• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

widman01

Minimum wage means they cannot pay below the level set by govt. The problem is companies would start to reduce all wages to this minimum wage and we would suffer again.
why suffer??

the business owner earn a lot, why not distribute back to employee?

fury89

So how much minimum wage are you looking at?

An admin assistant is getting around AUS4,000 a month in Australia while Singapore only get around SGD2,000.

To add on, don't forget that any job require Manual work MUST pay 1.5 to 2 times for OT pay regardless of position like Engineer. [So 72 hours (total working hours allow by MOM) - 44 hours (normal working hours) = 28 hours of OT per month]

The minimum wage is something tat the government need to look into like I said its more of preventing the workers from underpaid rather than ensuring they are well paid

A high minimum wage will eventually reduce the labour demand and higher unempolyment which is creating a much bigger problem

Some-one

why suffer??

Business owners are in for the profit. If they can pay you minimum wage, why are there any reason to pay you more than the minimum wage?

spitfirxe

not sure if u all have considered the possibility of this min wage system being abused.

employers can now give even lower wages, as long as it is higher than the min wages, and not be penalised for it.

Some-one

not sure if u all have considered the possibility of this min wage system being abused.

employers can now give even lower wages, as long as it is higher than the min wages, and not be penalised for it.

This is one of the reasons why our govt did not place such a policy. Employers no need to pay you more. You jump to any companies, they would start you with the minimum wage so basically, you have no incentive to jump

Okenba

I don't understand this. What is stopping them from giving these 'lower wages' now?

Competition?

How does having a minimum wage get rid of this competition?

christian2004

We got no natural resources etc to support the this. Costs will go up as companies will be forced to pay workers a minimum wage per hour, everything will rise. Thoughts?

dun tink it got anything to do with natural resrouces... having minimum wage will help the lower income so companies cannot continue underbid for low level jobs... cost will still go up whether got minimum wage or not bcos everyone wan profit... having minumum wage FT/FW cannot undercut or biz cannot underpay to employee just to fund their new bmw......

tatsit

Singapore have much lesser problems for top management to handle compare to other cheaper operation cost country & they are still earning profits.

When cheaper operation cost country have as less or even lesser problems for top management to handle compare to Singapore, organization will not hesitate to shift the their operation out of Singapore because cheap labor is always a short term solution to save cost & bring up profit margins which there is no way we can compete with other cheaper operation cost country even if we work for free or near to free.

The only business unit that organization will allow it to remain operating in Singapore is sale centre (and maybe service centre).

you are not answering my question, why is low level manufacturing still in sg? they should be out of sg, and value added high level manufacturing should replace them. the wages they provide is much higher than minimum wage

tatsit

then you expect CEO to earn minimum wage?

zephyr

If we want to close the income gap, we need both a minimum wage law and a maximum wage law on te elites (if only possible).

If only a min wage law is implemented, cost increase, employers will just increase price of products. End up the enployees suffer same result or even worse off. Unless the govt decides to subsidies for the companies that implement the minimum wage law, if nt it will not work. Since its impossible for the govt to do that, i guess min wage law by itself is out of the question

lucified_lance

companies here are being spoilt by our govt, its like a person is used to eating at restaurants, do u think he/she is willing to downgrade to kopitiam?

tatsit

If we want to close the income gap, we need both a minimum wage law and a maximum wage law on te elites (if only possible).

If only a min wage law is implemented, cost increase, employers will just increase price of products. End up the enployees suffer same result or even worse off. Unless the govt decides to subsidies for the companies that implement the minimum wage law, if nt it will not work. Since its impossible for the govt to do that, i guess min wage law by itself is out of the question
dont need maximum wage, but a very progressive taxation system. ie France taxes 50% on the rich.

these tax should then be returned back to the society as welfare, such as medical, education

spitfirxe

I don't understand this. What is stopping them from giving these 'lower wages' now?

Competition?

How does having a minimum wage get rid of this competition?

a min wage will "legalised" the lowering of wages to unsustainable levels.

right now, employers can discuss pay with their staff. Works on a PR basis, cause there's no hard and fast rule for pay matters.

With a new min wage ruling, employers have the "backing" of the law to offer the lowest wage possible, as long as it is higher than the min wages.

And we all know the min wages will not be high.

spitfirxe

then you expect CEO to earn minimum wage?

There are 2 types of CEO - a salaried employee, or a founder/owner of the company

but obviously as a CEO, he would be in a great position to control his changes regardless of him being a salaried or founder.

This does not work for the lower tiers of staff

lucified_lance

why suffer??

bro.. if they have a heart... they will

but take a look at all the bosses and business employers, why would they wana distribute a portion of their wealth back to their employees? they rather use that extra money to go and call FL or hook our local gals at the clubs for piak piak. right?

Im sure most ppl would have done the same.

spitfirxe

so what should the max wage be?

tagged to the top earner in that country?

$100 million per year in fixed income?

oldbreadstinks

We got no natural resources etc to support the this. Costs will go up as companies will be forced to pay workers a minimum wage per hour, everything will rise. Thoughts?

Wouldnt work.

Not because of the cost of business . But our core mentality dont allow.
Min wage applies to a population that wants fairness. Sinkies always out to jiak everyone. Want to Get stuff free dont pay.

You see sinkies going to jb to hoot cheap stuff (poor people cant go jb to buy so much) and not support local business.

I'm surrounded with People like.chriskoh think want high pay so must kick out pinoy and tiong pmet but poor sinkies at bottom should continue to suffer from competition

If you dont pay others how are they going to get paid well enough to use yout business and pay you???

Min wage and their supporters to me is nothing more than lip service .

When your population is going to support min wage as far as to just stop before hurting their pockets..... who foots the bill? Businesses?? Govt???

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.