NOV SOBF RESULT

solohunter

Called hdb.. Can get both 3and 4 room.. Wonder how is the drop out rate for sobf like.. Que number 300 plus dunno can get bendemeer or McNair.. Sian max

hawkfry

bendemeer light or mcnair tower?

yeah...its expensive...not sure if it is worth buying....any advice?

If you are buying it with the intention to make some money selling it, then I don't particular think these are what you are looking for. I think certain units in Punggol will yield more in percentage terms with less risk. These units will probably only be done in mid to late 2016 and who knows what the property market will be then.

If you are buying to stay because you like the location, then it's not too bad.

You should go and compare the historical resale transactions of comparable units vs the ones in McNair or Bendemeer and draw your own conclusions.

Resale
Towner Heights 108B 16 to 20 90sqm 2004 $680,000.00 Oct-13
Towner Heights 108B 11 to 15 90sqm 2004 $660,000.00 Aug-13
Towner Heights 108C 06 to 10 90sqm 2005 $657,500.00 Jul-13
Towner Heights 108C 21 to 25 90sqm 2005 $698,000.00 Mar-13
Towner Heights 108C 16 to 20 90sqm 2005 $665,000.00 Jan-13

SOBF
McNair Towers #27-266 90sqm $574,000.00
McNair Towers #20-274 90sqm $578,400.00
McNair Towers #10-250 90sqm $545,500.00

(3sqm actually goes to the aircon ledge)

Either way make sure you do your sums to determine if these are within budget, they are pretty expensive.

As a bit of trivia, the prices of the 4rm units at McNair increased by $12,900 from the May 2012 BTO, and the 4rm units at Bendemeer increased by $7,900. This is like about 1-2%. This is assuming that these prices don't come with any of the OCS. I'm not sure about the other unit types.

At the time of the BTO the cost of OCS for 4rm McNair was $7,100 for the flooring and $2,890 for the doors. The cost of OCS for 4rm Bendemeer was $4,800 for the flooring and $2,830 for the doors.

villan

wah. Rich guy. I am considering low levels at bendemeer lights.. Money could be a problem.

not many units left for bendemeer lights though.....whats ur queue number?

ive got 70.....not sure whats my chances....:s11:

haato89

Was super tempted to get boon keng sobf also but price too scary liao :( in the end got a sh!tty number for hougang nov BTO :sad:

Now I'm wondering if I should have taken the plunge for boon keng sobf cos the application rate was very low. :( :(

Gixxerfied

Was super tempted to get boon keng sobf also but price too scary liao :( in the end got a sh!tty number for hougang nov BTO :sad:

Now I'm wondering if I should have taken the plunge for boon keng sobf cos the application rate was very low. :( :(

Isnt that too late to be wondering already?

Egoistee

Just to check, my queue number is quite horrible.
The result just came out on the 29th Jan, meaning i also missed the BTO in Jan.

I've a toddler (4mths) and we are in need of a new space. SOBF provide the fastest option. Coming March, there are new launches around my area (Sembawang & Yishun). If i were to opt for that, and come May can i still take part in the SOBF? If i got a good queue number for March, SOBF in May also got good queue number, will i be allowed to choose from both?

Of coz the best option would be to be allowed to buy a flat from SOBF.

Gixxerfied

I've a toddler (4mths) and we are in need of a new space. SOBF provide the fastest option. Coming March, there are new launches around my area (Sembawang & Yishun). If i were to opt for that, and come May can i still take part in the SOBF? If i got a good queue number for March, SOBF in May also got good queue number, will i be allowed to choose from both?

Yes, can ballot for Mar and May..

The thing is if you ballot for Mar BTO, results would be out early May and if you get a pretty good no means ur selection might be early.

If you ballot for May SOBF at the same time if any, results would be out late July..

You can only pray that your Mar BTO 1st appt is after the results of the May SOBF has been announced. If it's before results is out, means u opt to go for it(They will cancel off your May SOBF application). And if u chose not to and ur May SOBF is lousy again then you would be left hanging once again..

Egoistee

Normally how far apart are the selection date from the announcement of the results? 1mth?

gekleng1984

not many units left for bendemeer lights though.....whats ur queue number?

ive got 70.....not sure whats my chances....:s11:

70 is very good already. Some might be going for McNair and some might dropout due to the steep prices.
Mine is 492.
But I am very contented already la, given that me and my mum are 2nd time applicant and this is the first time in my life I ever submit an application to HDB, it's already very exciting for me le. haha.
If this round of SOBF you are going for investment purpose in mind, I guess it wouldnt be easy to get the unit desired as prices are generally steep and not many good choice units left.
At first I wanna say, if have urgent housing needs, then this time round Kallang.Whampoa SOBF can really offer you a good solution. But, now I realise if it's really urgent, this doesnt really help to solve the case too bcos the units will only be ready by Q4 2016. (if faster, than Q3)
The interesting thing about SOBF is, the applicants can have very varied agendas and with 3room and 4room grouped together, it is even harder to predict about chances. A family with kids very unlikely will want to take 3-room. Applicants who are downsizing will of course give the expensive 4-room a miss. Those who are drivers or working around Newton/Toa Payoh might prefer the unpopular Jln Tenteram.
So with regards to chances, I guess it's really about luck since there are so much more permutations as compared to normal BTO selection. Somemore this time round is SOBF from 3 very different BTO areas. Premium and damn ex McNair, convenient but low availability Bendemeer and most prob noisy and dusty and ulu but unblocked views of Jln Tenteram.

iconic83

Does anyone know what the process is on booking a flat?

We got a favorable number ie less than number of flats available, but we have our eyes on certain flats in our preference (amk 5 room). If those flats we like are not available, is our choice for a flat only limited to our preference, or can we choose another area?

Gixxerfied

Does anyone know what the process is on booking a flat?

We got a favorable number ie less than number of flats available, but we have our eyes on certain flats in our preference (amk 5 room). If those flats we like are not available, is our choice for a flat only limited to our preference, or can we choose another area?

You opt for AMK then only AMK for you..

chasgee

Clementi Ridge vs. Casa Clementi

Hi guys, I have a question which I would like to get your thoughts.

We got a reasonable number for Clementi 3/4 rooms. I am debating between Clementi Ridge and Casa Clementi. Casa Clementi is available now and its size is generally bigger. Clementi Ridge will be ready in 2017 but it has a better location as it is closer to MRT and it is next to Nan Hua Primary School. I think different people have different preferences but I would like to know what you think.

OverEasy

Hi guys, I have a question which I would like to get your thoughts.

We got a reasonable number for Clementi 3/4 rooms. I am debating between Clementi Ridge and Casa Clementi. Casa Clementi is available now and its size is generally bigger. Clementi Ridge will be ready in 2017 but it has a better location as it is closer to MRT and it is next to Nan Hua Primary School. I think different people have different preferences but I would like to know what you think.

if no hurry, take the one closer to MRT lo. but i heard casa clementi won award before, so i think it's a not too bad project also :)

OverEasy

i also tried in SBF but i guessed i would not have gotten a queue number and just threw $10 for the jan BTO. indeed i guessed right, and HDB told me no chance. the mature estate i tried for is too popular.

chasgee

if no hurry, take the one closer to MRT lo. but i heard casa clementi won award before, so i think it's a not too bad project also :)

I agree. Ridge is about 6-8 mins walk to MRT vs. 15 mins for Casa. Also Ridge is almost directly opposite to Nan Hua Primary, which is a big deciding factor if you have kids. I do not have kids, but if I do or plan to have one soon, I will go for Ridge just for that reason alone.

mayoliss

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I got mine 315/558 (Kallang/Whampoa) and both of us aiming to get Bendemeer Light 4 rm... Guess there's no fate!

Abram

For the folks here that applied for Kallang/Whompoa and are aiming for McNair or Bendeemer Lights.

As the supply of Mcnair and Bendeemer units is extremely low percentage of the 558 units on offer, with roughly 75-80% of the 558 units coming from Tentarem Peak. I just wanted to do a quick survey here... would you still pick the relatively unpopular Tentarem or just give up altogether?

My number is in the 400 range, definitely cannot aim the Mcnair and Bendeemer anymore. Don't know if should give up and go do resale or what.. sigh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.