Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

mingfreakrsx

Besides neighbourhood hardware store, you can get it from Courts, Best Denki, Challenger, Homefix, etc. ~$2.7 each. Not worth your time and transport to go all the way to sls unless you happen to work or live (no you don't, I know) around there.

Yeah don't live near there. Thanks for the more info about it, will find a time to try it out! :)

chomechome

no scv tv before

using adapter for the starhub cable to tv point connector.

images

Disconnected the cable from the starhub point, screw in this adapter and connected to the hdb tv point. TV can receive all the mediacorp channel in digital.
Hi you mean this connector can convert the scv point to dvb-t2 signal? I have confirmed I am using scv point not matv now. Just to confirm whether I still need external antenna after using this connector,I plan to use with Draco as my TV doesn't have digital tuner built in.

mingfreakrsx

Hi you mean this connector can convert the scv point to dvb-t2 signal? I have confirmed I am using scv point not matv now. Just to confirm whether I still need external antenna after using this connector,I plan to use with Draco as my TV doesn't have digital tuner built in.
no, connect this adapter to the MATV TV point and connect your antenna wire previously connected to the SCV point to the adapter. :)

hwsinn

Now i more confused. So the daiyo thingy is just a antenna or a antenna and T2 decoder and transmit over coax to device?

As for the ebay one that the msian bought is just a tuner right. Have to hook up to another antenna right?

sunsetbay

Now i more confused. So the daiyo thingy is just a antenna or a antenna and T2 decoder and transmit over coax to device?

As for the ebay one that the msian bought is just a tuner right. Have to hook up to another antenna right?

is this clearer for u~? :s22:

dvb-t2-idtv-1-data.jpg

mrsun18

images

Disconnected the cable from the starhub point, screw in this adapter and connected to the hdb tv point. TV can receive all the mediacorp channel in digital.
Ah, that clarifies my question. You have both starhub/scv point and hdb point. In same situation as mingfreakrsx, except that your hdb point works.

mrsun18

For older HDB flats, scv point can be connected to either roof top antenna or SCV cabling..

By default for older HDB flats, SCV point is connected to roof top antenna..

If one has subscribed to SCV programme before, the SCV point has been switched from roof top antenna to SCV cabling.
Thanks for being helpful, but there is a problem of not using the correct term. If "SCV point" (in red) as used is changed to "wall point", "wall plate", "tv point" or "antenna point", then there is no confusion.

"SCV point" gives the impression that it is connected to SCV/starhub network, or the point belongs to SCV.

In situation like this, clear distinction in the use of terms is needed. Both mingfreakrsx and The_Davis have hdb points and scv points in their units.

wah lao ... dont confuse ppl leh

antenna and scv cable uses different plug type and ...
You may wish to note that HDB implemented F type connector for the wall plate/point before SCV, the predecessor of Starhub, came into the picture. Just by looking at the F-connector is not enough to be sure that it is connected to scv cable/network. Other clues are needed.

mingfreakrsx

Ah, that clarifies my question. You have both starhub/scv point and hdb point. In same situation as mingfreakrsx, except that your hdb point works.
Actually i do suspect my MATV point do work as my room's MATV does work, the TV connected to it could receive signals for all MY, SG and SCTV, RCTI. That TV isn't T2(crt tv) so cant receive T2 to test it :)

palmtungsten

wah lao ... dont confuse ppl leh

antenna and scv cable uses different plug type and they are SEPERATE things

My explanation is valid for the house I stay now (10 years old flat). I saw how the starhub technician made the switches outside my house when I subscribed to SCV programme
----------
For older HDB flats, scv point can be connected to either roof top antenna or SCV cabling..

By default for older HDB flats, SCV point is connected to roof top antenna..

If one has subscribed to SCV programme before, the SCV point has been switched from roof top antenna to SCV cabling.

palmtungsten

When starhub needs to send technician to do some configuration before you can subscribe to watch SCV programme, the technician will do something to the starhub cabling box outside your house and not SCV point inside your house. This method only works for old hdb flat of 10 years.. Not sure for new house or even older house.. What is their configuration like..

mrsun18

Actually i do suspect my MATV point do work as my room's MATV does work, the TV connected to it could receive signals for all MY, SG and SCTV, RCTI. That TV isn't T2(crt tv) so cant receive T2 to test it :)
Oh, in that case it definitely can receive T2 if you are seeing analogue Chan U, Octo and CNA :). I have explained this before:
For hdb and condo residents who receive their tv signals through the matv wall points (not starhub points), they are likely to be able to receive the T & T2 broadcast if they are receiving the analogue channels, U (chan 28), Octo (chan 30) and CNA (chan 32) now.

Why is this so?

Take a look at the sketch below which shows a highly simplified matv system using 3 filters for channels 28, 30 and 32. This means that the matv, on paper, will only be supplying signals for these 3 channels, signals on other channels are blocked.
P1030950_1.jpg

However, passive filters as used in matv in real world do not have the high "selectivity" with U-shaped curve. Instead, it is more like a V-shaped curve as represented by the red line in the sketch below:
P1030951_1.jpg

So, signals not too far away from the pass bands, ie chan 28, 30, and 32 will be able to come in, though at a reduced level.

If helped that T, and more so in T2, the design of the dvb system makes the signals extremely robust. Weak signals containing high error can still be successfully decoded to provide satisfactory digital tv reception.

That is the reason why matv could receive T broadcast which used chan 29 a few months ago. And for the same reason some matv are now receiving the new T2 broadcast using chans 27, 29 and 31.

viv4080

no scv tv before

images

Just bought this connector and connect the TV cable to HDB MATV. Scan for channels on my TV and managed to get Chs 800 to 803 (my TV only DVB-T capable) and other analogue channels.

My questions is, if I get the Draco box and connect the cable to HDB MATV, I should be able to get all the DVB-T2 channels?

mingfreakrsx

Oh, in that case it definitely can receive T2 if you are seeing analogue Chan U, Octo and CNA :). I have explained this before:

Hmm yeah my room's MATV could receive the 3channels you mentioned so that should be that my living room MATV could also receive T2 signals, shall try it soon. :)

mingfreakrsx

Just bought this connector and connect the TV cable to HDB MATV. Scan for channels on my TV and managed to get Chs 800 to 803 (my TV only DVB-T capable) and other analogue channels.

My questions is, if I get the Draco box and connect the cable to HDB MATV, I should be able to get all the DVB-T2 channels?

Most likely yes if im not wrong as outdoor reception is now islandwide. :)

mrsun18

When starhub needs to send technician to do some configuration before you can subscribe to watch SCV programme, the technician will do something to the starhub cabling box outside your house and not SCV point inside your house. This method only works for old hdb flat of 10 years.. Not sure for new house or even older house.. What is their configuration like..
Yes, for flats of that age, where the patch panels for matv wall points, telephone points and lan points are located in the utility box/room, that's the way it was done at the service duct outside. And your wall points are the F-type which made you believe they are SCV points. They were actually provided by HDB in the first place.

For very old flats with the IEC connectors, SCV would install new cable and new SCV point to connect to their network during the free roll out in '90s. They would try very hard to get owners to subscribe during that period. But even if the owner didn't, they would still provide if the owner let them.

For newer type where there is no roof top antenna, HDB provide the internel cable and wall points. SCV/Starhub will connect to their own network at the service duct before owners move in.

mrsun18

Hmm yeah my room's MATV could receive the 3channels you mentioned so that should be that my living room MATV could also receive T2 signals, shall try it soon. :)
Remembered you tried before:s22:

Anyway maybe second time lucky, with the F female to IEC male adaptor - $2.70 which I bought from Courts just a few days ago.

Got the LG 42LN570T and connect it to my MATV but didn't get any signal so switched to the usual SCV point and got all analog local channels, SuperSports Arena, History Channel and TV1. :D

mingfreakrsx

Remembered you tried before:s22:

Anyway maybe second time lucky, with the F female to IEC male adaptor - $2.70 which I bought from Courts just a few days ago.

Wow you got good memory, i kind of forget i post it haha. Yeah maybe the second try would get me some results. :)

pohw0008

Just brought one TV with only DVB-T Tuner last week..
didnt know much about DVB T2 beforehand as tv was connect only to analog signal..
so depressing now.. :(
somemore cannot receive any digital tv from the scv point..
should i buy the $2.70 adaptor to try on the MATV point but my father says that point very long nvr use liao.. dont know if the antenna is still working.. :vijayadmin:

mingfreakrsx

Just brought one TV with only DVB-T Tuner last week..
didnt know much about DVB T2 beforehand as tv was connect only to analog signal..
so depressing now.. :(
somemore cannot receive any digital tv from the scv point..
should i buy the $2.70 adaptor to try on the MATV point but my father says that point very long nvr use liao.. dont know if the antenna is still working.. :vijayadmin:

SCV can't receive T2 or T signals, only analog and DVB-C signals. What TV set you bought? :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.