The Watch Thread - Part 4

Azrielsc

Hi watch experts here, i need some help....

I will like to get a watch, interested in panerai or IWC.
- which model do you recommend?
- where can i purchase them, 2nd hand is alright?

Get an IWC, Panerai sucks! :s13:

Your questions are kinda vague, though. Key questions:

1. Is there any initial preference to narrow your search down to these 2 brands?
2. Why these 2 brands attract you?
3. Your budget?
4. Your wrist size?
5. Skin tone?

Vanilla Way

No, I don't think it is weird for any age guy or girl to wear NATO strapped watches.

I only feel that if you want to wear NATO straps, pair it with sporty or casual wear. I personally won't wear NATO strap whilst in office wear.

I second that :D Intend to shop for NATOs when my stowa flieger arrives so I can have a bit of fun :s13:

NATO you just have to pair with the right watch and it looks great. Not really about age or gender, more about which watch you pair it with?

All in a Day

Your questions are kinda vague, though. Key question:s13:s:

1. Is there any initial preference to narrow your search down to these 2 brands?
3. Your budget?
4. Your wrist size?
5. Skin tone?

:s13::s13: sure or not

yattokame

Wah...why like this leh? LOL... If I the wife I also would complain lor... 有了孩子不要娘... :s13:

You sure love kids to want to have more... for me I am never ready for any =:p

nobody is ever ready lah. but I tell you, my biggest regret is having kids too late.

after getting married at 25/26, we wanted to have a yr or two to ourselves; then wanted to build our careers, then want this want that......by the time we checked, i'm already 32.

when my kids are supposedly financially ready on their own at 25, i'm already 58. I'd probably be a burden to them early in their career if I want them to give me an allowance (it's something I will insist).

have kids early. nobody is ever ready. you will be ready when your kids arrive :) they complete my life :)

Vanilla Way

errr hahahaha actually miss the kids more now

read some books and they say a lot of times the love for the wife will shift to the kids....... I must admit it happens to me and the missus has complained quite a bit.

trying to convince the wife to try for another one or two :) gotta sell the S class when that happens and maybe get the mercedes Vanos or Vito :s12:

so exciting :)

Haha I hope that "love shifting" thing doesn't happen to me! But having said that I would love to have kids of my own but maybe after 1 - 2 years of marriage? :s13:

aerolord

Your questions are kinda vague, though. Key questions:

3. Your budget?
4. Your wrist size?
5. Skin tone?

I know Panerai sucks... BUT HOW CAN YOU SAY THIS ONE SUCKS? :(

PaneraiMinervaChronographs-1.jpg

PaneraiMinervaChronographs-2.jpg

Probably... the only Panerai I will wear if I ever got the chance to own one...

yattokame

We want to have kids also cannot. You want to start a soccer team? :)

pal, if it's a medical issue I do know a gynae who is extremely good. And not at exorbitant fees.

a close fren of mine went to many many gynaes and spent freaking 6 figure sum (enough to get a porsche) and still no kids. went to this particular gynae and one time pregnant. imagine all the time and money he spent!

hoping the best for you :)

Azrielsc

I second that :D Intend to shop for NATOs when my stowa flieger arrives so I can have a bit of fun :s13:

NATO you just have to pair with the right watch and it looks great. Not really about age or gender, more about which watch you pair it with?

I initially thought that a NATO strap will make the entire watch look bigger but it does give the watch a more rugged look.

11171203696_5224e5a8ba_z.jpg

11171200766_dbb010f51a_z.jpg

Love it! And NATO straps are cheaper than normal straps too! :)

Vanilla Way

Yes yes the watch..

Super disadvantagous when you have a small wrist and you like watches (and you don't like small face 'ku niang' kind) :( And this red one is like the 5600 series if I'm not wrong..one of the smaller sized around. I think G shocks are still okay to be wore abit on the bigger side? Having said that I've seen some girls wearing too big a G shock for their wrist that it doesnt look nice. It's like me wearing the 7Fri lol.

Azrielsc

Oooooo..this one has character. I like it!

Me fell in love at 1st sight at the strap. Key points of getting it:

1. Friend who custom made it for me. I just have to punch the buckling hole myself.
2. Unpolished skin so the scales will start to peel upwards, like flower petals, the more I wear it.
3. Love the brown colour!

:s41:

Azrielsc

I know Panerai sucks... BUT HOW CAN YOU SAY THIS ONE SUCKS? :(

Probably... the only Panerai I will wear if I ever got the chance to own one...

Hahaha! The guys & gals here know that I am a Pam fan lah. :)

But I am not a fan of busy watch faces and imo, this one IS busy. From the 3 versions that are released, I would not go with this white version, because white face does impact the visibility of the tiny markers.

But the Oro Blanco (pictured below) does look nicer, with a nice contrast between the black face and the sand coloured markers. It also highlights the sandwich dial and the pre-cut hour markers too.

Panerai%20Radiomir%201940%20Chronograph%20Oro%20Blanco

US$61,200 for this white gold Pam... OUCH.

pal, if it's a medical issue I do know a gynae who is extremely good. And not at exorbitant fees.

a close fren of mine went to many many gynaes and spent freaking 6 figure sum (enough to get a porsche) and still no kids. went to this particular gynae and one time pregnant. imagine all the time and money he spent!

hoping the best for you :)

Just changed gynae a month ago. Trying again. I don't want to look at the costs... ALS 1815 Chronograph or a kid... tough choice. :s13:

can you identify original panerai with manmade panerai ?

What do you mean by "manmade"? I believe you mean replicas? That is tough if you are looking at the watch face because good replicas are GOOD. But if you turn it around, most of the time, luckily of course, the movement will be able to show if it is a replica or not. The finishing is not as impeccable as a genuine Pam, amongst others.

Cheers!

Paladium

nobody is ever ready lah. but I tell you, my biggest regret is having kids too late.

after getting married at 25/26, we wanted to have a yr or two to ourselves; then wanted to build our careers, then want this want that......by the time we checked, i'm already 32.

when my kids are supposedly financially ready on their own at 25, i'm already 58. I'd probably be a burden to them early in their career if I want them to give me an allowance (it's something I will insist).

have kids early. nobody is ever ready. you will be ready when your kids arrive :) they complete my life :)

Siao Liao lor... 32 and still single. Bu the time I marry and have kids 35 liao :eek:

aerolord

Hahaha! The guys & gals here know that I am a Pam fan lah. :)

But I am not a fan of busy watch faces and imo, this one IS busy. From the 3 versions that are released, I would not go with this white version, because white face does impact the visibility of the tiny markers.!

how can i not know?!?! :eek::eek:.....

I was tied between the two of them... but I chose for the white/cream dial, a not so common colour dial found on pam :D. I know there are white dial for pam, but not a popular choice :D

yattokame

Just changed gynae a month ago. Trying again. I don't want to look at the costs... ALS 1815 Chronograph or a kid... tough choice. :s13:

Cheers!

definitely a kid. no doubt about that.

anyway the gynae is S.F. Loh from thomson medical. ppl call him miracle hands.

rayong

Haha this is one of the two gshocks I got- the "square" classic in red. Selected this cos of its functions. Solar powered, multi band with moon phase and tide display. LOL, I also have a "moon phase watch"now.Not exactly a watch to wear to work but I needed to bring this baby out for some "sunbathing" to charge up its power.

The second isnt solar powered and has lesser functions. Actually theres tons of good looking gshock out there but given my small wrist plus the fact that gshocks are primarily designed for men I find my options more restricted :( like those stealth looking ones are so cool but its gonna be too huge for me.

Will post wrist shots of the second these few days when I wear it haha. :)

I find that the size looks really good on your wrist

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.