Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Good morning WRX bro!

Today weather looks buey pai!

Gd morleng....my South side always not too good. Got a thin whitish veil one. AQI 139, 51 ug/m3.

Can't see Batam for nuts. Not even the outlines of the hills there against the sky.

I consider myself lucky if I can see the ships plying along the Western/Southern Corridor which is like about halfway bt SG and Batam. (now is can see a wee bit of the outline of the ships)

WussRedXLi

3M 9312. FFP-1 mask with valve. (>= 80% filtering efficiency @ 0.3 microns)

More suited for longer term use (eg > 30 mins) than the 3M 9210.
Eg use by pregnant women, whose lung capacity may be reduced in the first place from late 2nd trimester onwards.....so easier to get headaches during prolonged usage. Or the elderly who are > 70 yrs old.

For those who won't wanna buy from taobao, the UVEX 3210 which is essentially the same performance. (foldable FFP1 with valve)

NEW 10X 3M Masks Particulate Respirator 9312 FFP1 Easy Breath Valve Pack OF 10 | eBay

tremor

SIC lobang.

I just bought a whirlpool AP628W from rakuten.com.sg under mega discount store for $233 + $11 yamato delivery, you can choose to self collect at kallang to save $11.

Use MEGA15 at checkout to enjoy discount.

Damn worth it because outside selling at $319.

tremor

SIC lobang.

I just bought a whirlpool AP628W from rakuten.com.sg under mega discount store for $233 + $11 yamato delivery, you can choose to self collect at kallang to save $11.

Use MEGA15 at checkout to enjoy discount.

Damn worth it because outside selling at $319.
I just checked the discount code, expired liao, pai sei, but still selling at $275 which is still cheaper than outside by $40.

stonefish35

Despite the recent developments in the haze situation here....
air still feels fresh here and was really happy to land and step out of Changi Airport.

Was in North Eastern China earlier this week, as at 4th Nov night, AQI was 665 at my location, vs AQI of around 80 for Spore. After a corporate dinner, just a 5 mins wait for the car outside the restaurant, feels very high after breathing in the air of AQI665. Funny thing is, the visibility doesn't look as bad as PSI of around 100 , but the measurements really hit the roof.

The 7 days I was there, 3 days AQI hit over 600 plus. And the phenomenon only started last yr and this. Normally that city , is not as polluted as other provinces of China

WussRedXLi

Despite the recent developments in the haze situation here....
air still feels fresh here and was really happy to land and step out of Changi Airport.

Was in North Eastern China earlier this week, as at 4th Nov night, AQI was 665 at my location, vs AQI of around 80 for Spore.
After a corporate dinner, just a 5 mins wait for the car outside the restaurant, feels very high after breathing in the air of AQI665. Funny thing is, the visibility doesn't look as bad as PSI of around 100 , but the measurements really hit the roof.

The 7 days I was there, 3 days AQI hit over 600 plus. And the phenomenon only started last yr and this. Normally that city , is not as polluted as other provinces of China

You stepped out into relatively clean air liao. :D The last major episode of lousy air lasting more than 6 hours stopped around Monday (happened from Sunday 11am to Monday 12 noon). 4th Nov nighttime was quite clean liao, below 35 ug/m3 for all parts see below.

Maybe 5th Nov Wed lunch hour at most for that 2hrs or so and only for South so that's pretty localised (AQI 154). Nevertheless, it's a concern for pregnant women since it happened in the South during lunchtime. That was the last relatively considerable spike.

AQI 665 is happening, lets take that to be 500 ug/m3. But unless you have asthma or similar sensitivities that would be triggered within 5 mins of exposure, shouldn't be an issue. Still, it's best to err on the side of caution, especially with China's more toxic mix which is not exactly the same as SG's haze due to biomass burning hence no heavy metals and all those shiat.

5 mins of AQI 665 is the same exposure as 30 mins of short commute on a typical hazy day in SG @ 80 ug/m3 earlier in the week.

4th Nov
158108252.ubD9l65y.4novdd.jpg

2nd (Sun), 3rd (Mon) and 4th (Tue), ending on 4th Nov night time.
158108355.5EsgMbcj.234nov.jpg

stonefish35

You stepped out into relatively clean air liao. The last major episode of lousy air stopped around Monday. 4th Nov nighttime was relatively clean.

Maybe 5th Nov Wed lunch hour at most for that 2hrs or so and only for South so that's pretty localised (AQI 154).

4th Nov
158108252.ubD9l65y.4novdd.jpg

Yeah man, even during the worse 403 PSI episode last yr, also no fight for the AQI 665 that I had gone through man... and guess what, the manderin orange that I peel and ate in my room, left the skin on the coffee table in my hotel room.

5 hrs later after dinner, went back to my room seeing the skin had dried up, like crispy duck skin :eek: . Horrified at how dry it was, even with me humidifying the room with boiling of 3 kettle of water to release the steam into the room...

stonefish35

That said, the China air purifier industry is a usd14.1 bil one. :D

Yes man, the variety of purifier in PRC are alot.

The best part is, despite the AQI of 665, there are still alot of people smoking on the street, during meals in the 厢房 etc, even while we are having korean bbq.... oh man... why smoke.. just open mouth big big and suck in the normal air..... sibei high already....

WussRedXLi

Yeah man, even during the worse 403 PSI episode last yr, also no fight for the AQI 665 that I had gone through man... and guess what, the manderin orange that I peel and ate in my room, left the skin on the coffee table in my hotel room.

5 hrs later after dinner, went back to my room seeing the skin had dried up, like crispy duck skin :eek: . Horrified at how dry it was, even with me humidifying the room with boiling of 3 kettle of water to release the steam into the room...

I have gone to Beijing and Shanghai (you know, the typical guided tours) for 2X during winter. Indeed it's very dry there. Siberan winter ba.

7 million PRCs already dead due to air pollution related diseases/illnesses.

But then, tiong ish tiong.

Don't say them, 131 ug/m3 or AQI 190 over here in SG, families with young children and preggie ladies still out there bua long long playing and family outing at MBS. Wearing a mask is one thing, the recommendation is that they do not get exposed outside for too long as one tends to respire quicker + outside concentrations are higher than indoors for PM2.5....best is that you have air purifiers coz that is what makes the most difference in the long term as one can't be donning masks during hazy days for 8-12hrs a day.

Coz the haze level this year 2014 is "somewhat low", hence it's not getting the same coverage as last year. However, we are interested in the total exposure as well.

If you look at the cardiovascular disease and isochemic stroke Risk graph I posted just some 2-4 pages back, 60-80 ug/m3 levels vs PSI 401 levels (PM10 of 500 ug/m3 or PM2.5 of 300 ug/m3) is pretty close the same in terms of adjusted RR/relative risk. ie say Relative Risk of 1.4 for Singapore levels just last week and Relative Risk of 1.6 for Beijing's haze in terms of PM2.5. Layman speak - it takes just a wee bit of haze to spike the risk, and the risk flattens out when the haze thickens.

However, 2014 haze has been going on for 5X longer than 2013 if we use 35 ug/m3 as the basis of comparison.

Do the math. :crazy:

MY_20141007_HAZE07_P_718123.jpg

WussRedXLi

I just checked the discount code, expired liao, pai sei, but still selling at $275 which is still cheaper than outside by $40.

$233 would be nice for a mid-end air purifier. Contender for the $290 Samsung AX40.

You could get a whole bunch of Sharp A28 then at $99 and litter them all over the house. The only issue is not coz its filter is "only" HEPA-10 (which works for our haze also, no issue) but rather that it's noisy + not so energy efficient. But good for the occasional backup use to augment your main set and also put in the guest room or something. For me I use it in the living room and take it out only on hazy days (will probably be using that for a good number of yrs)

stonefish35

I have gone to Beijing and Shanghai (you know, the typical guided tours) for 2X during winter. Indeed it's very dry there. Siberan winter ba.

7 million PRCs already dead due to air pollution related diseases/illnesses.

But then, tiong ish tiong.

Don't say them, 131 ug/m3 or AQI 190 over here in SG, families with young children and preggie ladies still out there bua long long playing and family outing at MBS. Wearing a mask is one thing, the recommendation is that they do not get exposed outside for too long as one tends to respire quicker + outside concentrations are higher than indoors for PM2.5....best is that you have air purifiers coz that is what makes the most difference in the long term as one can't be donning masks during hazy days for 8-12hrs a day.

Coz the haze level this year 2014 is "somewhat low", hence it's not getting the same coverage as last year. However, we are interested in the total exposure as well.

If you look at the cardiovascular disease and isochemic stroke Risk graph I posted just some 2-4 pages back, 60-80 ug/m3 levels vs PSI 401 levels (PM10 of 500 ug/m3 or PM2.5 of 300 ug/m3) is pretty close the same in terms of adjusted RR/relative risk. ie say Relative Risk of 1.4 for Singapore levels just last week and Relative Risk of 1.6 for Beijing's haze in terms of PM2.5. Layman speak - it takes just a wee bit of haze to spike the risk, and the risk flattens out when the haze thickens.

However, 2014 haze has been going on for 5X longer than 2013 if we use 35 ug/m3 as the basis of comparison.

Do the math. :crazy:

Yeah man , indeed crazy. Amazed at all your technical data and calculations...
Anyway, heading back up North East in a couple of weeks... by then the temperature can hit -20~ -30 degrees.... :s22:

Casper

Received my AX40 today. Thanks WussRedXLi for the thumbs up.

Is it necessary to turn off the Virus Doctor? As in.. is there really concern on ozone emission for the AX40?
If it is, how do I turn off the Virus Doctor? Press the 3rd left button for 3sec? lights off means off? however, isn't this button also meant for resetting the filter?

Cheers

WussRedXLi

Yeah man , indeed crazy. Amazed at all your technical data and calculations...
Anyway, heading back up North East in a couple of weeks... by then the temperature can hit -20~ -30 degrees.... :s22:

Wah, chiu going Harbin or Heilongjiang area?

WussRedXLi

Received my AX40 today. Thanks WussRedXLi for the thumbs up.

Is it necessary to turn off the Virus Doctor? As in.. is there really concern on ozone emission for the AX40?
If it is, how do I turn off the Virus Doctor? Press the 3rd left button for 3sec? lights off means off? however, isn't this button also meant for resetting the filter?

Cheers

It's good to be wary of Ozone. But just to keep it short, you can be assured that Sharp, Samsung, LG ioniers ozone emission is very well below the recommended limit.

Just short tap the third button can liao. It's switched off by default.

As you can see here, many put out Ozone that's way below the recommended limit.

http://www.arb.ca.gov/research/indoor/aircleaners/certified.htm

WussRedXLi

BTW, ioniser does not equal to ozone. Look at Sharp's dedicated ion generator IG-CL15U, they put out a lot of ions to neutralise smell and stuff, but the ozone emission is extremely low.

158137470.VCQ16Da8.oz.jpg

Casper

It's good to be wary of Ozone. But just to keep it short, you can be assured that Sharp, Samsung, LG ioniers ozone emission is very well below the recommended limit.

Just short tap the third button can liao. It's switched off by default.

As you can see here, many put out Ozone that's way below the recommended limit.

California Certified Air Cleaning Devices

Roger that.

Thanks!!

stonefish35

Wah, chiu going Harbin or Heilongjiang area?

You nailed it bro, Harbin is the Provincial Capital of HLJ.

Was there earlier this week,hit max -7 degrees and even with wind chill factor still not as cold as 7 degrees in the southern side, eg Fujian area... as due to the humidity, the chill can hit your bone even with any wind.

WussRedXLi

You nailed it bro, Harbin is the Provincial Capital of HLJ.

Was there earlier this week,hit max -7 degrees and even with wind chill factor still not as cold as 7 degrees in the southern side, eg Fujian area... as due to the humidity, the chill can hit your bone even with any wind.

I think last night lagi worse, 700+ AQI evening time.

But on 4th Nov, I think other areas in HArbin within the few ring expressways were about 300-400 "nia". This area seems to get the worst pollution.

Along with PM2.5, there is also a lot of coarse particles PM10. Last year's haze, the hotspots were much closer than this year's, and PSI 401 was due to PM10 which is the higher component. PM2.5 was just lagging close behind though.

PM10 cannot travel for very far, eg > 200km and it drops considerably.

This year nearest fires is S Sumatra, some 700km away.

158137857.ZD0XBJvL.harbin.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.