The Watch Thread - Part 4

Henabi

I would want to wear my casio but I dropped it while in HKG. Sentimental value of all the mud, sweat and tears gone. :(

Anyway, SICC is quite an intimidating place especially to meet people especially if it's all their first time. To me, somewhere outdoor would be better. I'm very 'uncle' even though only 27 so if can I'll suggest kopi tiam or even hawker centre one.

I'm sure yatto kor kor won't mind taking train+bus... then chill in a kopitiam lah kopi and can morest watches lolx

yattokame

I'm sure yatto kor kor won't mind taking train+bus... then chill in a kopitiam lah kopi and can morest watches lolx

Yup. Public transport is still my preferred mode of getting around. Taxi not included - they drive too recklessly

Emospence

maxresdefault.jpg

:eek:

20615570.jpg

rayong

if you wear a seiko/orient is good enough liao! definitely got face! those who say don't have know nuts about watches, hor (they're usually the wannabes who think xxx brand is all atas when it's really not)! kick them in their nuts for me! :(

seiko/orient build and use their own in-house, reliable, albeit plain, boring, undecorated mechanical movements, not just some quartz fashion pieces.

plus they represent quality, reliability, value for money and honest, affordable, unpretentious pricing.

checks all the boxes for a quality, value for money timepiece.

watch nerd/nut approved!

:D

Got to agree on Seiko and Orient being excellent value. It's amazing how reasonable they can be. If you want to splurge a bit more, there's the Orient Star line of watches. Good quality at a good price

Triste

Which Lange and what happened? :eek:

Lange timezone RG.

I can't afford to pay premium at the ALS boutique, so have to hunt for it at grey dealers. I was about to get it, but was an hour too late to buy.

Some angmo reserved it before me. There was a glimmer of hope as i was told i would be next in line to acquire it if the ang mo backed out.

But alas, he didn't:( got the call today and some consolation that they'll find another piece for me.

Brand new, unworn, from local AD, undated. A full 15k cheaper than boutique pricing.

Where to find?

Hai!

aerolord

Lange timezone RG.

I can't afford to pay premium at the ALS boutique, so have to hunt for it at grey dealers. I was about to get it, but was an hour too late to buy.

Some angmo reserved it before me. There was a glimmer of hope as i was told i would be next in line to acquire it if the ang mo backed out.

But alas, he didn't:( got the call today and some consolation that they'll find another piece for me.

Brand new, unworn, from local AD, undated. A full 15k cheaper than boutique pricing.

Where to find?

Hai!

really is amdk :(... even in the watch world

TeenTitan01

Lange timezone RG.

Where to find?

Hai!

did you counter-offer with a higher bid?

anyway, dai dai kor triste, maybe you can catch up with dai kor dai iceflight during the outing or PM him and ask how he can help.

serious.

if you look through his helpful posts couple of days ago! :eek:

maybe give him a nice ang pao as a lucky token or any present he might like as an appreciation gift??

yattokame

also happened to me before but not AMDK story.

saw an RM010 RG at watcharena. good price and likes it very much. went to view TWICE and really cannot tahan, even liquidate some of my shares from the US and wire some money back to buy it.

all ready, bring money there after work, parked car at the market nearby and walked very quickly to the shop.

I asked for the watch and the salesperson pointed it to the next table where a group of guys were trying it on. you guessed it. they bought it right before my very eyes.

what to do? go home lor.

at least triste didnt have to go all the way there to see the ang mo buy it in front of you. painful ok.

Triste

Said watch in question. It's bloody bloody chio! He offered me PP annual calendars and world time, I just said no. Initially I wanted the GL 1 moon phase, but this was too good a deal to pass up.

12905678764_14d335ed28_b.jpg

Yatto bro,, my situation was similar to yours. I actually saw the ang mo who walked out just before I viewed the watch. I was so close!!!!

Teentitan shushu, I am not on the same level or league as ice flight dai lo. I am super motivated to find bargains and deals and when a good one comes by, I just can't pass it up...I actually did offer to pay full cash vs ang mo's CC. But still no go.

Sadly this one passed me right by.

aerolord

saw an RM010 RG at watcharena. good price and likes it very much. went to view TWICE and really cannot tahan, even liquidate some of my shares from the US and wire some money back to buy it.

all ready, bring money there after work, parked car at the market nearby and walked very quickly to the shop.

I asked for the watch and the salesperson pointed it to the next table where a group of guys were trying it on. you guessed it. they bought it right before my very eyes.

what to do? go home lor.

at least triste didnt have to go all the way there to see the ang mo buy it in front of you. painful ok.

i totally can feel you through your post... :(

TeenTitan01

what to do? go home lor.

why yattokame dai kor never go pay deposit to book the piece leh?? :s11:

ne'er mind, maybe iceflight dai kor dai have lobang for you? =:p

starian

Date & Time: 29 March 2014 / Sat afternoon / 1pm onwards
Venue: TBC
Objective: To put a face to our nicks/facilitate watch discussion/share lobangs on watches or otherwise/hands holding, networking, etc.

Anyone in this thread is invited and encouraged to join, regardless what kind of watch you are wearing. I think we generally don't ostracize the brand, type, etc.

Will start a new thread to facilitate discussions once the gathering is confirmed with a healthy number of participants so it doesn't get overwhelmed by the crazy number of posts update daily.

Add your nicks to your list if you are able to make it.

1. Paladium
2. Henabi
3. Aerolord
4. All in a Day
5. Yattokame
6. Pew
7. Mr_spEEd
8. Azrielsc
9. xtwis7
10. starian

Ok I am in. Newbie watch collector here please be friendly. :o

Henabi

what to do? go home lor.

That's rapist por n.... somemore is 1st person POV =(

yattokame

why yattokame dai kor never go pay deposit to book the piece leh?? :s11:

ne'er mind, may iceflight dai kor dai have lobang for you? =:p

that was a couple of yrs ago..... have u seen an RM010 RG for 40k-ish now? my fren just bought hers, preowned for close to 60k.

I didn't think I would pull the trigger then, as much as I liked RM but 40k was unchartered territory for watches for me then. But then I realized listed price at the boutique were like 90k+ then I decided I should go for one.

preowned RM010 RG for 50k. dont think it's possible now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.