MyRepublic fibre - Part 4

xRenol

I am using Cat 5e cable between the router and my computer. Just want to share that Cat 5e cable is also able to hit around 900+Mbps local download speed on wired connection.

Wired connection via ASUS AC56U router:
Download Speed: 940486 kbps (117560.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 475337 kbps (59417.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 3 ms
Jitter: 0 ms
7/8/2014 10:41:23 PM

wweixian

hey guys, is it recommended to install the merlin firmware for RT N56U? will it help wireless speed?

newbish

potential noob question: how do you guys subscribe to hulu+? any efficient way to do it? thanks..! :o

edit: nvm i answer myself! all we need is to enter a valid zip!

imacbie

Dota 2 fans streaming fine on twitch now??
Streaming via my xiao mi box wireless on high to my 42" butter butter

nestorvie

needs a vpn to work for me.. dunno wtf is wrong with MR

frankly speaking why does everyone assume the problem is with MR?

If the problem is within their control I don't think they will ignore so many complains and play dumb. What I mean is the routing may be stuck somewhere at a lower (or upper?) level provider and MR can't do anything to fix that.

Phen8210

If the problem is within their control I don't think they will ignore so many complains and play dumb. What I mean is the routing may be stuck somewhere at a lower (or upper?) level provider and MR can't do anything to fix that.

They need to resolve the issue regardless. 2 years already leh.

ArleFK

I pretty much agree with this. Since when has MR refused to fix a problem? I can see that they like to drag and delay, but the issue still gets fixed in the end.

MR has already said that the issue is on twitch end, so just give them a break ba. You guys are already on one of the fastest fibre speed in the world, and at such a cheap price, yet whining about not being able to watch something every single day. Not sian meh. :s22:

Phen8210

I pretty much agree with this. Since when has MR refused to fix a problem? I can see that they like to drag and delay, but the issue still gets fixed in the end.

MR has already said that the issue is on twitch end, so just give them a break ba. You guys are already on one of the fastest fibre speed in the world, and at such a cheap price, yet whining about not being able to watch something every single day. Not sian meh. :s22:

umm :s11::s11::s11:

aCidz

Is watching twitch all you do with the internet?
Not being able to watch twitch has nothing to do with being on a fast and cheap plan. Cheap and fast = cannot complain?

I don't watch twitch, but this issue has been around for a long time as others have noted.

red_december

Hey guys. Just a question about my current setup and how I have to change it again. Hope you guys can help me out here.

Currently using MR and my setup is something like this (landed house):

ONT (1st floor) > Router (2nd floor) > 2 wired connections to 2 different rooms (2nd floor)

Now, I need to add one wired connection on the 1st floor.

Constraints:

1. I cannot move the router to 1st floor. All family members using wireless are on 2nd and 3rd floors of my house.

2. There's only one cable that goes from 1st floor to 2nd floor.

To add a wired connection on the first floor, can I setup something like this:

ONT (1st floor) > Switch (1st floor) > 1 wired connection on 1st floor AND router (2nd floor) > 2 wired connections to 2 different rooms (2nd floor)

If the above setup wouldn't work, are there any other setups you can suggest? If let's say I use an extender and switch on the 2nd floor and use the router on 1st floor, will it affect my wired speed on 2nd floor? Will the wireless range still be good enough on 2nd and 3rd floors?

Appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

newbish

Hey guys. Just a question about my current setup and how I have to change it again. Hope you guys can help me out here.

Currently using MR and my setup is something like this (landed house):

ONT (1st floor) > Router (2nd floor) > 2 wired connections to 2 different rooms (2nd floor)

Now, I need to add one wired connection on the 1st floor.

Constraints:

1. I cannot move the router to 1st floor. All family members using wireless are on 2nd and 3rd floors of my house.

2. There's only one cable that goes from 1st floor to 2nd floor.

To add a wired connection on the first floor, can I setup something like this:

ONT (1st floor) > Switch (1st floor) > 1 wired connection on 1st floor AND router (2nd floor) > 2 wired connections to 2 different rooms (2nd floor)

If the above setup wouldn't work, are there any other setups you can suggest? If let's say I use an extender and switch on the 2nd floor and use the router on 1st floor, will it affect my wired speed on 2nd floor? Will the wireless range still be good enough on 2nd and 3rd floors?

Appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

is it ok to assume that from ONT level 1 to router level 2, it is a direct wired connection?

you should move the router down to first floor, ONT -> original router from level 2 now move to level 1 -> cascade a new router at level 2 and broadcast wifi too

by cascading it means to connect from Router level 1 (LAN) to Router level 2 (LAN). don't connect it to Router Level 2's WAN port! <- yes you do effectively lose 1 LAN port but this is how you can cascade routers. Also you have to disable DHCP on Router level 2 and set Router level 2 internal ip to the same subnet + static it to a high value eg 192.168.1.234

this way your wireless client as well as wired client on level 2 will be able to surf as per normal. you also get added wireless on level 1.

the wired connection performance on level 2 will not be affected. personally im doing such a thing as well. :)

edit: if above instructions are not clear, here's a link which gives a better overall view! Look at (LAN-LAN) configuration. http://kb.linksys.com/Linksys/ukp.aspx?pid=80&vw=1&articleid=3733&lid=7610935397b08

nestorvie

Not being able to watch twitch has nothing to do with being on a fast and cheap plan. Cheap and fast = cannot complain?

I don't watch twitch, but this issue has been around for a long time as others have noted.

It's like you are on a cab, and the road ahead is jam. Then should the taxi driver solve the issue for you?

I am not siding with MR but by referring to "Twitch's side" they may also referring to whatever third party vendor on the route from your house to Twitch, which is, ultimately, out of their control.

MR obviously does not own the direct line all the way from your house to Twitch's servers.

Since myself and many other customers are watching Twitch just fine, I believe if this is within their control they would have already solved it long time ago.

red_december

is it ok to assume that from ONT level 1 to router level 2, it is a direct wired connection?

you should move the router down to first floor, ONT -> original router from level 2 now move to level 1 -> cascade a new router at level 2 and broadcast wifi too

by cascading it means to connect from Router level 1 (LAN) to Router level 2 (LAN). don't connect it to Router Level 2's WAN port! <- yes you do effectively lose 1 LAN port but this is how you can cascade routers. Also you have to disable DHCP on Router level 2 and set Router level 2 internal ip to the same subnet + static it to a high value eg 192.168.1.234

this way your wireless client as well as wired client on level 2 will be able to surf as per normal. you also get added wireless on level 1.

the wired connection performance on level 2 will not be affected. personally im doing such a thing as well. :)

edit: if above instructions are not clear, here's a link which gives a better overall view! Look at (LAN-LAN) configuration. Article

To answer your question, yes, ONT lvl 1 to Router lvl 2 is a direct wired connection.

Haha that's one of the configurations I had in mind, though that means buying an extra router > expensive. I am currently using RT-N66U Dark Knight and it gives me good enough coverage on the 2nd/3rd floor as needed.

That's why I wondered if buying a switch and using it on 1st floor is good enough. switch > cheap. Also, as i dont need any wireless coverage on 1st floor and just need a wired connection, it meets my needs. Please let me know if that's workable. If not, I guess I'll go for another new router.

newbish

To answer your question, yes, ONT lvl 1 to Router lvl 2 is a direct wired connection.

Haha that's one of the configurations I had in mind, though that means buying an extra router > expensive. I am currently using RT-N66U Dark Knight and it gives me good enough coverage on the 2nd/3rd floor as needed.

That's why I wondered if buying a switch and using it on 1st floor is good enough. switch > cheap. Also, as i dont need any wireless coverage on 1st floor and just need a wired connection, it meets my needs. Please let me know if that's workable. If not, I guess I'll go for another new router.

no i dont think it works as the switch will not be connected to the router lan ports. unless you have two cables running then the router from lvl2 can have another cable going to the switch at level 1 :D ONT->router->switch

also, the switch does not actually connect to the internet... so you need a router to do so.. how about a cheaper router to go along at level 1 that handles well in wired WAN-LAN, but doesnt need high powered wireless antenna?

red_december

no i dont think it works as the switch will not be connected to the router lan ports. unless you have two cables running then the router from lvl2 can have another cable going to the switch at level 1 :D ONT->router->switch

also, the switch does not actually connect to the internet... so you need a router to do so.. how about a cheaper router to go along at level 1 that handles well in wired WAN-LAN, but doesnt need high powered wireless antenna?

Ah, could you suggest any cheaper routers? I'll be getting 1Gbps in 2 weeks so as long as with wired connection it can handle 1 Gbps (dont care about its wireless range), please let me know. Thanks!

newbish

Ah, could you suggest any cheaper routers? I'll be getting 1Gbps in 2 weeks so as long as with wired connection it can handle 1 Gbps (dont care about its wireless range), please let me know. Thanks!

i don't really know which is cheap and good but supposingly the ones MR are selling can all hit gigabit wan-lan including n56u (using non-stock firmware) based on a couple of reports here.

perhaps you can call up and ask them to add the option to your order since there is $100 off.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.