Official Xperia Z Thread

ixus88

guys, anyone having battery issues with Mediaserver? I realise Mediaserver tends to eat up a large chunk of my battery. My screen can be taking up 47% and Mediaserver will be eating 31%.

Any ideas or solutions regarding this? I rarely access my photo albums and there are like probably only 100-150 pics in my sd card.

I had the same issue. I installed Wakelock Detector to find out which component of Media Server is eating up my battery, and I realised it is audio ouput for my case. Since I don't listen to MP3 and seldom play game, I guessed it must be the keypad tone which I have enabled. After disabling the keypad tone, the situation seems to have improved.

pigmarcher

I had the same issue. I installed Wakelock Detector to find out which component of Media Server is eating up my battery, and I realised it is audio ouput for my case. Since I don't listen to MP3 and seldom play game, I guessed it must be the keypad tone which I have enabled. After disabling the keypad tone, the situation seems to have improved.

Thanks for the clarification ixues88. Improved meaning it is not totally solved? hmmm sounds like an Android issue! :S

maumu

it's funny... yesterday after my run at east coast park, I washed my phone under the tap at the public toilet/showering area, then there's this guy who saw me doing so and he had that *wtf* look on his face... -.-"

idealogy

Probably you can try setting to WEP and see whether any authentication error?

Okie. Will give it a try... Thanks for sharing....

I have try to use my huawei dongle with the security setting of WPA/WPA2....It can connect ... My huawei home router doesn't work.?..how come

Drexter

it's funny... yesterday after my run at east coast park, I washed my phone under the tap at the public toilet/showering area, then there's this guy who saw me doing so and he had that *wtf* look on his face... -.-"

I'm also having the habit of washing my phone as and when....

idealogy

He must be stunned by your action...... Lol.....

shin7829

haha i just love the WTF look from them
i did this sometimes too when i feel my phone is too dirty or oily

besides if they feel stun then they probably too noob to be aware of Sony liao

as this water resistant capabilities has been out for a few months ago liao

We are the underdogs ^_^

Wow people starting to show off their XZ washing under tap water.
STOMP - Singapore Seen - Would you do this to your phone?

why not?
we should be confident of our water resistant capability ma

during my xperia V days , my phone constantly encounter water, no problem thus far

let alone now xperia Z also no problem yet lol
even if speaker volume gets softer , within hours the volume will be back to normal again

carlover76

Guess not many are aware the existence of Xperia Z with its dust and water resistance feature! =:p

ixus88

Thanks for the clarification ixues88. Improved meaning it is not totally solved? hmmm sounds like an Android issue! :S

It used to be about 50% or more, now drop to about 10% or less. I believe any sound made by the phone will drain battery and this is classified under media server. I still have phone ringing and email, whatsapps notification tones which I leave it enabled, and these will still drain some battery.

You may want to install Wakelock Detector to see what causes your battery drain.

bigbadber

guys...... sorry noob here

is there a safe way to detach the phone from the usb cable while being connected to your pc?

cos i dont see anything to click on to remove phone/cable.

not like when u attach thumbdrive on ur desktop, there is an icon to safely remove the hardware.

so apart from turning off your desktop/laptop then remove your phone...

how to remove phone from computer?

Computeron

guys...... sorry noob here

is there a safe way to detach the phone from the usb cable while being connected to your pc?

cos i dont see anything to click on to remove phone/cable.

not like when u attach thumbdrive on ur desktop, there is an icon to safely remove the hardware.

so apart from turning off your desktop/laptop then remove your phone...

how to remove phone from computer?

simple as ABC.... UNPLUG...
suddenly this Q popped into my mind...
How many ppl still off the power socket before unpluging ur cable from ur phone after is 100% full?

bigbadber

simple as ABC.... UNPLUG...
suddenly this Q popped into my mind...
How many ppl still off the power socket before unpluging ur cable from ur phone after is 100% full?

no lah, while connected to charger, of cos i just unplug.

but while connected to computer, your SD card is also being read.

can safely remove by unplugging meh?

cos with thumbdrives, you're not supposed to just pull them out right?

outright withdrawal will cause certain unhappiness somewhere

you have to ask for permission to withdraw before you pull it out :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.