derrickgoh
But I thought that is in the service yard? In new flats the kitchen still got laundry rack meh?Simple...Kitchen getting too small, no place for bamboo poles...
Have to agree with this. I can see some flats they removed the bamboo pole holders and replace it with the metal racks, put bamboo poles on it will do.
I like the idea of clothes on top not dripping. Only thing is for old bamboo poles you can hang 6 poles outside. This type its only equal to 3 bamboo poles. Also, horizontally I think it doesn't catch much wind.
Anyone tried putting the storage/gas heater in the service yard? I read someone did it but I'm not sure if all service yards can or if he was lucky. But I heard washing machine and dryer can go in the service yard right? I think there is power supply, water tap and drainage hole.
If I get this type of flat I would most probably have sliding windows at the service yard. At least when its raining heavily I can shut the windows and not have the place soaking wet.
Actually this pic I attached is not too bad i.e. if heavy rain comes in it hits the wall. Have seen some service yard entrance facing the kitchen directly so if it rains and the door is open, sure to get wet kitchen floor.
Come to think of it, it kinda functions as a poor man's balcony too.![]()
But the three bars near the outside will kena the rain right?Also, if it rains, no worries at all![]()
I do that too. I use hangers for t-shirts, shirts and shorts. The rest are all on the pole. No lah no smell. If want to stretch the t-shirt or worse, the long sleeve shirt on the bamboo pole, you will need 50 poles. LOLI also use a lot more hangers to hang my wet clothes. Some people don't like this because they say the clothes will smell as everything is clustered together. But again, no problems so far.
But I would imagine 2nd to 4th floors are a bit risky still. Ideally would be good if the service yard faces another service yard or maybe the side of the building instead of the corridor but not all are like that.I also stay on a high floor which makes it very, very risky. If I were a burglar, the risks wouldn't be worth it, especially for the items typically stored in a HDB flat.
But the three bars near the outside will kena the rain right?
I do that too. I use hangers for t-shirts, shirts and shorts. The rest are all on the pole. No lah no smell.
But I would imagine 2 to 4 floors are a bit risky still.
Was thinking more of a condenser dryer. Assuming I do get one lah. But washing machine is confirm lah.I have a gas heater in my service yard. My friend too. No issues with the installation. Singapore Power will advise you on which models are available for HDB unit.
So its confirmed storage heater or gas heater can go in the service yard?What matters is which wall you place the heater on. If you want to buy stackable front-loader/dryer, then you should place the heater on the opposite wall.
Talking about lowering the rack, can you adjust the height? That means is it just all the way up and all the way down? Or you can decide how far down you want to lower and how far up you want to raise it? I see this string like thing, I wonder how to use it. LOL!But if you use a stackable front-loader/dryer, chances are you won't be able to lower the drying rack. Something to think about![]()
If the place is windy then don't need lah. Dryer is ex plus the electricity bill shoots up.For me, I had originally planned on installing a washer and dryer but in the end, I realised I don't need a dryer. Nice to have for sure, but won't die without one![]()
Was thinking more of a condenser dryer. Assuming I do get one lah. But washing machine is confirm lah.
So its confirmed storage heater or gas heater can go in the service yard?
Talking about lowering the rack, can you adjust the height? That means is it just all the way up and all the way down? Or you can decide how far down you want to lower and how far up you want to raise it? I see this string like thing, I wonder how to use it. LOL!
If the place is windy then don't need lah. Dryer is ex plus the electricity bill shoots up.
So there is literally a hook to tie the string around? Wah then if never tie properly wouldn't the whole rack come crashing down?String is like raising the flag on the flag pole..Works the same..
So there is literally a hook to tie the string around? Wah then if never tie properly wouldn't the whole rack come crashing down?
Thanks a lot. Wah so literally flag raising liao lor. Just as the flag can be raised and lowered to any height, same would apply (I guess) for the rack.You see that black object on the left side of the pic??
Yup, that's the tying part..Saw it at my friend's bto when i visited..Later after lunch i go find the blog which i came across the other time showing that..
If it's not too heavy and no strong winds, clothing outside is still sheltered by the ledge above..
Then those pics I saw must be from older BTO flats. But if there are grills, how do you access the 3 bars to hang your laundry? The grills can lock and unlock?Re: security, I think the units on the lower floors have additional security devices like grills etc. Even my high floor has a grill protecting my service yard.
Simple...Kitchen getting too small, no place for bamboo poles...
i meant this actually:
Then those pics I saw must be from older BTO flats. But if there are grills, how do you access the 3 bars to hang your laundry? The grills can lock and unlock?
So if want to install sliding window that means grill inside then window outside?
Mine is this type. Definitely safer than the old bamboo holder but still a risk. If the person putting it out has no strength or is clumsy the pole can still fall. But at least no worries about the poke breaking because got support at the other end. Problem of laundry dripping from above still applies.i meant this actually:
Then those pics I saw must be from older BTO flats. But if there are grills, how do you access the 3 bars to hang your laundry? The grills can lock and unlock?
So if want to install sliding window that means grill inside then window outside?
I think i will prefer this than the new one
Oh the grill is along the common corridor, outside your property. Because my service yard is adjacent to the common corridor. The grills also provide privacy.
You can still install a sliding window in your service yard. Many of my neighbours do that.