New Computer in feb

Kince86

bro what i'm trying to say is get an I5 not I7 cause I7 is useless for gaming and you are paying extra for nothing

i see. all i knew was the more power it was the better XD since i pretty much only play MMOs i thought i need a more powerful cpu.
guess i'll go for i5 XD

Kince86

Thank you all so much for so much important advises >.<

i'd like to ask again, is there a nvidia equivalent for MSI Radeon R9 280X?? i've not used radeon for a long time so i have no idea if its any good now.

hengheng220

btw bro what game you playing... i dont think mmo need so powerful machine yet leh..

shadow84

Surprised that i7-4771 can ship to SG for free. but only that nia...

Btw, MMO more dependant on ur internet rather than GPU. Coz their graphics isnt that high level, but your internet connection more impt. Can get max settings but once ur internet lag, ur game oso lag. So, gpu/cpu,i7 cant help u. That's for MMO though. FPS diff story le.

EatSnakeWarrior

gpu get 1 times good one, dont save :s13:

if you want to adjust your budget, downgrade the cpu to i5

Kince86

btw bro what game you playing... i dont think mmo need so powerful machine yet leh..

tbh i dont really know myself. i chose i7 just in case XD

my main is Blade and Soul China. and if possible i wish i can multitask with browsers, youtube, forums ect XD
like i said, i know plug and play, thats all. the rest im hopelessly nooby.
things like OC, voltage changes, liquid cooling are all alien to me. and cpu load gpu load and stuff. ><

hengheng220

ok ok then use the build i gave you ba can future proof mmo games for dk how many years but cfm up to 5 years and please dont get i7 for gaming is like buying a ferrari in Singapore so ex but no place to run oh if want save money then the ssd can remove cause not much diff to mmo ba only your boot time and transfer speed faster i guess

Kince86

ok ok then use the build i gave you ba can future proof mmo games for dk how many years but cfm up to 5 years and please dont get i7 for gaming is like buying a ferrari in Singapore so ex but no place to run

they can run. bang into things nia mah. like other cars or other people. >.<
much thanks again.

hengheng220

hahaha mmo 2k overkill lols but if you keep digging into diy pc you will get more addicted then spending more than you should muhahahahaha!!!

EatSnakeWarrior

modifying from Roys Build

MSI B85M G43 + i5-4570 ~ $347
Gskills Ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit ~ $110
WD Blue 1tb ~ $76
Plextor M5S 128gb ~ $128
MSI GTX780 Ti 3gb Twin Frozr Gaming ~ $1040
Superflower HX600 600w 80+ Gold PSU ~ $108
Fractal Design Arc Midi ~ $129
Samsung ODD ~ $21

Since you like over kill :D
Total: 1959

royfrosty

2k???? Go for 1440p gaming experience liao lo.

Your best bet.

Msi b85m g43 + I5-4570 ~ $347
Gskills ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit ~ $110
WD blue 1tb ~ $76
Plextor m5s 128gb ~ $128
Gigabyte r9 290 4gb 3x windforce ~ $630
Superflower hx600 600w ~ $108
Fractal design arc midi ~ $129
Samsung ODD ~ $21
Qnix q2710 evolution ii 1440p monitor ~ $349 from qoo10

Total ~ $1898

Kince86

whoa 780ti? 1440p?
not going that far ><

Thank you all so much. i'll keep your comments in mind and keep my paws away from those i7s.
1 mth till my new com.~

tradepac/pctheme/mynextcom..... my next headache ;p

what do i need to check for at tradepac? as long as the seals are intact they're fine? and what if they do some cheese like 'oh all the available stocks have broken seals' ><

Maeda_Toshiie

1. It is not strictly true that all games (current and in near future) are unable to take advantage of HT on the i7s. IIRC, there are a few new games that can (based on benchmarks). The issue with i7s (I mean the mainstream ones, not the extreme/enthusiast ones with >4 cores, which are another kettle of fish), is that the cost differential does not really justify the performance gain over i5s as of now. Plus, most games are bottlenecked by the GPU, while the CPU bound games are unfortunately also the ones that are mostly single threaded (I'm lookin' at you, Total War... for all the time I spend helping out at the forum...)

2. When buying from Tradepac,
a) buy and assemble on your own
b) check that you get what you want and pay for (check the exact model number)
c) simply do not buy the part if they don't have stock and suggest something else (unless you are 100% surefire that the suggested part is a suitable replacement and it isn't a carrot chopping attempt)

Kince86

1. It is not strictly true that all games (current and in near future) are unable to take advantage of HT on the i7s. IIRC, there are a few new games that can (based on benchmarks). The issue with i7s (I mean the mainstream ones, not the extreme/enthusiast ones with >4 cores, which are another kettle of fish), is that the cost differential does not really justify the performance gain over i5s as of now.

2. When buying from Tradepac,
a) buy and assemble on your own
b) check that you get what you want and pay for (check the exact model number)
c) simply do not buy the part if they don't have stock and suggest something else (unless you are 100% surefire that the suggested part is a suitable replacement and it isn't a carrot chopping attempt)

i see. thanks.

another Qn before bed XD

plextor M5M. is this for desktop? does it go into the pci slot? is it any good? im buying m5s. this is just my curiosity :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.