Liverpool Forum (Anfield) - Part 9

JasK

12m for sakho?
what are we waiting for!!!??

and pay him more than we pay agger? there would be chaos if his salary exceeds long serving servants like agger, skrtel, ending up with 4 highly paid CBs all above 70k a week if you include kolo.
massive defensive wages on 4 first team **

JasK

I wish they would just go British and bid 15-20m for Shawcross and have him with us for a 5 year contract, prime age for ** and that guy is GOOD.

HuaiNR

I wish they would just go British and bid 15-20m for Shawcross and have him with us for a 5 year contract, prime age for ** and that guy is GOOD.

That sounds like a transfer comolli would be proud of...

deadguy

Ashley Williams, 28 years old, for 10m would have been a good comolli's signing :s22:. Watch Swansea matches this season and he looks kinda heavy and slow. Just hope Rodgers are not desperate enough to bring him to Liverpool :vijayadmin:

HuaiNR

Ashley Williams, 28 years old, for 10m would have been a good comolli's signing :s22:. Watch Swansea matches this season and he looks kinda heavy and slow. Just hope Rodgers are not desperate enough to bring him to Liverpool :vijayadmin:

Actually I quite confused on who sets the transfer target for Liverpool? Rodgers have to go thru a selection committee before his can approach his intended targets Ya?

Spurs have Franco Baldini working behind the scenes to get the players the manager want... Of the few in the committee, I wonder how many are really football men? Or they are just statisticians working on refining the moneyball technique?

GunzerX

Probably they are giving cheaper options more priority due to sakho's wage demands, its known that he is already earning around 60k a week at PSG and will want a significant increment for any new contract.
if we looking to buy players with cheaper wages..we would end up with Illori or someone from lower league.

I think if Sakho want to join us we shd sign in. 60k may seem high but if we are to attract good players, the wage for his calibre seem to be reasonable.

stamina

Wah how come got friendly match on wednesday? Will not be exhausted meh? Sauturday aston tuesday league one wednesday friendly sunday manchester? Not scared kena injury meh? Sunday match important hor!

GunzerX

Actually I quite confused on who sets the transfer target for Liverpool? Rodgers have to go thru a selection committee before his can approach his intended targets Ya?

Spurs have Franco Baldini working behind the scenes to get the players the manager want... Of the few in the committee, I wonder how many are really football men? Or they are just statisticians working on refining the moneyball technique?
I thought Spurs just copy cat our target?:D

xavilee

i wonder if the info of who we target was leak out man...
or spurs just sit back relax n watch the news see who we target then they target it too

HuaiNR

I thought Spurs just copy cat our target?:D

Haha, I dun wish to commend on this la....
But the speed in which they seal their deals are very efficient. We are now getting to be like arsenal liao, dilly dally cos a few million difference then in the end the target get hijacked by other teams...

deadguy

Think read it before, the committee will decide who to bring (after scouting and all that) and at what cost. This can be good and bad cause manager would want a player but if the committee see that his price is not worth his value than, they will veto and the manager will have a black face.

Good thing is that we won't end up with Dempsey and save the $ for player like Sturridge. Many fans forgot that Rodgers' look not happy when he missed out on Dempsey but without bringing him in, we can afford to bring in Sturridge + Coutinho. If we had signed Dempsey, think we will only be bringing in Coutinho.

deadguy

if we looking to buy players with cheaper wages..we would end up with Illori or someone from lower league.

I think if Sakho want to join us we shd sign in. 60k may seem high but if we are to attract good players, the wage for his calibre seem to be reasonable.

60k is reasonable cause after all, we paid 90k for Joe Cole :s22:

cwcyenk

Haha, I dun wish to commend on this la....
But the speed in which they seal their deals are very efficient. We are now getting to be like arsenal liao, dilly dally cos a few million difference then in the end the target get hijacked by other teams...

We are still miles better than Arsenal. Arsenal dilly dally over one pound difference.

JasK

but don't you rate Shawcross? comolli paid over the odds for some crazy transfers for mediocre players, but 15-20m isn't alot for a british centreback who is established as rock solid.

JasK

Thats is Why BR wants Illori and they kept pushing for him.
It was only till this last week, we become desperate that Sakho came heavily into the picture. 60k at psg, if he is to come here, I figure no less than 80k or even close to six figure, crazy money for a ** in his first year here earning just less than our Captain G and Suarez. Even agger and Skrtel and kolo isn't on these wages, Agger may be close. His calibre isn't worth 80-100k, probably 50-60k max on his first term here. Wages almost 4m a year, plus 12m, hell might as well go British.

JasK

Liverpool agree €7m deal with Sporting for Tiago Ilori

Liverpool are close to signing Sporting defender Tiago Ilori, after Brendan Rodgers was forced to make a late incursion in the transfer market, following the injury to Kolo Toure.

According to Portugal media outlet, O Jogo and Sky Sports reporter Pepe O’Rourke, the Reds have already have agreed a €7 million deal plus add-ons for the highly rated youngster. The 20-year-old is a highly rated defender and would be seen as a long term replacement for legendary Jamie Carragher, who retired last season.

Defence was one of the major concerns of the Reds manager, Brendan Rodgers. The club needed to replenish the void left by Carragher, while Rodgers was hugely unimpressed with other available defenders in the squad, namely Martin Skrtel and Sebastian Coates.

However, with Coates now injured for a lengthy period of time and new signing Kolo Toure, who was bought on fee from Manchester City, also sidelined after suffering a groin injury against Notts County in the last match, Rodgers is forced to delve into the transfer market.

The Reds had been linked with Ilori early in the summer, but following a disagreement in fees, Liverpool chose not to pursue talks further. But, the situation has now become critical and Liverpool wasted no time to rekindle their interest again and sign him up at the earliest.

Liverpool have bolstered their squad in the summer and have purchased some top players like Iago Aspas, Simon Mignolet, Luis Alberto and Toure. It is understood that Rodgers is looking to add one or two players more, as the Reds are looking to mount a serious challenge to qualify for the Champions League spot.

Liverpool agree

Henabi

Wah how come got friendly match on wednesday? Will not be exhausted meh? Sauturday aston tuesday league one wednesday friendly sunday manchester? Not scared kena injury meh? Sunday match important hor!

its an U21 match dude... chill :s22:

deadguy

It's a friendly match to give Suarez some match fitness, just like we did for Sturridge. You guys don't expect him to sit on his bum while on suspension? :s22:

stamina

It's a friendly match to give Suarez some match fitness, just like we did for Sturridge. You guys don't expect him to sit on his bum while on suspension? :s22:
But not scared of exposure to injury meh. Playing against four teams this week is crazy!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.