Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Announced!

BOMPEEPEE

I am guessing.. warranty claim and you can download purchased books thru amazon

ah.. the almighty warranty. I heard from my friends that it is able to "jailbreak" the kindle to put your custom screensavers? I am really against the idea of having an advertisement as the screensaver lol.

kennyg1969

ah.. the almighty warranty. I heard from my friends that it is able to "jailbreak" the kindle to put your custom screensavers? I am really against the idea of having an advertisement as the screensaver lol.

lol well you do have an option to pay extra for no ads or "jailbreak it" but seriously, the ads are non intrusive and does not suck up alot of battery

BOMPEEPEE

lol well you do have an option to pay extra for no ads or "jailbreak it" but seriously, the ads are non intrusive and does not suck up alot of battery

ltr sueysuey turn on the kindle on the mrt and the screen is a lingerie ad :s34:
haha but some bros here say the ads are quite good

kennyg1969

ltr sueysuey turn on the kindle on the mrt and the screen is a lingerie ad :s34:
haha but some bros here say the ads are quite good

dun have lingerie ads lah.. so far i seen ATT's 4G promotion, books and some movies adverts

xiaodouya

in fact, most of the ads quite nice and was complimented by some news source(engadget/gizmodo) some times ago.

don have to worry so much for the ads on your kindle, go for cheaper option and save urself some $$

kingkangkong

Do you order with or without special offers?

Does anyone knows when will the ads appear for kindle with special offers?

Eg. Each time you switch on the kindle?

As long as you dont register your kindle (with ads version) with amazon, there will be no ads. The wallpaper would be the default ones which i think are actually quite nice!

lorettatay

As long as you dont register your kindle (with ads version) with amazon, there will be no ads. The wallpaper would be the default ones which i think are actually quite nice!

so how do i purchase e-books fm amazon if dun reg?

kingkangkong

so how do i purchase e-books fm amazon if dun reg?

yea, you can't if you dont register. Its really only for people who don't mind side loading their books. I realised that I only side load my books so I decided not to register.

tang63

I am guessing.. warranty claim and you can download purchased books thru amazon

How much time do we have from the time we buy the kindle to register for warranty?
I understand that certain electronics products that I buy last time say need to register within 30days of purchase in order to get warranty.

I also side load my books! I don't think I will bother buying books over from amazon, hence I don't see the need to register unless its for warranty.

Just to clarify, so assuming I do NOT register, and I buy the kindle with ads, interface will be EXACTLY the same as the kindle without ads?

tang63

Does anyone else feel that the amazon kindle leather case (USD$39.99) is better than the other cheaper cases that has straps on each of the 4 ends to hold the kindle in place?

kennyg1969

How much time do we have from the time we buy the kindle to register for warranty?
I understand that certain electronics products that I buy last time say need to register within 30days of purchase in order to get warranty.

I also side load my books! I don't think I will bother buying books over from amazon, hence I don't see the need to register unless its for warranty.

Just to clarify, so assuming I do NOT register, and I buy the kindle with ads, interface will be EXACTLY the same as the kindle without ads?

the kindle all have the same interface with/without ads

I am not sure about many days grace you have to register the kindle.

jeffyen2

The question of whether to register or not is actually not something we need to think about. Essentially, it's 'just do it'. (It's not really just about 'registering' as registering our usual consumer goods for the purpose of getting the warranty.)

Registering links your device to your Amazon account so all the nice cloud features and other things will work correctly.

tang63

the kindle all have the same interface with/without ads

I am not sure about many days grace you have to register the kindle.

from what i think and based on what i saw with previous versions of kindle, just that the one with ads just sort of makes the interface smaller cuz of the ad banner at the bottom.

also, can i clarify what do u mean by registering the device? I never owned a kindle before and I'm afraid I might accidentally register it unknowingly.

kennyg1969

from what i think and based on what i saw with previous versions of kindle, just that the one with ads just sort of makes the interface smaller cuz of the ad banner at the bottom.

also, can i clarify what do u mean by registering the device? I never owned a kindle before and I'm afraid I might accidentally register it unknowingly.

the ad is at the bottom ... about 1.5cm in height... this how my kindle touch with ad looks like

20120912115314.jpg

tang63

then the sp from the qoo10 link fits the kindle paperwhite perfectly?

I should buy a few in advance while its still cheap. hehex.

jeffyen2

You should register your Kindle. A lot of things don't work well if it's not being registered (things like book management and cloud functions). Basically there's no reason not to register (not that I know of currently.)

kennyg1969

The question of whether to register or not is actually not something we need to think about. Essentially, it's 'just do it'. (It's not really just about 'registering' as registering our usual consumer goods for the purpose of getting the warranty.)

Registering links your device to your Amazon account so all the nice cloud features and other things will work correctly.

I even managed to send free ebook from Free-eBooks.net | Download free Fiction, Health, Romance and many more ebooks to my kindle via email

kennyg1969

You should register your Kindle. A lot of things don't work well if it's not being registered (things like book management and cloud functions). Basically there's no reason not to register (not that I know of currently.)

he is worried about the ads....:D

tang63

he is worried about the ads....:D

I see. :)

See how lor. I never owned a kindle before. So if I feel that I'm missing out sorely on certain features I'll register it.

As for the ads, if I can avoid it why not? :) And if I have it after registering, so be it. ;)

I using the money saved from the ads to spend on the leather case! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.