The Watch Thread - Part 4

Vanilla Way

No unker.... meaning very different. ...

Rolex=made in the year they met. Special
Tudor=made in 2014. Nothing special.

How will the HTB fill?
He gets a second hand 20+ yrs old uncle rolex as a gift from her parents while she get a brand new Tudor.

@ Henabi
Actually it's his birth year not the year we meet lol. But thanks for explaning it to kiwitan :o

@ Kiwitan
How would he 'fill'? Can't say for sure. Judging from your response you will probably fill super disappointed if you were him. But I have known this guy for 9 years. He's a sincere and appreciative man. What are the chances that I will bust his ego just because I am wearing a newer and more expensive watch( if i go ahead with the blackbay)than him? Might happen to other guys but not my man.

I'm quietly confident that he will like it. Furthermore, I think it will look great on him with the leather strap swap- it's pretty classy.

TeenTitan01

So can buy a hulk with the ceramic bezel and then is it possible to order a normal black ceramic bezel from rolex and swap?

provided rolex sells you the black ceramic bezel by itself.

but hmmm... it seems RSC will only do so if you send in your watch and they replace the bezel for you.

Rolex Mod - Kermit Question

or you can buy 2 subC - one LN and one LV and swap the bezels around.

anyone with experience and know of anyone actually doing that ie. create a kermit with the subC?

TeenTitan01

the speedmaster craze is all started by tt01, spreading deadly poison. resistance is futile.

bro hwaa, just reminding the good folks here about the iconic nature and good standing of the omega speedmaster professional moonwatch.

its classic design remains fresh, modern, enduring and handsome even after all these 50+ yrs. amazing!

that, together with its status as the first watch on the moon, elevates it as an iconic watch worth collecting, especially with its beautiful handwound movement that you can enjoy from the sandwich version that has the sapphire case back.

oh and btw, "resistance is futile" is a nod to the nerds/trekkers/trekkies/whoever out there who're fans of the borg in star trek: the next generation.

i actually used it with the bb (YOUR CAKE WATCH LOR, heheh) in vanilla way's hunt for her htb wedding watch.

the original tagline (to promote the bb) was: "we are the bb. resistance is futile."

:D

TeenTitan01

this is my humble watch. After a long deliberation between this and Hesalite, preferred this. Purists would disagree but would recommend anyone to just buy what they are comfortable with. I'm sucker for see-through at the rear :D

First hand is SGD7,200 before discount

1374270d1391751351-%2A-official-speedmaster-club-thread-%2A-img_20140207_132602.jpg

CONGRATULATIONS ON BEING THE PROUD OWNER OF THE ICONIC OMEGA SPEEDMASTER PROFESSIONAL MOONWATCH!

you're one step closer towards completing your iconic watches collection!

cheers!

:lick::love::s12:

:D

TeenTitan01

got money also not like that spend one le :s13:

bro aerolord, there worse ways to waste money for sure like gambling, go chiong ktv/geylang/hang flower joints, etc.

watch addiction is already a mild & healthy hobby. while one will lose money if one liquidates his collection, at least there's some significant residual value retention - provided one chooses/collects wisely.

partners of watch lovers should be thankful they're not into more destructive hobbies like skirt chasing, gambling, etc.

just sayin.

TeenTitan01

Go vintage hahahah ^.^

wah vintage ah?

the ground where angels fear to tread!

must go in with full knowledge, experience and eyes wide, wide open!

the market is already saturated with current fakes from the land of fakery: fake milk powder, fake ferrari, fake eggs, fake char siew bao - prc - people's republic of cheating!

so can you imagine how bad the vintage market is, where disclosure, knowledge & experience is limited?

it's full of chicanery, non-original parts, frankenwatches, pieces that have been mis-handled by incompetent hands/repairers and delicate movements that cannot be exposed to shock, water, etc.

still, if i'm super keen on a vintage piece (say perhaps a vintage jlc memovox, tudor monte carlo, heuer autavia/carrera/monaco, etc), i may be poisoned enought to part good money for it. but i'm be damn cautious, research as much as i can and preferably bring a buddy who's experienced & knowledgeable in that area.

TeenTitan01

+1. Only downside is the semblance to ALS (but it's not).

semblance to ALS is a tasteful honour!

BIG (digital) DATE fans like me love dials like these.

and glashutte original is a solid brand in its own right offering excellent watches & value.

the panomaticlunars and senator perpetual calenders are among my favorites from GO.

TeenTitan01

No unker.... meaning very different. ...

Rolex=made in the year they met. Special
Tudor=made in 2014. Nothing special.

erm, iirc, the rolex vw bought for her htb is his birth year datejust, correct?

1988?

unker's memory couldn't be that bad right? :s11:

Paladium

Watch box is very nice looking :) Where did she get it?

HK. :D

so sentimental. but i like. :)

so gf now wife liao, siboh?

its classic design remains fresh, modern, enduring and handsome even after all these 50+ yrs. amazing!

Not yet. Soon. :D

And I'm sold. I shall add a speedy into my collection. Thankfully they are relatively affordable for a preowned classic. And I saw a gent with a speedy just nice. very nice. Really one of the must-own if you are into classics or chrono.

TeenTitan01

@ Henabi
Actually it's his birth year not the year we meet lol. But thanks for explaning it to kiwitan :o

@ Kiwitan
How would he 'fill'? Can't say for sure. Judging from your response you will probably fill super disappointed if you were him. But I have known this guy for 9 years. He's a sincere and appreciative man. What are the chances that I will bust his ego just because I am wearing a newer and more expensive watch( if i go ahead with the blackbay)than him? Might happen to other guys but not my man.

I'm quietly confident that he will like it. Furthermore, I think it will look great on him with the leather strap swap- it's pretty classy.

steady xmm... if you ever get the bb ("we are the bb. resistance is futile.), wear it with a leather / nato strap. that way, YOU & YOUR PARTNER CAN SWAP WATCHES!!!

but i still champion the OMEGA SPEEDMASTER PROFESSIONAL MOONWATCH!!! it's an under-appreciated ICON!!!

bbbbbw

I am looking for my second watch.
Looking at AP diver or ROC 41mm black dial
I prefer bracelet than rubber or leather strap

I like thick heavy watches as such diver appeals to me
But it's rubber strap
On the other hand I am quite fascinated by the royal oak bracelet

I have a 7 inch wrist.
Not keen in dress watches, only sport ones
And not keen in sub cos I owned it before.

My current watch is super avenger black dial with baton markers.
I don't wish to spend extra money to change diver rubber strap to bracelet

rayong

this is my humble watch. After a long deliberation between this and Hesalite, preferred this. Purists would disagree but would recommend anyone to just buy what they are comfortable with. I'm sucker for see-through at the rear :D

First hand is SGD7,200 before discount

Enough said. Congrats and enjoy your Speedy Pro!

rayong

steady xmm... if you ever get the bb ("we are the bb. resistance is futile.), wear it with a leather / nato strap. that way, YOU & YOUR PARTNER CAN SWAP WATCHES!!!

but i still champion the OMEGA SPEEDMASTER PROFESSIONAL MOONWATCH!!! it's an under-appreciated ICON!!!

Very very true. A new strap can make the watch feel and look different. Definitely cheaper to change a strap than to buy a new watch :s13:

adr77

Wow this thread achieved so much pages in a month plus time. Mus compliment yattoさん n his PP to bring back the sparks. ��

pew

+1. Only downside is the semblance to ALS (but it's not).

Both from same area, watch maker and designer grew up together eating the same food breathing the same air screwing the same whores. So thinking also maybe similar.

adr77

image_zps2d698ca8.jpg
[/URL]

One of the numerous shot taken during CNY while waiting for wify to get ready to go 拜年zzzzz.

All in a Day

HK. :D

Not yet. Soon. :D

And I'm sold. I shall add a speedy into my collection. Thankfully they are relatively affordable for a preowned classic. And I saw a gent with a speedy just nice. very nice. Really one of the must-own if you are into classics or chrono.

Yattokame and other powerful bros, got lobang to do moonwatch MO or not? hahaha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.