The Spectacles Thread.

yattokame

ya rubber is from tyres, u mean u bought 3 pairs? wow.

no lah over a span of a couple of years.... like i said becos face big and other frames always too tight.

after the 3rd one i bought gucci. gave me headache again. thought i had no choice but to go back to tag but luckily found an armani big size. :) 2 years liao :)

Seannie

aiya u see me good i see u good

problem is I have a big face so always have problems finding specs that fit. thats why tags were good for me..... and thats why I only gave up after the 3rd pair. oh then the screws ALWAYS drop out.

wow didnt know the rubber is from the tyres.....

very lucky the armani could fit. wanna get an extra set so I wont have problem finding them next time. :(

Yes i understand where u coming from. I have a wide face, esp the portion at the centre of the head, which is why i did alot research, analysis and experiments. The lesson i learnt is that i shd not look for those ang moh brands cos most of the time their tempke arms are straight and will press against my temples tightly. Asian fit spec shd be better esp those with asian nose fitting. The reason why tag is comfy is becos the temples are curved and v flexible to accomodate many head sizes. And its light too! Thats why many ple like tag for these reaons, other than the style factor. Personally armani dont fit me well.

yattokame

Yes i understand where u coming from. I have a wide face, esp the portion at the centre of the head, which is why i did alot research, analysis and experiments. The lesson i learnt is that i shd not look for those ang moh brands cos most of the time their tempke arms are straight and will press against my temples tightly. Asian fit spec shd be better esp those with asian nose fitting. The reason why tag is comfy is becos the temples are curved and v flexible to accomodate many head sizes. And its light too! Thats why many ple like tag for these reaons, other than the style factor. Personally armani dont fit me well.

I really dunno if it's about size but do u have any other brands to recommend?
one other thing about tag is cannot wear with just one hand. at least for me. the flexible arms always get in the way.
normal frames no problem

Seannie

icberlin seldom see in spore.. i kinda like rayban specs. nowadays frames and lens getting real expensive.. $500 cant really get a decent spec.

The founder say icberlin is virtually indestructible woh.. But i don like the hinge la a bit flimsy not solid enough in my opinion. $500 can oni get u a decent frame or a decent lens. Not the full package. :D

Seannie

urban? u want those flex types? yr tag metal frame broke? cant be replaced?

Urband not bad, made in japan and its an exclusive brand by nanyang optical. V light as well, comparable to tag. But temples are straighter. U may need a bit of adjustment to fit ur big head. U Mus go dwn and try first. Im wearing urband origami during weekend. Can remove with one hand easily no problem. Can consider becos price is not high. Abt $200-300. If u go for horn series then ex lar..

yattokame

Urband not bad, made in japan and its an exclusive brand by nanyang optical. V light as well, comparable to tag. But temples are straighter. U may need a bit of adjustment to fit ur big head. U Mus go dwn and try first. Im wearing urband origami during weekend. Can remove with one hand easily no problem. Can consider becos price is not high. Abt $200-300. If u go for horn series then ex lar..

wow thanx thanx :)

Seannie

Hwaa can go ask his wife what specs good lir since she in optical line. But for ne, im wearing Dun frame on work days. V light comfy with slightly curved arms and its made of gummetal, a type of flexible titanium alloy, quite exclusive in the mkt. Japan brand.

yattokame

Hwaa can go ask his wife what specs good lir since she in optical line. But for ne, im wearing Dun frame on work days. V light comfy with slightly curved arms and its made of gummetal, a type of flexible titanium alloy, quite exclusive in the mkt. Japan brand.

hwaa can let me know which branch to visit?

yattokame

By the way urband hinge no screw no worry of dropping out. Same as with icberlin both screwless. But icberlin made of stainless steel lo and mre ex at least double the price.

honestly I believe I dont mind forking money for spectacles - they are a need. most imptly is comfortable and durable, and it's a worthy investment already.

Seannie

honestly I believe I dont mind forking money for spectacles - they are a need. most imptly is comfortable and durable, and it's a worthy investment already.

Try out this few brands first then let us know what u think. Urband, icberlin, bywp, silhuoette, lindberg, Dun are all v light comfy frames. But to each his own preference. Happy hunting.

hwaa

yah urban though its not that mainstream, but its actually not bad. actually if you notice those mediacorp dramas, those actors some are wearing urban.

hwaa

hwaa can let me know which branch to visit?

if u wanna take a look at urban, can try visiting the causewaypoint branch. my friend got his specs there and the service is not bad.

if not just go look/see, they have some jap brands flex is quite good as well.

hwaa

Try out this few brands first then let us know what u think. Urband, icberlin, bywp, silhuoette, lindberg, Dun are all v light comfy frames. But to each his own preference. Happy hunting.

wah, your knowledge is specs is not bad. :)

hwaa

i think my friend made the jap flex brand is DUN as well. but at that point of time i was abit shaking my head as its not that mainstream but its really light weight, lighter than tag iirc.

kaon

Yes, you are totally right abt Pearl Optical. Maybe the problems are due too too many customers very hard to get good service or good workmanship. I stopped going there after making 2 pairs of tagheuer & 1 oakley. I prefer more exclusive shop that can provide better. U should stick to silhuoette i think so far its still quite good brand. For me i dont like the look and feel of it. I prefer jap designers. Comfy, light, tough (though not indestructible). Im not a rugged guy so its ok for me.
There were no replies to this thread before I left home this morning.
I went to W Optics at Suntec, the service was quite good, willing to take out many frames for me to see, and willing to ask around when she didn't have certain answers.
The brands I checked out were Silloutte, Swissflex, 999.9, DUN, Lindberg.
In the end I went for the cheapest, which was Swissflex, the "promotion" is $450 for frame+lens. I chose the AIR model, which is their slimmest rimless.
Had the refractive measurements, and I chose Hoya 1.53 Phoenix. (Aspherical version is about $60 more, IIRC). I am about -4.00 sph, and 1.00 cyl.
I liked many of the 999.9 frames too, but they were mostly 600~900 bucks, which is too much for me, considering that I just want to wear and forget, all-day, and have lost spectacles to the beach / sea many times.

diamond96

Anyone can recommend shops in the east for better price ?

Went to look at Prada , Oakley at around 400-500
Porsche Design , Tag Heuer around 600+

Is this the standard pricing or any neighbourhood stores to recommend ?

TIA

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.