Kopitiam Card reader (Android)

gamelan

If you have a Kopitiam Card and an NFC enabled Android phone, can try out app called 'Kopitiam Balance' on Playstore and let me know if it works for your card and your phone?

Thanks

sai2000

Tried, not bad. The scanning is quite immediate. Thanks for sharing.
Galaxy Nexus user here.

gamelan

Thanks for the confirmations. I guess the NFC technology used for the Kopitiam card is generally compatible with most current Android phones unlike the CEPAS cards, esp EZ-Link's.

gamelan

Thanks, good to know :). I don't have a Banquet card, but I just realized that Kopitiam & Banquet may be managed by the same company.

pker88

ya first we got farebot and now this
good to own a nfc phone now
it quite nifty to have like farebot help me save $$ I check how much and the log

gamelan

Speaking of Farebot, I've actually submitted some patches to Eric but not sure if/when he will include in his next version.
It should speed up the card reading, and display last 30 transactions (instead of just 15), with some other fixes here and there.
If you're interested in testing it, you can download it here

https:// dl.dropbox.com/u/46271677/FareBot.apk

(You'll need to uninstall the existing Farebot application since first since this is not the google play package)

Unfortunately this will not help with card incompatibility with some Android phones. Galaxy S3 can't read EZ-Link cards at all for example (but NETS FlashPays should be fine). But some other Android phones can read both or none at all.
But this is really because the NFC technology used by CEPAS cards in general require higher powered reader/larger antennas..

A Nice Guy

The Samsung mega 6.3 (have nfc support) does not seem to be able to read my ezlink and kopithiam card. Any reason why?

Do I need to have a nfc-enabled sim card to read these cards?

fuzzybear

The Samsung mega 6.3 (have nfc support) does not seem to be able to read my ezlink and kopithiam card. Any reason why?

Do I need to have a nfc-enabled sim card to read these cards?

newer version of andriod cant detect it
as tested on s4

s4 cant
s3 can

for kpitam balance
i guess the developer need to update the version

A Nice Guy

as tested on s4

s4 cant
s3 can

for kpitam balance

Hi, do u mean newer version of android , or do u mean newer version of phone model?

fuzzybear

some andriod on new version hahhah
not new phone but new phone mostly on new version liao

so need the developeer to update it to detect lor

Mach3.2

as tested on s4

s4 cant
s3 can

for kpitam balance
Misinformation.

Kopitiam card is a mifare classic 1k card, which is a proprietary NXP standard. The s4 uses a Broadcom NFC controller, that is why the s4 cannot read kopitiam cards.

Older phones mostly use the NXP PN544 controller, which is why the s3 is able to read the kopitiam card.

Just so you know, my galaxy nexus running android 4.3 is able to read kopitiam cards with no problems as the NFC controller used is the PN544.

VertigoIV

Yes it does works but getting irritating when I accidentally place my wllet below my phone....

echeong

Seems not supported in lollipop. Anyone contacted the developer on this?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.