HELP!! ): bad a level grades, h1maths vs h2maths, ntu/nus comp sci

Death4ngel

i see death that day u talking about PAT ar moi sexpert wor :s13: i arm chio when i hear u all duno wtf is the diff btw stop and skip hahaha but i just diam diam dun want listurb ur grp discussion.. :sad: :sad:

How u sexpert in that program sia. So hard to use. So little documentation. :s13:
What module u took?

Jiaw3i

yep.. I called them. Twice. One said she's unsure but can try. another one said CANNOT. Must meet min requirements @.@ confused by the staff there lol. What is more important? meeting rank points requirement or pre subject requirement?

Sorry for the late reply. No idea about ur qn. :(:( Since u can't really understand them on phone, I advise u to email ur qn to NUS and NTU admissions.

On a side note, I think it would be difficult for u to grasp the concepts in Computer Science since u dun have background in programming in poly/JC. Maybe u should consider applying to Information Systems(IS) or Electronic Commerce(EC) in NUS instead?

swordsly

Sorry for the late reply. No idea about ur qn. :(:( Since u can't really understand them on phone, I advise u to email ur qn to NUS and NTU admissions.

On a side note, I think it would be difficult for u to grasp the concepts in Computer Science since u dun have background in programming in poly/JC. Maybe u should consider applying to Information Systems(IS) or Electronic Commerce(EC) in NUS instead?

I wouldn't say I 100% agree with jiawei korkor, but if you really want to be part of CS, you really need to somehow love (or be extremely comfortable) with coding (and by that I don't mean simply stealing from somewhere and hope it works but really go in and understand it).

xClementx

have u considered SMU SIS before?

in most institutions the computing faculty will offer other majors. you don't have to go to comp sci. in order to get into IT. look at the course curriculum and apply for all that interests you.. good luck.

P.S. if you went to poly maybe you will have a high chance :s12:

MoxLotus

A lot of ppl come to comp sci thinking that it interests them. After the first yr, many left for other majors. :s13::s13:

u only join comp sci if u r truly passionate about computing.

being passionate means u r willing to go the extra miles to study more than others.

Good luck in your application.

sadgirl

I've known a couple of people who are interested in comp sci.
They came to NUS, they got disappointed in a way.

So maybe you can share what of comp sci interests you. Have you taken a look at the curriculum of comp sci? What is it you intend to focus? Tell us what your fantasies of life in SoC looks like.

I don't really believe in "I'm generally interested in everything of comp sci!" or "I'm not too sure what I'm interested in comp sci but I'm just interested in it!".
When you have that mentality and you do get in, you're gonna ask yourself why you chose to screw yourself for 4 years, especially when SoC is very competitive in terms of the technical modules.

I got into Comm Media in SoC thinking it was XYZ. I got back ABC.
#truestory

**real case: mgxalander is already asking himself why he didnt choose IS and major SE over CS focus SE.

i wan build cutsey web pages and games that's why i fancy this course! if this were my thoughts i might as well have not spend time ranting here. should have just accepted my fate and go where ever my grades bring me lol seriously.

computer itself is a really amazing tool. i do not just want to build web pages and apps. i want to learn its mechanism and theories behind it. i love technical and logical stuffs a lot. especially you can actually apply what you learn to these daily tools. understanding programming languages. each of their pros and cons. how could i make use of each of them to their fullest potential? creating new languages even. writing a set of instructions for computers to execute and solve specific problems. study its operating systems. honestly i have no idea what is computer science is really about. i want to know its fundamentals. how has this whole systems came about. through mathematical theories and shits.

but again i really dont know. unless i could experience the lectures lol. i heard this course is darn tough. and i have no idea whether i am up for it. who knows i might end up hating and regretting taking this course. information systems is more of business right? i have never taken econs or anything reated to business before so i really dk. but who knows i might like information sys instead. or should i just take NTU CBC and have an easy life. but i really cant stop thinking about computer science!

sadgirl

I've known a couple of people who are interested in comp sci.
They came to NUS, they got disappointed in a way.

may i know how why are they disappointed? what were their expectations in the first place? so what's happening to them now?

mgx-alander

no IS is not business.. its more of the management side of computer science, but u also create apps and such

and no.. u dont go into cs thinking u are gonna create cute web applications and games :s13: go in with that sort of mindset will simply kill u

sadgirl

yes i am in comp sci

i come from poly

i duno if u will struggle, i duno how powerful is ur math

math is heavy in certain focus areas, but there are a few core mods that needs very strong math background to do well and to fight the ah tiongs, ah nehs and ah nams with the bell, to tell u the truth, non of my math module in nus ever scored above a B-.. (but my math suck la)

MA1101R -> Linear Algebra (gg math)
MA1521 -> Calculus for computing (Calculus abit more difficult than MA1301, avoid wang fei if u can)
CS1231 -> Discrete structures (Avoid Sem1 if ur math is not so good, drop even if pre-allocated in sem1)
CS3230 -> Advanced CS1231, prove algorithms, no matter wat must take, now even more jialat with upgraded syllabus

ST2334 -> easiest of all for math module (its stats not so mathy, some common sense) but avoid Ajay, see him just dun take

the 4 science mods are also sibey jialat, i am not a science person, basically all my mods from faculty of science i either eat C / C+ or B-

my best was for Stats (B+) but maybe ish bcos of some1 thats y i did well :sad:

basically if ur science is not strong, avoid CS major, maybe u can go Information System instead as its not so math intensive.

build apps just go IS la, CS is not build apps 1 :(

CS the math can kill and

i see death that day u talking about PAT ar moi sexpert wor :s13: i arm chio when i hear u all duno wtf is the diff btw stop and skip hahaha but i just diam diam dun want listurb ur grp discussion.. :sad: :sad:

i believe la. for maths i no problem one. cuz maths n sci always my strongest since young. i hated humans subjects and english alot alot. love logical factual stuffs. yea i hear from everyone discrete structures is a killer LOL. so hows comp sci lectures? did you regret not taking information systems? why would you prefer IS instead? in the first place what have made you choose comp sci?

mgx-alander

CS is very MATHY.. being not very MATHY does kill in CS..

i abit regret cos the math is really killing despite me being in my final semester in CS... i am still surviving with 2nd lowers cap.. didnt expect my cap to be so low until faculty of science eat me until i am left with bones.

MAYBE i would prefer IS because i can esape all the mods from faculty of sciene.. lol

and it seems that i eat As easily from IS modules

sadgirl

no IS is not business.. its more of the management side of computer science, but u also create apps and such

and no.. u dont go into cs thinking u are gonna create cute web applications and games :s13: go in with that sort of mindset will simply kill u

management meaning?? can explain in depth comp sci and information sys for me cuz hor on internet hor, other than course modules i cannot really see what is it about lol lol. i know loads of people love playing games = comp sci one de. but my mindset not like that la. i actually like the maths part of it more lol

sadgirl

CS is very MATHY.. being not very MATHY does kill in CS..

i abit regret cos the math is really killing despite me being in my final semester in CS... i am still surviving with 2nd lowers cap.. didnt expect my cap to be so low until faculty of science eat me until i am left with bones.

MAYBE i would prefer IS because i can esape all the mods from faculty of sciene.. lol

and it seems that i eat As easily from IS modules

aiyo why still dw switch course. i heard after 1st year if do very well can switch course right. smore like comp sis info sys starting with same modules. uni maths if practice and mug can survive anot uh

swordsly

may i know how why are they disappointed? what were their expectations in the first place? so what's happening to them now?

studied computer-related diploma, got into NUS, totally slumped because the content is really different from poly content.

even took a semester off to do internship to get away from NUS.
ended up struggle through, just hoping to pass every mod.

she was not from CS, CM like me.
she's now an app developer with NCS and yes, she can code (she neither hates it nor loves it).

the only 2 people on this forum that I know is truly passionate in CS are moxlotus and deathangel.
mox is interested in algorithms i think, death is doing parallel computing if im not mistaken.
consult them if you need to.
consult jiawei for IS.

from what you said, i doubt software engineering is what you want, neither is networking nor database. probably not visual computing either.

it's fine you don't know which exact focus area you are truly interested in but really bottom line is
1) you dont come in thinking you're gonna build the next flappy bird (ok this is easy) or assassin creeds or facebook or whatsapp
2) you need to be able to do well in maths because CS relies on it a lot (except SE but you still need to clear them anyway)
3) you need to learn to accept programming into your life and not just copy codes from somewhere else without knowing what it does
4) 4 compulsory science modules, be prepared
5) be prepared to go on toe-to-toe with foreign students, namely indians, chinese and vietnamese because their dedication and foundation has been proven to be stronger than singaporeans in general (or from what i observed)

that said, the above are my opinions. good luck. :)

swordsly

aiyo why still dw switch course. i heard after 1st year if do very well can switch course right. smore like comp sis info sys starting with same modules. uni maths if practice and mug can survive anot uh

let's just say that by the time he realised that, it was all too late.
switching course is not as simple as it sounds unless you switch at the start because the core mods are different to a certain extend.

math practice and mug can, but just remember there's bell curve and who your opponents are.
since you say your math strong, probably wont be an issue to you.

mgx-alander

no the modules are not very the same for is and cs in its foundation years.. and my 1st year i chiong all the math and sci tgt which resulted in a bad starting cap

my cap went significantly higher (+ 0.85) and my cs is not so bad actually after that

its the science that pulls me down by a signficant amount

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.