Working Shoe for Young Exec

archangle13

How are Geoxx shoes? Breathable, water-resistant. Good?

I heard good things about Geox. But personally, I can't stand the sight of those shoes.

I always walk into Geox while window shopping... and then walk right out. But taste is subjective, so ignore me by all means.

Carnage

Was passing by JCube....saw this BlackHammer shoes....this auntie was pushing a pair of slipon.....say very comfortable....$89.....

Never really heard of this brand...but she say is Msian brand and is real leather.

Good boh?

quality so so loh. bought a pair of loafers, starting to show signs of age just after 1 year.

Same. Had them for slightly over a year than it gave out on me.

Now wearing Ecco, almost 3 years. Switching over to hand made shoes once my current pair says bye bye.

archangle13

Buy And Throw Away

That's only in Singapore, and confined to the neighbourhood Bata stores. If you go to the main stores at Peninsular Plaza and Vivocity, I think you will find good stuff, especially at that price range.

I think Bata's local reputation is the work of the local franchisee, or at least I believe the Singapore stores are under a franchisee. Bata seems pretty decent overseas, especially in the west. Bata is supposed to sell Crema Alpina, which appears to be one of best shoe conditioners in the world.

It's just that the Singapore stores don't appear to find it worthwhile to bring in the better stuff.

"Buy And Throw Away" is a Singaporean 'phenomenon'.

archangle13

Where can I get thick breathable comfy socks in sg?

I tried army socks for dress shoes, and thick as they be, they suck in fit. There is no left and right sock, and the front edge of the sock is pressing on my little pinky toe.

almerickso

Hi All,

I got a Brooks Brothers Penny Loafer in US 9 EEE but it is quite a bit big for me so I'm wondering if anyone would be interested to buy it. Brooks Brothers Peny Loafer is made for them by Allen Edmonds after the Presidio model; the only difference is in the sole: Allen Edmonds Presidio has a full rubber sole while the Brooks Brothers Penny Loafer has a combination (half leather half rubber) sole.

It is a New-In-Box Factory Seconds (meaning that it did not pass QC 100%). I have yet to find an issue that cannot be polished off (I will upload pictures after I polish them).

It should fit a US 9.5 or UK 9 quite nicely. Looking to sell it at $200 but open to offers. I can use an insole to fit use it but I think the shoe is best when it fits nicely. Do PM me if any of you are interested :)

Here are the actual photos for those interested :)

24214.317b7992cac44dd26f177bde3ba380c4.jpg

24214.5d84d10144799d3e9e0138ec86fd6b01.jpg

almerickso

I tried army socks for dress shoes, and thick as they be, they suck in fit. There is no left and right sock, and the front edge of the sock is pressing on my little pinky toe.

Thick? Hmm... Try the Giordano ones... But they do fade a bit (Black to dark navy after > 20 washes)

patryn33

Just got myself a new cole haan... Not rich only can afford what ppl say here buy use and throw kind.
At sgd$60 why not!

2vmscg0.jpg

Steyr69

thanks for the suggestion:)

i ever bought a pair of hush puppy water proof leather shoes.....
seldom wear.....maybe like 1 or 2 times a week......after 1 year....the bottom sole got crack liao.....water seeped in lor.
it is comfortable la....but not worth it since i can get a better ECCO pair topping up for $20-$30.

billovee

i ever bought a pair of hush puppy water proof leather shoes.....
seldom wear.....maybe like 1 or 2 times a week......after 1 year....the bottom sole got crack liao.....water seeped in lor.
it is comfortable la....but not worth it since i can get a better ECCO pair topping up for $20-$30.

Hush puppies leather seem too rubbery and not real.
It is comfortable but like not durable.

PetiaC

You meant the Army black no3 socks? Free one mah, dun hiam so much.

Almost any brand of socks is quite ok. For dress shoes, try to wear thinner socks unless your shoe is a bit loose.

I prefer Renoma or Goldlion for business wear and Uniqlo for casual wear. Wait for sale in common shopping malls like Robinson/JL/BHG and hoot a few pairs. Uniqlo also have sales on the socks at time.

Seannie

I heard good things about Geox. But personally, I can't stand the sight of those shoes.

I always walk into Geox while window shopping... and then walk right out. But taste is subjective, so ignore me by all means.

Hmm, if the sight of Geoxx shoes already turned your taste off, then appearance sucks lor, if cant even pass your minimalist standard??

OK. Once my shoes chui i will consider Geoxx or Ecco. By the way, i find that hush puppies socks very breathable but a bit thin for your liking. I like the bamboo for its quick dry & antibacterial properties. I think 3 pairs per set less than $20. Just bought 3 new sets recently. Same for its brand of underwear.

PetiaC

Hmm, if the sight of Geoxx shoes already turned your taste off, then appearance sucks lor, if cant even pass your minimalist standard??

OK. Once my shoes chui i will consider Geoxx or Ecco. By the way, i find that hush puppies socks very breathable but a bit thin for your liking. I like the bamboo for its quick dry & antibacterial properties. I think 3 pairs per set less than $20. Just bought 3 new sets recently. Same for its brand of underwear.

Hush puppies garments are bad quality, I experience shrinkages after one machine cycle. Whether is children wear adult clothes or underwear.

While there is no need to go for branded like CK. Renoma is much cheaper and will more mileage and comfort.

Look in Uniqlo for their Premium Cotton if the garment have a high percentage of Supima Cotton. Usually have a bit of Polyester for the "dry fit" properties, but at times you get 100% Supima.

PetiaC

Geoxx is famous for their "breathing" properties, that is when compare to other synthetic materials but any normal leather shoe if not sealed with too much oil or waterproofing spray will breath as well.

Those brands like Rockport, Ecco and Clarks are really comfortable at first wear. But the issue is they are not meant to be resoled, once wear out can be landfill. I would only buy if I really like the design and the price is reasonable, ie comparable to overseas pricing.

Seannie

Hush puppies garments are bad quality, I experience shrinkages after one machine cycle. Whether is children wear adult clothes or underwear.

While there is no need to go for branded like CK. Renoma is much cheaper and will more mileage and comfort.

Look in Uniqlo for their Premium Cotton if the garment have a high percentage of Supima Cotton. Usually have a bit of Polyester for the "dry fit" properties, but at times you get 100% Supima.

hi, just my experience. Hush puppies bamboo underwear & socks no matter how i wear & wash them dont shrink as what you have experienced. Not trying to say you are wrong, maybe just different experiences. For me, they only get loose due to wear & tear & its like after a very long time. Thts is why i feel its very good value for quality & comfort.

Renoma RTW shirt i couldnt agree more with you.

Uniqlo i agree too. Damn airy & soft. I buy their shirts to wear at home becos of the hot weather.

I think some misunderstanding with hush puppies. Need to find out what went wrong.

PetiaC

hi, just my experience. Hush puppies bamboo underwear & socks no matter how i wear & wash them dont shrink as what you have experienced. Not trying to say you are wrong, maybe just different experiences. For me, they only get loose due to wear & tear & its like after a very long time. Thts is why i feel its very good value for quality & comfort.

Renoma RTW shirt i couldnt agree more with you.

I meant the under shirts, no experience with their RTW dress shirts.

I think some misunderstanding with hush puppies. Need to find out what went wrong.

It's called poor quality control.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.