MyRepublic fibre - Part 4

wilflare

One more thing you might consider is that if you do frequently use microwave oven in the kitchen, that can kill the wifi signal (assuming on 2.4GHz).

hmm not frequent. haha. toilet confirm cannot get WiFi signal :/

wah thinking of the AC56U or AC68U now
(or should I just stick with N56U?)

Tectrica

Got anyone play war thunder using gamer plan? Is there any way to get better routing? Ping like not good leh. Diablo 3 have better ping.

lukestar

Got anyone play war thunder using gamer plan? Is there any way to get better routing? Ping like not good leh. Diablo 3 have better ping.

U can raise this to their gamer team to see if they can help you optimize the route.

lukestar

I also assume your router is not near to any microwave oven, fridge or cordless phones which uses 2.4GHz.

wilflare

I also assume your router is not near to any microwave oven, fridge or cordless phones which uses 2.4GHz.

eh nope not at all. the router is between my monitor..
not sure if all the wavelengths are frying my brain ><

Tectrica

U can raise this to their gamer team to see if they can help you optimize the route.

How to do that? Is it from their gamer plan website? I did submit a request through the website with the game server ip (which i don't even know if is 100% correct). But all it ask for is account ID, game name and server ip. It been a few days since and I not even sure if they going to get back to me.

robustoes

Poor Service from myRepublic

Hi!

I would like to share my experience with myRepublic recently. I decided to sign up for the Pure HD package after a brief research. As I stay in Woodlands, I went to the Causeway Point to sign up for the package on 31 Dec 2013. The staff told me that someone from MR should call me within the week.

On Friday, I called MR hotline (I waited for 10min...) and enquired about my status. Then the person on the other line told me that my information is not in the system. He then proceeded to ask me to fax over the duplicate form so that he can process. It was so stupid that someone would sit on a customer's form and not sending it to the processing centre for 3 working days? (Actually it is more than that. Read on).

I left a feedback form on MR, hoping to resolve the issue and also left a message on FB. I was subsequently told that the outlet at Causeway Point is a third party and being a third party, they will take longer to physically bring the forms over to the HQ. I was also told that the delivery of forms will occur only once a week.

This afternoon (7 Jan 14), a lady from MR called me. She asked me when and where I signed up. I ktold her 31 Dec 13 at Causeway Point. She then proceeded to tell me that they have not received the form and asked me to fax my duplicate over.

This is so silly! First of all, MR should set a standard on the processes. How would consumers know whether the outlet is a partner or MR branch? To make matters worse, there is a difference of processing time between the partner and MR.

It has been 5 working days and the lady told me the form is not in. I have decided not to sign up for MR and look elsewhere. The way MR manages its customers is very bad.

Sharing this to all so that one knows what to expect is he/she decides to sign up for MR.

summersky1986

Wah lau, haven't get on MR.. some administrative problems liao..

Just received a call from customer service, they could only come to my place on the 18th Jan instead of the earlier agreed 11th Jan. Their reasoning was that opennet could only activate my OTP on the 13th.

All that was communicated previously to the customer service officer, I explicitly told her that opennet will only install OTP on the 6th Jan and she agreed with me that MR will get their guy down to install the router and do everything necessary to ensure internet connectivity on the 11th by 1pm.

Now, I have already called and gave singnet 7 business days notice to terminate my internet connection yesterday, which means to say from 13th Jan to 17th Jan I will be living in primitive time with no internet for work or for leisure.

I don't need the CSO to stutter over the phone trying to make explanations which absolutely do not carry any value to me. I'm appalled that a business organisation could cocked up with such trivial administrative problem; obviously a lack of credibility. Business Sense 101 - always under-promise and over-deliver than over-promise and under-deliver.

Tsk, to think I was so excited and full of praises for MR in my earlier posts.

Disappointed customer (C1014811)

Lehnsherr

Wah lau, haven't get on MR.. some administrative problems liao..

Just received a call from customer service, they could only come to my place on the 18th Jan instead of the earlier agreed 11th Jan. Their reasoning was that opennet could only activate my OTP on the 13th.

All that was communicated previously to the customer service officer, I explicitly told her that opennet will only install OTP on the 6th Jan and she agreed with me that MR will get their guy down to install the router and do everything necessary to ensure internet connectivity on the 11th by 1pm.

Now, I have already called and gave singnet 7 business days notice to terminate my internet connection yesterday, which means to say from 13th Jan to 17th Jan I will be living in primitive time with no internet for work or for leisure.

I don't need the CSO to stutter over the phone trying to make explanations which absolutely do not carry any value to me. I'm appalled that a business organisation could cocked up with such trivial administrative problem; obviously a lack of credibility. Business Sense 101 - always under-promise and over-deliver than over-promise and under-deliver.

Tsk, to think I was so excited and full of praises for MR in my earlier posts.

Disappointed customer (C1014811)

These 3 steps must follow one after another and cannot be skipped:
1.Opennet installs your TP
2.Nucleus Connect activates the port of your TP
3.Finally MR comes and plug in your ONT and router.

From what u said I think u have been trolled by Nucleus Connect. They change the date of activation of your TP. So everything gets pushed back

summersky1986

These 3 steps must follow one after another and cannot be skipped:
1.Opennet installs your TP
2.Nucleus Connect activates the port of your TP
3.Finally MR comes and plug in your ONT and router.

From what u said I think u have been trolled by Nucleus Connect. They change the date of activation of your TP. So everything gets pushed back

The agreement was between an agent of MR and myself, so don't make their problem my problem

Lehnsherr

I am using the ESR9850, microwave or not no difference cos the wireless is chui. :s13:

Over the weekend I just helped my relative configured their new N56U, On my old laptop can hit 89mbps on speedtest (with 5Ghz band) in the adjacent room separated by a wall (old HDB concerte not new ferrocement wall with the steel mesh). Never bring laptop to toilet to try though :D

Anyway ac is still expensive and u definitely also need the adaptors which means extra cost. Unless you really need super fast speed in the toilet, I don't think u should go for it...or perhaps if you are going to upgrade everything for wireless ac capability in near future.

Distance wise also dont know can reach or not, since its 5Ghz. if end up u have to use the 2.4ghz spectrum then u would have spent money on the ac for nothing, cos the N56U would suffice the need.

wilflare

I am using the ESR9850, microwave or not no difference cos the wireless is chui. :s13:

Over the weekend I just helped my relative configured their new N56U, On my old laptop can hit 89mbps on speedtest (with 5Ghz band) in the adjacent room separated by a wall (old HDB concerte not new ferrocement wall with the steel mesh). Never bring laptop to toilet to try though :D

Anyway ac is still expensive and u definitely also need the adaptors which means extra cost. Unless you really need super fast speed in the toilet, I don't think u should go for it...or perhaps if you are going to upgrade everything for wireless ac capability in near future.

Distance wise also dont know can reach or not, since its 5Ghz. if end up u have to use the 2.4ghz spectrum then u would have spent money on the ac for nothing, cos the N56U would suffice the need.

thanks for the informative post!
hmm between N56U or N66U, any big difference?
haha maybe I'll just grab N56U. WiFi is okay... just cannot reach toilet/kitchen area.

hmm. btw ah. Router put near you.. any health detriments?

Lehnsherr

thanks for the informative post!
hmm between N56U or N66U, any big difference?
haha maybe I'll just grab N56U. WiFi is okay... just cannot reach toilet/kitchen area.

hmm. btw ah. Router put near you.. any health detriments?

N56U --> 300mbps 2.4Ghz N + 300mbps 5Ghz N
N66U --> 450mbps 2.4ghz N + 450mbps 5Ghz N

Will the N66U cover longer distance I not sure, u got to ask around liao. However I am sure it will be faster if distance is same because of the extra 1T1R

Before u buy just dig around or ask around (especially when now M1 gives N56U) should get some answers regarding distance:speed.

Nah don't think so, cos Singapore so small, any point of time easily some wireless signal crisscrossing around + mobile phone signals also, if wanna die already dead long ago. :s13:

Lehnsherr

The world doesn't revolve around me. But you promised something you can't deliver, that is inconvenience to the the subscriber. I bet you're so kind; if someone were to bitchslap you, you'd still say thank you.

No you are right to be angry regarding the matter, but u are directing your anger towards the wrong entity, it should be nucleus connect not MR.

What say you, if u are being blamed for something out of your control?

This fiber business in Singapore, its confusing to the masses because its never just ISP-Consumer relations anymore. However it isn't exactly rocket science to understand the new playing field I presume, and the ways in which we as consumers can be screwed tri-ways now?

I've seen people posting about TP issues (opennet scewed up), Nucleus Connect delay activation (such as in your case) and MR installation guy didn't turn up (which is MR's fault).

ALL can happen to the same guy, or not at all and each one of them is a different business entity without influence or control of the other. They all take each other's word as it is.

I don't want to say this but...if you had asked around regarding termination of your singnet connection, I think someone here (at least someone who hangs around here often) will tell you to do it after you MR fiber is up and running well.

rainelor

The world doesn't revolve around me. But you promised something you can't deliver, that is inconvenience to the the subscriber. I bet you're so kind; if someone were to bitchslap you, you'd still say thank you.

Maybe you should get out more. There is more to life than just internet and online connectivity. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.