Gaming PC setup

xboost

Hey guys i am planning a gaming pc rig for december 2013 and i need some advise on these hardware if they are suitable for gaming ): pls help :)
-i7-4770k
-Asus Sabertooth Z87
-Corsair Vengeance low profile 8g ram
-Seagate hdd 1tb
-Gigabyte GTX760 OC 2GB
-Samsung 8x slim External Drive
-Win7 Home Premium 64bit
-Nzxt Phantom 410

Teng Zai

Hey guys i am planning a gaming pc rig for december 2013 and i need some advise on these hardware if they are suitable for gaming ): pls help :)
-i7-4770k
-Asus Sabertooth Z87
-Corsair Vengeance low profile 8g ram
-Seagate hdd 1tb
-Gigabyte GTX760 OC 2GB
-Samsung 8x slim External Drive
-Win7 Home Premium 64bit
-Nzxt Phantom 410

If gaming only... then you are overspending on CPU and MOBO, especially the mobo.. Something like a Z87-G45 MSI or Z87-GD65 will do MUCH BETTER and have much better ratings than the sabertooth and a way affordable price. Also, the gaming features of those boards are better than sabertooth and the 'thermal armor' is just for pretty looking.

No point going 4770k and settle for a 760 instead. You could bring your mobo down to a Msi Z87-G45 and a 4670k, you will feel almost no difference in performance than your above setup and get some nice mobo feature like killer NIC internet, etc. Will save you enough to almost get a 780 bro.. which will push your gaming limits soo much higher.

Others seem OK, if you like bling bling that is. If not can go with value rams and a cheaper case, HDD can go for Hitachi with 3Y warranty at $80. DVDRW get any cheap OEM ones can liao.

Win8 same price as Win7 in tradepac, so don't rule win8 out unless you hate win8.

PSU leh?

foo9883

Why everybody choose phantom 410 ah? Nice on the outside, next to no features on the inside IMO.

Anyways,
I will downgrade the mobo and use the money for a SSD

wuweiz

Yes. good for gaming. Not sure if u have ssd and hdd..

xboost

If gaming only... then you are overspending on CPU and MOBO, especially the mobo.. Something like a Z87-G45 MSI or Z87-GD65 will do MUCH BETTER and have much better ratings than the sabertooth and a way affordable price. Also, the gaming features of those boards are better than sabertooth and the 'thermal armor' is just for pretty looking.

No point going 4770k and settle for a 760 instead. You could bring your mobo down to a Msi Z87-G45 and a 4670k, you will feel almost no difference in performance than your above setup and get some nice mobo feature like killer NIC internet, etc. Will save you enough to almost get a 780 bro.. which will push your gaming limits soo much higher.

Others seem OK, if you like bling bling that is. If not can go with value rams and a cheaper case, HDD can go for Hitachi with 3Y warranty at $80. DVDRW get any cheap OEM ones can liao.

Win8 same price as Win7 in tradepac, so don't rule win8 out unless you hate win8.

PSU leh?
Mmmmm thinking of Corsair GS800w Bronze Gaming series. Wow really some good advice here all the pros :D will make some research with the suggested products :)

Teng Zai

Mmmmm thinking of Corsair GS800w Bronze Gaming series. Wow really some good advice here all the pros :D will make some research with the suggested products :)

Forgot mention something really important which others have pointed out, SSD. Will make your boot time really fast. About $150 for plextor m5pro Xtreme 128gb, very affordable. But if you doing heavy rendering and stuff and need faster processing, can go with 4770k if you gonna OC, but drop the board to a G45 or 65, or a gigabyte board will do just as well, except that the msi boards are cheaper and well reviewed :D

Phantom 410 is okok lor, not very featureful inside as people have mentioned and quite expensive. Can consider others like t28(cheaper), corsair cases are solid but a bit on the expensive side. If you have $$ you can also drop $200 on nzxt switch 810 very big and cheap but not recommended ofc, I rather you put money into your components!

Teng Zai

800W overkill unless you planning to SLI/Xfire in future. Try and get higher rating than bronze :D

xboost

Forgot mention something really important which others have pointed out, SSD. Will make your boot time really fast. About $150 for plextor m5pro Xtreme 128gb, very affordable. But if you doing heavy rendering and stuff and need faster processing, can go with 4770k if you gonna OC, but drop the board to a G45 or 65, or a gigabyte board will do just as well, except that the msi boards are cheaper and well reviewed :D

Phantom 410 is okok lor, not very featureful inside as people have mentioned and quite expensive. Can consider others like t28(cheaper), corsair cases are solid but a bit on the expensive side. If you have $$ you can also drop $200 on nzxt switch 810 very big and cheap but not recommended ofc, I rather you put money into your components!

Yea surely would check out my budget and plan for SSD. I check amazon nzxt phantom ship to sg 88usd okay leh o_O

royfrosty

Drop the Sabertooth board.
Drop the i7

Get an MSI z87-g45 or gd65.

Value for money g45. Going for OC features gd65.

Up the GPU to gtx770 or if you have money to spare get the 780 lol.

Teng Zai

Yea surely would check out my budget and plan for SSD. I check amazon nzxt phantom ship to sg 88usd okay leh o_O

Amazon won't ship that I think. Got weight limit one, I tried a smaller case cannot go past the shipping option, cos don't have the free shipping option even though I click it after I filtered the options.

xboost

Amazon won't ship that I think. Got weight limit one, I tried a smaller case cannot go past the shipping option, cos don't have the free shipping option even though I click it after I filtered the options.

Okay then might check out other cases too hahah :p

xboost

Drop the Sabertooth board.
Drop the i7

Get an MSI z87-g45 or gd65.

Value for money g45. Going for OC features gd65.

Up the GPU to gtx770 or if you have money to spare get the 780 lol.

Yup will consider a higher graphics. Building to handle games like bf4 in december if release ^^

Ark Law

Why everybody choose phantom 410 ah? Nice on the outside, next to no features on the inside IMO.

Coming from an ex-phantom410 owner, I agree and highly uphold that statement. It has rubbish rubber grommets/cable-management, flimsy HDD sleds, and rubbish cable-management space on the backside...eventually, even the outside started to look rubbish to my eyes :s13:

For the same pricepoint, I'd rather get a 350D which exposes more internal hardware bling bling than the P410, plus has better material construction

Teng Zai

Yup will consider a higher graphics. Building to handle games like bf4 in december if release ^^

Oh you building in december? Or building now?
Cos if building in dec then most probably 9000 series AMD cards will release, then only should you decide. Also AMD cards should be more optimized for games like BF.
Now too early to say haha, do some extensive research first if you have the time then confirm your parts later on - if you building in december that is, cos things may be very different then.

xboost

Oh you building in december? Or building now?
Cos if building in dec then most probably 9000 series AMD cards will release, then only should you decide. Also AMD cards should be more optimized for games like BF.
Now too early to say haha, do some extensive research first if you have the time then confirm your parts later on - if you building in december that is, cos things may be very different then.

Building in december but just looking at the prices and reviews about individual items :) yea stuff might change too :/

royfrosty

Building in december but just looking at the prices and reviews about individual items :) yea stuff might change too :/

Wait till december ba. Now no point. Just save up the budget first. Prolly around 1.5k and up. Then we will see from there how to help you.

xboost

What are the shops that u recommend to buy from in sls? If order and ask them deliver will they ship faulty parts? D:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.