(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

chikyblink

:eek::eek:
u sold everything? i am sure there are some stuff left :s13::s13:

no, silly, haven't sold a thing. I just didn't buy anything more!
I have a new motto now: stop being an audiophile and start listening to the music
;)

I now only buy CDs!

chikyblink

Looks good! But I can't imagine myself using my hands all the time. =:p

Check out the EK43, it's the "in" grinder nowadays, especially after Matt Perger used one at WBC 2013. Liberty Coffee just got one!

EK 43 - Mahlkönig

$3k *gasp*

Just watched Matt's performance at youtube. Trying nutating technique tmr!!!

Rubick

I have a new motto now: stop being an audiophile and start listening to the music
;)

I now only buy CDs!

lol. yea CDs. support original.
Buy CDs till i gonna broke. still got few hundred of them need to rip out

calbay

Mahlkönig is one of the sponsors for WBC, so not a big surprise.
This WBC is one big marketing event.

If you noticed, WBC never had one Italian winner, not even able to enter the top 5.
In another championship, the Italians did not even appear on the nominated list.

Like i said somewhere before, most gourmet cafes, don't encourage or even allow their baristas to participate in such competitions for good.

Believe me, i once met one of the barista champions. I forgot which one and his name.
I know simply because he repeats he is the champion in every sentence and every minute.

When he made a coffee for us to sample, it's just average standard.
Could tell he wasn't really used to using our machines, as our machines were more manual. haha

n0d3

Mahlkönig is one of the sponsors for WBC, so not a big surprise.
This WBC is one big marketing event.

If you noticed, WBC never had one Italian winner, not even able to enter the top 5.
In another championship, the Italians did not even appear on the nominated list.

Like i said somewhere before, most gourmet cafes, don't encourage or even allow their baristas to participate in such competitions for good.

Believe me, i once met one of the barista champions. I forgot which one and his name.
I know simply because he repeats he is the champion in every sentence and every minute.

When he made a coffee for us to sample, it's just average standard.
Could tell he wasn't really used to using our machines, as our machines were more manual. haha

Yeah, everything is so commercialised! Lotsa Simonelli machines which most of the cafes I've seen in Melbourne don't even use. You're right about the lack of Italians, always wondered why.

Resonance

Hmmm...can i ask those pros here? Does the bean grinding process really affect much of the overall taste of the coffee?

I'm not a pro, i just entered the world of coffee, playing with brewed and pour over.

What I've learnt is Freshly roasted coffee > Grind > machine.

Imagine i bought a coffee roasted on 5th, grind it and tasted it with all same settings just 3 days later, it taste differently. The smell when you grind it, also significantly lesser and more stale in just 3 days difference.

Those supermarket crap that has an expiry date & starbucks/coffee bean are really... well, crap.

The grind really is VERY VERY important, also the brew temperature.

What I've learnt from my aeropress, too fine grind = bitter, cause the water burns the coffee, produces bitter taste.

I was using a standard home water boiler flask, been brewing and tasted sour, then i went online research found that my water is not hot enough. around 80+ degree on idle. Then i went to boil it and rest to cool off a little before brewing... My brew is nicely flavored and no more sourness.

Now I use a kettle and a thermometer to check the temperature.

Brewed coffee etc... the grind is important but no so much compared to espresso.

Can always check youtube and learn a lot.
Some nice forums like Home Barista & Coffee geek could learn a lot.

Resonance

BTW, anyone got any recommendation for a cheap and good expresso machine? I dun wan to make those fancy prepacked crap. I just want good ol' black expresso so that I can combo my own Mocha Latte ice blended.

Budget below $150. Thanks.

I suggest you look at those entry level machines like saeco (by philips) or Delonghi at courts or the various departmental stores if you are really budget.

For good espresso, I think Gaggia Classic is the cheapest entry level to proper espresso (Semi-automatic, Fully-automatic are more expensive). Though I've no idea where to get in SG.

And that's for just the brewing. Grinder is more important that machine which normally cost cheaper. Blade grinder are never recommended. minimum go for at least a Baratza Encore or Virtuoso ($399 @ Papa Palheta), so it straight already burst your budget.

Or well the most budget way is to get small amount of pre-ground coffee and get a Moka Pot can get you decent Italian morning "espresso".

derazor

;)

I now only buy CDs!

I also audiophile, migrated to headfi and now coffee.
Music is neverending and I think paying a lot more for that 1% improvement is too expensive liao.

Lazy_Tiger

Looking at the Macap Grinder MC4 or MC5 stepless

Comments from the pros here? It's for my Silvia

What grinder are u using now? The macao mc4 should be very similar to what I using now. Compak K3. Same burr size. IMO doserless is better because easier to clean.

The K3 unfortunately has a lot of grind retention. I must always grind 3 seconds of beans out, and throw that portion away before grinding the portion for the espresso. Especially if it is going to be the first drink of the day. It was the same problem with my rocky.

May consider baratza vario for future purchase as I heard grind retention is minimal.

Anyone else uses pour over methods? Currently (in order of preference) using aero press, hario v60 , wood neck drip pot and vacuum pot, vietnamese coffee filter.

More haolian from me… I also have a nespresso, a dolce gusto, a jura automatic machine and a silvia. Sadly all these machines are now in storage and only used as backup.

I think I've finally stopped at the vbm lah. :o

My advice to newbie is to continue to use pour over method first (I find aeropress the most consistent) and save enough to buy a HX machine with proper E61 group head at least. I started off with a silvia and while it made good coffee the results were inconsistent and is less forgiving to beginners because it required temperature surfing.

derazor

What grinder are u using now? The macao mc4 should be very similar to what I using now. Compak K3. Same burr size. IMO doserless is better because easier to clean.

The K3 unfortunately has a lot of grind retention. I must always grind 3 seconds of beans out, and throw that portion away before grinding the portion for the espresso. Especially if it is going to be the first drink of the day. It was the same problem with my rocky.

May consider baratza vario for future purchase as I heard grind retention is minimal.

Anyone else uses pour over methods? Currently (in order of preference) using aero press, hario v60 , wood neck drip pot and vacuum pot, vietnamese coffee filter.

More haolian from me… I also have a nespresso, a dolce gusto, a jura automatic machine and a silvia. Sadly all these machines are now in storage and only used as backup.

I think I've finally stopped at the vbm lah. :o

My advice to newbie is to continue to use pour over method first (I find aeropress the most consistent) and save enough to buy a HX machine with proper E61 group head at least. I started off with a silvia and while it made good coffee the results were inconsistent and is less forgiving to beginners because it required temperature surfing.

My unit will come with the PID, will it solve this??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.