The Watch Thread - Part 3

Chronology

Hello people,

Do any of you know the ballpark figure for this JLC Master Hometime?

I think it's quite a beauty.

To be honest, I'm a little intimidated to go into posh shops like THG to inquire. Haha.

Master-jlc-1628430.png

Cheers.

patryn33

Hello people,

To be honest, I'm a little intimidated to go into posh shops like THG to inquire. Haha.

Master-jlc-1628430.png

Around 10-11k after discount

yattokame

met someone incredible last night (watch collector, not another woman).

was at a party organized by my boss. met this guy who looked like your usual kopitiam uncle (yes, the uncle who asks what you wanna drink).

He showed me an IWC in rose gold on his wrist - apparently it was LE to...28 pieces? And in gold (sorry, not an IWC fan so dunno which model....but its face was quite plain) then my boss joined us. The guy continued to talk about his other watches - two Mb&f, three Urwerks, being invited for SIHH, F1 ferrari pit, etc...... I asked him about RM and he declared his dislike for them. He then told me once he's got his hands on a minute repeater he'd have collected all possible complications. His collection is around 3mil. Basically his stories are very interesting and I just enjoyed listening to them.

He left about an hour later and I gave my boss the is-this-guy-serious look. He then told me yes, this guy meant what he said. He just doesn't dress up for ANY occasion.

power.

gt_5454

met someone incredible last night (watch collector, not another woman).

was at a party organized by my boss. met this guy who looked like your usual kopitiam uncle (yes, the uncle who asks what you wanna drink).

He showed me an IWC in rose gold on his wrist - apparently it was LE to...28 pieces? And in gold (sorry, not an IWC fan so dunno which model....but its face was quite plain) then my boss joined us. The guy continued to talk about his other watches - two Mb&f, three Urwerks, being invited for SIHH, F1 ferrari pit, etc...... I asked him about RM and he declared his dislike for them. He then told me once he's got his hands on a minute repeater he'd have collected all possible complications. His collection is around 3mil. Basically his stories are very interesting and I just enjoyed listening to them.

He left about an hour later and I gave my boss the is-this-guy-serious look. He then told me yes, this guy meant what he said. He just doesn't dress up for ANY occasion.

power.

Nice story bro. Thanks for sharing.
By the way, I chanced upon this sales thread yesterday and thought you might be still keen on the la tradition.
Breguet La Tradition Skeleton 18k gold watch

Pai seh to temp you on the last day of 2013.

kelvinth

Wryer wrote:
Anyone have idea on the AD prices for the below Breitlings?

Colt GMT
Superocean steel fish
Avenger sea wolf
Avenger skyland

Look at the rubber strap versions.

Appreciate some advise on this for my virgin watch.

Also where can I view and feel the largest range of Breitling and Ball watches?

Superocean steel fish no longer in production. I was "fishing" for it locally 2 years ago and local AD(s) did not have it :s13:

voltshin

if you want, better get it soon. this is limited edt. only 270 if i'm not wrong.

the cheaper one - Mark 17 Le Petite Prince is 1000 pcs. already OOS.

i'm still on waiting list.

ahboy82

sorry for asking noob question here:

if i were to get those nato straps online, to get it fixed onto the watch MYSELF is no different from fixing those leather straps hoh?

:s12::s12::s12:

gt_5454

Thanx man. But decided to get brand new - only a few k diff from Japan.

Elite spotted. Lol.
Anyway I understand you are doing some charity work and helping some old folks.
CNY coming and I am keen to buy some stuff for old folks ... Do drop me a PM and let me know what I can do for the folks.

mods pls pardon me for being off topic.

yattokame

Elite spotted. Lol.
Anyway I understand you are doing some charity work and helping some old folks.
CNY coming and I am keen to buy some stuff for old folks ... Do drop me a PM and let me know what I can do for the folks.

mods pls pardon me for being off topic.

eh pls lah no....far off from elite.
if it's not massive savings like 10k or something, I prefer to get new. Somemore if it's an old piece like at least 5 yrs old. My fren serviced her RM which is 6yrs old almost 5k.

hey sure np. will let u know when I have details. thanx so much!
actually the usual daily necessities are good enough - especially for the very ill old folks from needy families. Adult diapers are most straight forward. If those on tube feeding needs the special milk also can. Not just old folks. basically needy families. Especially those in rental 1 or 2 bedrooms units, and even homeless children. Not orphans but yes, homeless children.

Hard to visualize it's happening in sg eh?

thanks so much once again for having a big heart. have a great 2014!

Tym575

Richemont service

Anyone faced issues with richemont service center?
I bought a B&M Classima 8731 last year from sincere at taka...
Since then faced 1. loose parts, 2. hair/bristle in dial 3. dirt in dial 4. dust in dial again.
Sent for servicing for 3 times already, this time discover another dust. duno what i should do...

Seriously doubting their service center. Shouldnt it be done in a dust-free environment?

Emailed them liao and the reply i got from the customer service was: Bring down for servicing (need u to tell me meh!?)

billovee

Hard to compare like that. Yes both are sports watches and the Rolex is very sturdy.

The PP is more detailed in the workmanship. I find myself looking at parts I never checked for my other watches.

Edit: your question sets me thinking. But then again items of passion are intangible. To some, a b&b jap car is good enough, but to others it has to be an alfa romeo (yours truly). Worth it or not? How much do you smile when you have the item in your hands? That shall define it.

My final pc will be pp once I hit my target.

But by then I will look around for the final pc.

Just wondering how fine and details a watch can go.

yattokame

My final pc will be pp once I hit my target.

But by then I will look around for the final pc.

Just wondering how fine and details a watch can go.

We'll never be satisfied lah. One piece after another. But greed is also the motivational force in us.
Just never be greedy and optimistic at the same time.

pew

Hello people,

Master-jlc-1628430.png

Cheers.

Sincere now got additional 6% for visa payment.

iceflight

eh pls lah no....far off from elite.
if it's not massive savings like 10k or something, I prefer to get new. Somemore if it's an old piece like at least 5 yrs old. My fren serviced her RM which is 6yrs old almost 5k.

hey sure np. will let u know when I have details. thanx so much!
actually the usual daily necessities are good enough - especially for the very ill old folks from needy families. Adult diapers are most straight forward. If those on tube feeding needs the special milk also can. Not just old folks. basically needy families. Especially those in rental 1 or 2 bedrooms units, and even homeless children. Not orphans but yes, homeless children.

Hard to visualize it's happening in sg eh?

thanks so much once again for having a big heart. have a great 2014!

DO pm me with what you are doing to help these needy, I've great interest to do something too......

I've recently started to have an interest in watches too, not really to collect but more to wear... now urwerks and the Parmigiani Bugatti seems very interesting to me ....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.