Advice on Itinerary !

jkttim

Hi guys, hope you can give me some suggestions and ideas for my trip. Its my first trip to Taiwan :)

Details as per followed:
Date of travel: 24 Dec - 29 Dec
Travelling with my family of 7. one of them is elderly

Day 1 (24 dec, tues)
Arrive at Taoyuan (around 5.40am)
Depart to accommodation
Rest a bit
Around noon depart to Wufenpu
then Raohe Night market

Day 2 (25 dec, Wed)
Beitou for hotspring and museum
Danshui
Shilin night market

-any hotspring to recommend?

Day 3 (26 Dec Thurs)
Shifen
Jiufen
Keelung
Jingguashi
(plan to book a cab for this trip)

Day 4 (27 Dec Fri)
Ximending
Taipei 101
Underground mall

Day 5 (28 Dec Sat)
No plans yet. (any suggestions?)

-my sis like to shop. so where else we can shop expect ximending and wufenpu?

Day 6 (29 Dec Sun)
Hang around
To airport

During my trip is Christmas period. will there be any shop closing and stuff? or is there any interesting place you guys would recommend to go?

I have check the temperature should be around 10-18 degree will there be any rain?

Thanks in advance :)

twosix

Hi guys, hope you can give me some suggestions and ideas for my trip. Its my first trip to Taiwan :)

Details as per followed:
Date of travel: 24 Dec - 29 Dec
Travelling with my family of 7. one of them is elderly

Day 1 (24 dec, tues)
Arrive at Taoyuan (around 5.40am)
Depart to accommodation
Rest a bit
Hotel usually check in at 3pm, and they dun allow early checking most of the time. But you can leave your luggage at the hotel and then go out for breakfast.
Around noon depart to Wufenpu
then Raohe Night market
wufenpu should be mainly selling winter clothings.

Day 2 (25 dec, Wed)
Beitou for hotspring and museum
Danshui
Shilin night market

-any hotspring to recommend?

Day 3 (26 Dec Thurs)
Shifen
Jiufen
Keelung
Jingguashi
(plan to book a cab for this trip)
The ideal route should be: Jingguashi, Jiufen, Shifen, then Keelung for the miaokou night market. The big yellow duck will be in keelung harbour. If you are in keelung early, you can go check it out.

Day 4 (27 Dec Fri)
Ximending
longshan temple and surroundings
Taipei 101
Underground mall

Day 5 (28 Dec Sat)
No plans yet. (any suggestions?)
How about visiting tourist spots like National Palace Museum, CKS memorial hall? You can also walk around Taipei Main Station, or go yongkang street for the original dingtaifung.

-my sis like to shop. so where else we can shop expect ximending and wufenpu?

Day 6 (29 Dec Sun)
Hang around
To airport

During my trip is Christmas period. will there be any shop closing and stuff? or is there any interesting place you guys would recommend to go?

Christmas is not a holiday in Taiwan, so the shops will be open. They will decorate Taipei 101 surroundings and you can feel the christmas atmosphere.

I have check the temperature should be around 10-18 degree will there be any rain?

It may rain. The last time I was in Taipei in Dec, it rained and rained. It is those type of small rain, but then you still need to carry umbrella. The following year, it did not rain much though.

Thanks in advance :)

See my inputs in red above.

jkttim

Yeah, i think hotel part shouldnt be a problem.
i heard from many saying that its all winter clothing but since im there maybe go take a look :)

anyway if i go hotspring on 25 dec will it be more expensive ? like said its not a holiday in taipei but still some hotels do count more ex.

Oh the duck will be there? awesome will try be there to see if manage to catch it :)
my parents doesnt really want to visit museums plus with an elderly with us. doesnt seems like a good idea either. only yongkang street have dingtaifeng? anywhere near ximending have?

Thanks for the reply. im gonna prepare umbrella my trip :)

wildkev

Yeah, i think hotel part shouldnt be a problem.
i heard from many saying that its all winter clothing but since im there maybe go take a look :)

anyway if i go hotspring on 25 dec will it be more expensive ? like said its not a holiday in taipei but still some hotels do count more ex.

Oh the duck will be there? awesome will try be there to see if manage to catch it :)
my parents doesnt really want to visit museums plus with an elderly with us. doesnt seems like a good idea either. only yongkang street have dingtaifeng? anywhere near ximending have?

Thanks for the reply. im gonna prepare umbrella my trip :)

25th Dec is on weekdays so i don't think it will be more expensive. There are few Dingtaifeng in Taipei but not at Ximending. I would suggest you to try 明月汤包. you wont regret after trying as well. Alot Japanese will go there to eat. Also I think it will be better to wear raincoat just like the Taiwanese rather than carry an umbrella, this will be more hassle-free.

jkttim

25th Dec is on weekdays so i don't think it will be more expensive. There are few Dingtaifeng in Taipei but not at Ximending. I would suggest you to try 明月汤包. you wont regret after trying as well. Alot Japanese will go there to eat. Also I think it will be better to wear raincoat just like the Taiwanese rather than carry an umbrella, this will be more hassle-free.

oh that will be good.. sometimes when there's holiday it will be more ex..
shall go and try since there's recommendation :)
i when to search i manage to find 明月汤包 at 台市信義區通化街171巷40號北. is there only 1 outlet or more than one?
true uh with crowd using an umbrella would be hard. thanks for the suggestion! :)

wildkev

oh that will be good.. sometimes when there's holiday it will be more ex..
shall go and try since there's recommendation :)
i when to search i manage to find 明月汤包 at 台市信義區通化街171巷40號北. is there only 1 outlet or more than one?
true uh with crowd using an umbrella would be hard. thanks for the suggestion! :)

The address you provide is the new shop with aircon, somewhere nearby (around 2-3 mins walk) there is another shop (old shop). Also this shop is near 通化夜市. You can go walk walk after eating your 汤包. :s12:

jkttim

seems like there many food to try at taipei :D

anyway just to ask i saw people saying that if you go danshui must see the fisherman's wharf but from danshui must bus over right? it is like troublesome to bus there and back? is the view worth it?
how much will the ride be?

is longshan temple near xinmending? (like walking distance or?)

impact94

seems like there many food to try at taipei :D

anyway just to ask i saw people saying that if you go danshui must see the fisherman's wharf but from danshui must bus over right? it is like troublesome to bus there and back? is the view worth it?
how much will the ride be?

is longshan temple near xinmending? (like walking distance or?)

actually fisherman wharf in dianshui is really nothing much to see... heehee.. just that u probably put a stamp chop that you have been there and visited the lover bridge... i would rather go danshui street and spend my time visit the shops one by one, relax in one of the cafe there, enjoying the sea view....

as for the longshan temple is 1 mrt stop from ximen station.. definitely not a walking distance from ximen.. the moment u exit from longshan station, just walk about 5 mins.. u can see the temple liao and there is also basemall mall which probably wont interest you much unless you wan a bit of massage or fortunte telling.

marxace

fisherman wharf in danshui is really a waste of time..... the danshui streets much better to walk ard

jkttim

actually fisherman wharf in dianshui is really nothing much to see... heehee.. just that u probably put a stamp chop that you have been there and visited the lover bridge... i would rather go danshui street and spend my time visit the shops one by one, relax in one of the cafe there, enjoying the sea view....

as for the longshan temple is 1 mrt stop from ximen station.. definitely not a walking distance from ximen.. the moment u exit from longshan station, just walk about 5 mins.. u can see the temple liao and there is also basemall mall which probably wont interest you much unless you wan a bit of massage or fortunte telling.

oh.. icic... seems a bit hassle that still need take bus over. shall consider that :) thanks !

so around that area only that basement mall and nth else? massage sounds nice for my parents.know how much it cost? haha

wildkev

oh.. icic... seems a bit hassle that still need take bus over. shall consider that :) thanks !

so around that area only that basement mall and nth else? massage sounds nice for my parents.know how much it cost? haha

actually u can take a ferry to fisherman's wharf from danshui also. also can go to opposite side call bali (八里)

impact94

fisherman wharf in danshui is really a waste of time..... the danshui streets much better to walk ard

haha.. dont say until like that la.. after all its one of the lesser known attractions... since u are over there, perhaps can consider make a short stopover by there... if u got taxi driver driving you guys ard, then shouldnt be much problem.. if u guys taking public, i probably suggest u guys go danshui street instead..

impact94

the basement mall isnt comparable to those TMS basement mall.. Dont give you too high expectations, after all is a station that is name after longshan temple.. so you can roughly guess the basement mall sells roughly related to temple items... as for the massage, i didnt try but i saw its a operated by a group of blind folks.. it doesnt cost much to my opinion (cant remember the price).. But fortune teller stalls sure are alot..

jkttim

actually u can take a ferry to fisherman's wharf from danshui also. also can go to opposite side call bali (八里)

bali? seen a lot of blogs and post from others like not many people go over there. like nth much there?

jkttim

the basement mall isnt comparable to those TMS basement mall.. Dont give you too high expectations, after all is a station that is name after longshan temple.. so you can roughly guess the basement mall sells roughly related to temple items... as for the massage, i didnt try but i saw its a operated by a group of blind folks.. it doesnt cost much to my opinion (cant remember the price).. But fortune teller stalls sure are alot..

nope not gonna have any cab on that day. so yea public transport. icic understand. well since i will be there no harm of going to take a look :)

wildkev

bali? seen a lot of blogs and post from others like not many people go over there. like nth much there?

Its more a place for you to relax, ride bicycle, eat seafood etc. Few months back there is an incident happened there. Wonder have you heard of 媽媽嘴咖啡店?

impact94

nope not gonna have any cab on that day. so yea public transport. icic understand. well since i will be there no harm of going to take a look :)

well, if you going to longshan temple.. Maybe u can pay a visit to makan this mee sua...

陈记专业面线 (Chen Ji Meesua) | Weiwei travels

Here is the address: 台北市和平西路3段166号

I feel its much nicer than the Ah zhong mee sua (ximen)... :)

jkttim

Its more a place for you to relax, ride bicycle, eat seafood etc. Few months back there is an incident happened there. Wonder have you heard of 媽媽嘴咖啡店?

icic.. but i plan to go kee lung for seafood :D

erm nope...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.