Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

AirProjectServices

Any recommendations for a System 2 inverter? Previous owner of my flat had installed a System 3 to serve the 3 bedrooms, so now I want to install one more System 2 to cover the living hall (pending HDB approval). Thinking of maybe one ~9k BTU and one ~18k BTU.

Any suggestions on brands and installation companies? Thanks!
I will prefer Daikin :)

melankholy

Hi guys i bit the bullet and got a Panasonic Inverter System 3.

Total spent $3788

I think this is on the high side.
Breakdown:

$3039 for 2x 9K BTU and 1x 12K BTU blower.
$99 Extended Warranty
$150 Steel Bracket
$180 Upgrade to 1/2 insulation and 23 to 22 Copper piping.
$320 installation of 15AMP Socket and Testing.

I think the warranty and Upgrade could have been waived off on any given day. And the 15AMP socket is too expensive. I planned to spend $3.4 and ended up with $3.8. What do you guys think?

Ronaldo88

Hi guys i bit the bullet and got a Panasonic Inverter System 3.

Total spent $3788

I think this is on the high side.
Breakdown:

$3039 for 2x 9K BTU and 1x 12K BTU blower.
$99 Extended Warranty
$150 Steel Bracket
$180 Upgrade to 1/2 insulation and 23 to 22 Copper piping.
$320 installation of 15AMP Socket and Testing.

I think the warranty and Upgrade could have been waived off on any given day. And the 15AMP socket is too expensive. I planned to spend $3.4 and ended up with $3.8. What do you guys think?

180 n 320 kena chop leh..

derkaiser94

Looking to purchase a Daikin system 3 for a 30-40 years 4 room flat. Is there a need for me to cough up extra for the larger capacity 3MKS71ESG box instead of the 3MKS50ESG version?

Should I also get the upgraded 1/2" 1 ARMAFLEX and G22 piping?

Lastly do I need a 15AMP power point or to replace my current system 3 steel bracket?

Usage varies minimally. 2 aircons will mostly be on every night (12-14hrs) while the third very rarely.

Jazz15RS

To Jazz15RS,
I will prefer Starmex.

Hi Terumo,

Thanks,

I am looking at the following specs, do you have any advices how much am I expecting? Those big stores typically sells at a range between 4k to 5k.

Want to know if I am able to get cheaper with cash payment though.

MISTUBISHI STARMEX SYS 4
MXY4A28VA
MSYGE10VAX x 3
MSYGE24 x 1

Am I able to get this at around 3.8k or lower at those shops?

envyme

Getting a system 3 inverter 27k in total . 9k each blower , isit enough (mitsubishi inverter)

maxicoolservices

Hello Envyme,

It really depends on your usage trends and room size.

By the rule of the thumb, the larger the room size the larger the BTU required to cool down the room (9K,12k,18K etc)
Other factors include morning/afternoon sun, design factors.

The size of the room aside, supposedly with the outdoor unit at total 27K~28K BTU, if you need to turn on all 3x9K at 1 go it can support.

However if your matching is something along the line of 27~28k BTU for outdoor unit and you have matched 1x12K and 2x9K indoor units then turning on all 3 units might affect the cooling efficiency. But if you only use 2 units at 1 time, say 1x12K + 1x9K = 21K or 2x9K = 18K then supposedly no issue to support.

Best person to advise will be your appointed installer.
Give them your room size and also tell them your usage trends during your purchase they will be able to better advise.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham

Not pro in aircon is this enough for the room 9 k?

ZigguratZ

Hi all,

I am being quoted for 4,500 for the following aircon spec by gain city..

just want to check whether is it expensive or am I able to get it cheaper at some other shops ?

MITSUBISHI DAIYA SYS 4
SCM80ZJS~3XSRK25ZJS~1XSRK50ZJS
SCM80ZJS-INVERTER
SCM25ZJS-INVERTER
SCM50ZJS-INVERTER
UPGRADE ARMFLX 1/2" SYS 4 (CLASS 1)
UPGRADE COPPER 23 TO 22 SYS 4
UNLIMITED PIPING
5 years warranty

thanks all !

rizzie

Gain city getting frm bad to worst... If possible look ard for other better option...

smellybelly

Hi guys, i'm looking System3 for my new bto flat. Any recommendations? looks like Starmex is the popular choice? how much is the market rate right now to install Starmex system 3?

derkaiser94

Hello Envyme,

It really depends on your usage trends and room size.

By the rule of the thumb, the larger the room size the larger the BTU required to cool down the room (9K,12k,18K etc)
Other factors include morning/afternoon sun, design factors.

The size of the room aside, supposedly with the outdoor unit at total 27K~28K BTU, if you need to turn on all 3x9K at 1 go it can support.

So if the outdoor unit has a lower BTU than the combined BTU of the indoor systems, would it still be able to support them when they are turned on together? Are there gonna be any potential future damage due to the extra stress on the smaller outdoor unit?

If that is the case why is Daikin offering an outdoor 18k BTU (3MKS50ESG) unit for its system 3 package? I had a look around and they are the only company doing this it seems. Rest of the competitors are all using at least a 26-28k BTU outdoor unit. :s11:

melankholy

a sales guy told me that even if the condenser is 27k, and you have 3 blowers that are for example 9k + 9k + 12k=30k, once the rooms are sufficiently cool, the blower wont be blowing at the maximum 9k hence 27k condenser is enough. Is this true? Just that the rooms will take a bit longer to cool if on all 3 at once

crankcase

To crankcase,

How big is ur living room?

Living area is divided into 2 portions:

1. 3.5m X 3.6m = 12.6 sqm = 135 sqft.
I want to put a 9k BTU unit here, which is likely to be used periodically (weekends etc)

2. 4.6m X 5.6m = 25.76 sqm = 277 sqft.
I want to put a 16-18k BTU unit here, which is likely to be used infrequently (in case of gatherings etc)

Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestions!

terumo

To crankcase,

1. 3.5m X 3.6m = 12.6 sqm = 135 sqft.
I want to put a 9k BTU unit here, which is likely to be used periodically (weekends etc)
This area requires ard 9k btu.

2. 4.6m X 5.6m = 25.76 sqm = 277 sqft.
I want to put a 16-18k BTU unit here, which is likely to be used infrequently (in case of gatherings etc)
This area requires a 12k/18k btu.

U can do with 2 fancoil or 1 x 18k/24k fancoil will do too.

terumo

To Tomelankholy,

For 9 + 9 + 12, if u on all 3 units @ the same time, all fcu will perform like a 9k btu fcu.

Depending on your room size, it might take longer to cool down, if you on all @ the same time.

9k btu can cool down ard 15-18 sqm.
12k btu can cool down ard 20-24sqm.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.