPS screen
8gb storage
1gb ram
ISC 4.0.3 (unofficial)

Conditional 10/10. Still under warranty by Teclast.

PM if anyone interested. If not I will just let my boy watch movie with it.

snipes14

A new chipset is creeping into the China tablet market, it's by Telechip, model TCC8923 Cortex-A5 1.2GHz (But I think it operates at 1GHz) with Mali400.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Cortex A5 is the cheapest chipset in ARM Cortex series. It's also uses lesser power compared with others. In the past Qualcomm was the only one using this, like in HTC explorer. It's also capable to have 1-4 cores unlike A8 which is only single core.

SXZ(神行者)PD10 with TCC8923 is currently released in China. The retailers are saying it's better than Allwinner A10 & RK2918. Also some are advertising it as dual cores which I have doubts. Anyway, only time will tell how good it really is:s13:
¹ØÓÚÖö¥µÄÉñÐÐÕßa5Ë«ºË£¬¸÷λÔõô¿´¡* - ¹ú²ú7~10´çƽ°åMID - iMP3ËæÉíÓ°Òô -

The Cortex A5 does support dual-core. Refer to this:

It's possible, though somewhat unlikely, that the processor is some variant of the Exynos line, say a lower binned sample selected for lower speed operation. Take a look at that chart above, though. The Classic ARM line ends with the Ace's ARM11 processor; and sliding over to the Cortex line, you find the Cortex-A5. First announced in 2009, we haven't actually seen a Cortex-A5 processor in production. The design is very power efficient and aimed at low cost devices. It has about half the performance of the Cortex-A15 line at similar clock speeds, and supports core counts of 1, 2 and 4. It would make a great fit for a dual-core smartphone targeted at the sub-$300 price point, as the Ace 2 probably will be.

Source: AnandTech - Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 and mini 2 Announced: Mystery SoC Within

Jeez now I'm tempted to buy that. I will probably get it through a taobao buyer. Time to get rid of my Aurora. The measly battery life and heat produced by the Allwinner A10 is pissing me off. What did they fab it on, 90nm? :s13:

Edits: Paiseh didn't notice that you acknowledged the fact that it supports 1-4 cores. I thought you were unaware of that. Apologies :o

seasonscrystal

The Cortex A5 does support dual-core. Refer to this:

Source: AnandTech - Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 and mini 2 Announced: Mystery SoC Within

Jeez now I'm tempted to buy that. I will probably get it through a taobao buyer. Time to get rid of my Aurora. The measly battery life and heat produced by the Allwinner A10 is pissing me off. What did they fab it on, 90nm? :s13:

Edits: Paiseh didn't notice that you acknowledged the fact that it supports 1-4 cores. I thought you were unaware of that. Apologies :o

Ya, I was refering to PD10 might not be a dual-core as advertised. A5 is sometimes refered to as A8.5:s13:

Heat doesn't feel that hot to me, if u compared to older RK2918 tablet (firmwares before SDK2.1), Novo7Au heat aren't that bad:s13: If u had gone through Novo7A, you'll know some firmwares doesn't heat up as much as others. Mainly those with unclock features.

Also the battery life is due to firmware. Gemei G3 3000mah battery on 2.3.4 firmware, 1 night standby is 1%:D That is the real power management of Allwinner A10.

So in short, ur 2 complains may be resolved with future firmware updates. And based on ur 2 complains, I suggest u stick with big boys chipsets like OMAP and Tegra. Going into a new chipset, u'll end with regrets again as the firmwares CONFIRM got problems :s13:

edit: also there won't be slatedroid around to help u, I recall when A10 just come out only a handful of us on slatedroid in Cortex-A8 section talking about it lol

edit: Currently there's only 1 Taobao seller with PD10, it's the company shop BUT with 0 rating lol

snipes14

Actually I'm ok with the tablet. It's true there's frustrations but also fun to tweak and play around with it. Plus it appeals to my underdog mentality. My constant talk about changing to another tablet is just the techie inside me, always wanting new toys to play with. :s13:

seasonscrystal

SXZ PD10 prototype review
TCC8923

From what I'd gathered from the review:

1. Build is acceptable by China tablet standard, reminds me of Uzone F0C.
2. Screen is the standard screen used in most low end tablet. Brightness is sufficient for indoor use.
3. Here's the interesting part, PD10 runs on ICS, but SXZ made effort to do a custom UI that resemble GB:s13: Well at least they make effort :)
4. The prototype is only 800MHz, but the released version should be 1GHz.
5. Performance wise is similar to that of RK2918 & Allwinner A10. Do note this is running at 800MHz.
6. Able to run 1080p videos, but not all format/codecs are supported. Audio codecs like AC3, DTS, WMA2 are not supported. Able to output via HDMI.
7. Wifi is good, able to reach 12m without problem.
8. Camera looks decent for China tablet.
9. With Mali400, 3D games plays well.
10. Battery life on full brightness, wifi and 1/3 volume, streaming videos can last for 3hrs. Which is good as I recall it's 3000mah battery.
11. This tablet UI still needs works and there's heat issue as the back shell feels hot after 10+ mins of game play.

IMHO, I think Allwinner A10 is still better for video playback:D

snipes14

SXZ PD10 prototype review
TCC8923

From what I'd gathered from the review:

1. Build is acceptable by China tablet standard, reminds me of Uzone F0C.
2. Screen is the standard screen used in most low end tablet. Brightness is sufficient for indoor use.
3. Here's the interesting part, PD10 runs on ICS, but SXZ made effort to do a custom UI that resemble GB:s13: Well at least they make effort :)
4. The prototype is only 800MHz, but the released version should be 1GHz.
5. Performance wise is similar to that of RK2918 & Allwinner A10. Do note this is running at 800MHz.
6. Able to run 1080p videos, but not all format/codecs are supported. Audio codecs like AC3, DTS, WMA2 are not supported. Able to output via HDMI.
7. Wifi is good, able to reach 12m without problem.
8. Camera looks decent for China tablet.
9. With Mali400, 3D games plays well.
10. Battery life on full brightness, wifi and 1/3 volume, streaming videos can last for 3hrs. Which is good as I recall it's 3000mah battery.
11. This tablet UI still needs works and there's heat issue as the back shell feels hot after 10+ mins of game play.

IMHO, I think Allwinner A10 is still better for video playback:D

Why would they do that? I thought the consensus is that ICS has a better UI than GB?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.