The Watch Thread - Part 6

chows99

i thought you not getting the local pam000 but waiting for europe?

strap info below:

Thanks bro !! I have thought thru and not gng Europe so soon. So I get it from thg. Dun wanna wait too long. Life's short. Hehe

coern

Thanks bro !! I have thought thru and not gng Europe so soon. So I get it from thg. Dun wanna wait too long. Life's short. Hehe

you learn fast! HFTL is the common practice in this forum. :s13:

gTaPNUz.jpg

yattokame

I like your socks leh, where did you buy them from? :D

Come my house tonight I tell you ;)
Slurrpp.

Hahaha.....

H&M $9.90 two pairs! :)

Edit: OHHHHHH u actually liked the pair I AM WEARING cos of my sweat and smell? You naughty boy. Let me whip u tonight.
LOL!!!!!

osirisx

fully agree. first thing came to my mind when I saw the question was: Brand.

If we are talking about Seiko, Citizen, Orient or entry Swiss made automatic watches like Tissot and Hamilton, then you can bring to reputable independent watch repair shops like K2.

iirc, there is another watch lover here who loves to collect very old vintage watches and repair them (Forget the nick),

But if your watch is other higher level luxury brands, then i will recommend you to bring back to the brand's AD or service center first. It might be slightly more expensive but at least you know if anything goes wrong, you know who to find and doesn't risk voiding the warranty.

Watch servicing very subjective. What brand is the watch? What movement? Parts easily available? What does the manufacturer service quote include? For a repair / service I prefer to send back to manufacturer as depending on brand, I get a 12 to 24 months warranty, swap out of worn or damage parts, and sometimes a polish to restore it to like new, plus pressure testing to factory spec. So basically if your watch is COSC certified, it will come back running within COSC spec. Peace of mind.

Its a tag heuer monaco, auto chronograph, warranty should be over
Svc ctr quoted 700+, k2 quoted below 300 but need to open to check to get an accurate quote

Some scratches here and there and a small hairline crack at the corner of the glass, which I don't think is included in the servicing
Any advice? k2 reliable? Not sure if they have the parts

yattokame

Tell me when your wife is awayy, I'll be there. :eek: ;)

Nice, didn't notice h and m sells them.

Wooohooo

Yeah it was serendipity. Was queueing up to pay for something else and saw them along the isle. Quite a few nice designs for sneakers too.

Just got two more pairs of diff designs 15mins ago.

All in a Day

Wooohooo

Yeah it was serendipity. Was queueing up to pay for something else and saw them along the isle. Quite a few nice designs for sneakers too.

Just got two more pairs of diff designs 15mins ago.

When are you getting some good work shoes to go with your funky socks and CLs!

Time to join the shoe thread - ballgag can be your trusted advisor!

yattokame

bo jio...my office at Chevron House opposite have Hour Glass and H&M - can kill two birds with one stone :D

Your bird, my bird.......whose stone? LOL ;)

Was at UOB actually ;)

When are you getting some good work shoes to go with your funky socks and CLs!

Time to join the shoe thread - ballgag can be your trusted advisor!

Eh these brown shoes cost me a grand total of..... $35. John little sale. LOL.
Still onto CL now. Brandwhore. Beh tahan.
But honestly working shoes i wun get too exp. Casual ones i dun mind. Cos i walk around A LOT and go to all sorts of places. Kek sim to spoil the shoes.

balzebub

Its a tag heuer monaco, auto chronograph, warranty should be over
Svc ctr quoted 700+, k2 quoted below 300 but need to open to check to get an accurate quote

Some scratches here and there and a small hairline crack at the corner of the glass, which I don't think is included in the servicing
Any advice? k2 reliable? Not sure if they have the parts
Tag I would go with manufacturer service centre. Cracked glass needs to be replaced as you don't know when the whole thing will give way and does the crack affect its water resistance? You paid thousands for the watch, $700 for a chrono service isn't too bad. Just need to ask what it includes. I would rather spend the money and get the watch in like new condition with 2 years warranty. Some will think me foolish but I view servicing as cost of ownership. Trust me when I say that a full service if done properly will breathe new life into your watch. Which will in turn provide many many years of good service if not abused.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.