HELP!! ): bad a level grades, h1maths vs h2maths, ntu/nus comp sci

sadgirl

Just received my results on 3 March. Always wanted to apply for comp science, super interested in it ok! despite being a girl:D however my results are depressing:( now a sadsadgirl *emo*

here are my grades:
BCC/AEB
H2CHEM:B
H2BIO:C
H2GEO:C
H1MATHS:A
H1GP:E (yes, an eyesore indeed)
H1PW:B
HCL:C6
RANKPOINTS: 71.25.

As you can see i no longer qualify for NUS comp sci with
IGP of BBB/C
RANKPOINTS:75.
Where subject prerequisites are H2 pass in Computing or Mathematics or Physics; OR a good pass in H1 Mathematics has been met.
Is there anyone in same situation as me? :s22:

Currently I'm looking at NTU comp sci with
IGP of BCC/D
RANKPOINTS:68.75 now.
However I do not meet the prerequisites of H2 LEVEL PASS IN MATHS.
Other min subject requirements has been met. H2 pass in chem, bio, o level pass in phy etc..

Do i still stand a chance in NTU comp science?:s11:
Or should i appeal for NUS comp sci?
if not.. i might just retake A level as private candidate. lol.
Another question, is it possible to switch from h1 maths to h2 maths if i would to retake? :s11:
thanks so much everyone!! appreciates if anyone replies!! First post haha:s12::s12: pardon me for my lousy english >.<

Jiaw3i

Just received my results on 3 March. Always wanted to apply for comp science, super interested in it ok! despite being a girl:D however my results are depressing:( now a sadsadgirl *emo*

here are my grades:
BCC/AEB
H2CHEM:B
H2BIO:C
H2GEO:C
H1MATHS:A
H1GP:E (yes, an eyesore indeed)
H1PW:B
HCL:C6
RANKPOINTS: 71.25.

As you can see i no longer qualify for NUS comp sci with
IGP of BBB/C
RANKPOINTS:75.
Where subject prerequisites are H2 pass in Computing or Mathematics or Physics; OR a good pass in H1 Mathematics has been met.
Is there anyone in same situation as me? :s22:

Currently I'm looking at NTU comp sci with
IGP of BCC/D
RANKPOINTS:68.75 now.
However I do not meet the prerequisites of H2 LEVEL PASS IN MATHS.
Other min subject requirements has been met. H2 pass in chem, bio, o level pass in phy etc..

Do i still stand a chance in NTU comp science?:s11:
Or should i appeal for NUS comp sci?
if not.. i might just retake A level as private candidate. lol.
Another question, is it possible to switch from h1 maths to h2 maths if i would to retake? :s11:
thanks so much everyone!! appreciates if anyone replies!! First post haha:s12::s12: pardon me for my lousy english >.<

I advise u to call NTU and NUS admissions directly to enquire.
NTU:Contact Us

Contact Numbers and Emails

For enquiries pertaining to admissions with local qualifications
Tel: 6592 3068 (Hotline Operating Hours: Mon - Thurs 8.45am to 5.30pm and Fri 8.45am to 5pm)
6790 5055
6790 5972
Email: adm_local@ntu.edu.sg

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NUS: NUS - Office of Admissions : Contact Us

Operating hours:
Mondays to Thursdays: 8.30am to 6.00pm
Fridays: 8.30am to 5.30pm
Closed on Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays

Phone: (65) 6516 1010
Fax: (65) 6778 7570

Alpaca

Applying and accepting is 2 diifrent thing . I can only say u stand a higher chance in ntu , but jus apply to nus anyway like using $10 to buy 4d like that. U gal maybe they will accept u to pull up gender ratio

mgx-alander

if u no pass in math, u can take A lvl bridging module MA1301.

i cannot tell chiu if u are able to enter NUS CS with ur grades, but i am quite sure NTU CS sure got chance.

Darkzi0n

if u r retaking... y private? ur sch dont allow u repeat meh?

Average

Can try

Even if not offered, just appeal. I heard before the professor might call you for interview. Just be a nice girl, show sincerity, good chance appeal can pass.

sadgirl

I advise u to call NTU and NUS admissions directly to enquire.

yep.. I called them. Twice. One said she's unsure but can try. another one said CANNOT. Must meet min requirements @.@ confused by the staff there lol. What is more important? meeting rank points requirement or pre subject requirement?

sadgirl

Hi, regarding the differences between H1 and H2 Maths, you can check the website at: What is the Difference between H1 Mathematics, H2 Mathematics and H3 Mathematics? | Singapore Maths Tuition[/url]

Some of the topics in H2 maths but not in H1 (mostly pure maths) are: Functions and Graphs, Sequences and Series, Vectors, Complex Numbers, Calculus (Maclaurin's series)

Hope it helps!

actually i do know the vast difference btw H2 n H1 maths :(:( i could even tell u H1 maths is really way easier than O level A maths and even E maths.. I took up A maths before with a B3.. i totally regretted taking H1 maths.:slant:

sadgirl

if u no pass in math, u can take A lvl bridging module MA1301.

i cannot tell chiu if u are able to enter NUS CS with ur grades, but i am quite sure NTU CS sure got chance.

hi. May i ask if you are a comp sci student?:o just wondering how heavy maths is in comp science.. would i struggle with my h1 maths? would Amaths help?

Darkzi0n

Jus use the time from now until aug to read up on h2 math or math module that u will be taking in uni. Won't go wrong with that... N If u r called up for interview, atleast u have something to say if they say u dont meet their min requirement.

Giroman

hi. May i ask if you are a comp sci student?:o just wondering how heavy maths is in comp science.. would i struggle with my h1 maths? would Amaths help?

Pretty common in Comp sci.
You can PM me if you want materials for MA1301, CS1231 and MA1521. :o

Death4ngel

Just apply first la. If we say yes, they reject u, u also cannot do anything. Probably thing about some backup plans would be more helpful.

Comp Sci is Math heavy.
If you have h1 math only, you will have to take bridging modules.

Good luck.

stinkingjellyfish

missing the IGP doesn't mean you won't get a spot.

i missed the IGP by a bit back in 2009 and i still got a spot in arts, which was my first choice. i got E for GP as well.

i got the letter of offer like 3 days before the acceptance window closed :s13:

Geforce3

igp is a rough gauge and it is based on the previous year's intake. Anyway, it's 10 bucks, just apply lor

swordsly

I've known a couple of people who are interested in comp sci.
They came to NUS, they got disappointed in a way.

So maybe you can share what of comp sci interests you. Have you taken a look at the curriculum of comp sci? What is it you intend to focus? Tell us what your fantasies of life in SoC looks like.

I don't really believe in "I'm generally interested in everything of comp sci!" or "I'm not too sure what I'm interested in comp sci but I'm just interested in it!".
When you have that mentality and you do get in, you're gonna ask yourself why you chose to screw yourself for 4 years, especially when SoC is very competitive in terms of the technical modules.

I got into Comm Media in SoC thinking it was XYZ. I got back ABC.
#truestory

**real case: mgxalander is already asking himself why he didnt choose IS and major SE over CS focus SE.

Death4ngel

I want to build web pages, I want to build apps!

I should go Comp Sci! :s13:

mgx-alander

yes i am in comp sci

i come from poly

i duno if u will struggle, i duno how powerful is ur math

math is heavy in certain focus areas, but there are a few core mods that needs very strong math background to do well and to fight the ah tiongs, ah nehs and ah nams with the bell, to tell u the truth, non of my math module in nus ever scored above a B-.. (but my math suck la)

MA1101R -> Linear Algebra (gg math)
MA1521 -> Calculus for computing (Calculus abit more difficult than MA1301, avoid wang fei if u can)
CS1231 -> Discrete structures (Avoid Sem1 if ur math is not so good, drop even if pre-allocated in sem1)
CS3230 -> Advanced CS1231, prove algorithms, no matter wat must take, now even more jialat with upgraded syllabus

ST2334 -> easiest of all for math module (its stats not so mathy, some common sense) but avoid Ajay, see him just dun take

the 4 science mods are also sibey jialat, i am not a science person, basically all my mods from faculty of science i either eat C / C+ or B-

my best was for Stats (B+) but maybe ish bcos of some1 thats y i did well :sad:

basically if ur science is not strong, avoid CS major, maybe u can go Information System instead as its not so math intensive.

I want to build web pages, I want to build apps!

I should go Comp Sci!

build apps just go IS la, CS is not build apps 1 :(

CS the math can kill and

i see death that day u talking about PAT ar moi sexpert wor :s13: i arm chio when i hear u all duno wtf is the diff btw stop and skip hahaha but i just diam diam dun want listurb ur grp discussion.. :sad: :sad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.