Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 5

wackymaus75

you all got use the blinking mode on bike light? i find the blinking mode very hurt the eye at night if your light is bright. much prefer constant mode. but blinking mode longer battery burn time.

remember for lights there are those to see with and to be seen.

blinkies are to be seen, coz they catch attention.
constant are for you to see with...

smoothtalker

remember for lights there are those to see with and to be seen.

blinkies are to be seen, coz they catch attention.
constant are for you to see with...

haha i'm not talking about blinkers.. my cheap lezyne front light blinks fine. but I have those 500lu and the hope R4 1000lu light. when i put on flashing mode it hurts my eye. although they flash at about 200lu i suppose..

I wonder why they even put flashing mode as a feature in high power lights. totally not practical. as cyberet mentioned he prefers constant mode too.

I'mknotdumb!

Now school holiday many cheesepie Kia

Night riding no light yet they wanna speeding

Or full burst their lm light

patcheon

haha i'm not talking about blinkers.. my cheap lezyne front light blinks fine. but I have those 500lu and the hope R4 1000lu light. when i put on flashing mode it hurts my eye. although they flash at about 200lu i suppose..

I wonder why they even put flashing mode as a feature in high power lights. totally not practical. as cyberet mentioned he prefers constant mode too.

I put on 2 lights on my MTB, one in blinking mode (to be seen) and one constantly on (to see). The constantly on one would create at least gives a constant baseline brightness such that my pupil won't need to constantly open then trying to close up resulting in too much irritation when the blinking light goes on and off. Else the eyes keeps trying to keep adjusting to the on and off of the blinking light and cause a lot of discomfort.

Albedo

I took my bikes out for a wash last weekend, and saw this on my roadie wheel. Strange thing is, its only on the rear wheel left side.

what should i do? it feels sticky to touch...

XVbk9Vr.jpg

ee3UCMu.jpg

TIA.

SmilingDevil

I took my bikes out for a wash last weekend, and saw this on my roadie wheel. Strange thing is, its only on the rear wheel left side.

what should i do? it feels sticky to touch...

TIA.

Which series of pro4 tyres are these? How old are the tyres? Was it previously deflated for a long time?

Sadisticnoob

albedo , your bike long time no ride, plus left in direct exposure to sun at balcony for long period of time ?

Albedo

Which series of pro4 tyres are these? How old are the tyres? Was it previously deflated for a long time?

pro4 service course...
not old, i got them like earlier this year, in feb...
not deflated too...

albedo , your bike long time no ride, plus left in direct exposure to sun at balcony for long period of time ?

not direct exposure to sun since i hang my bike in living room away from windows, but i don't draw my curtains...
my front wheel is nearer to the sun if thats the case, but nothing like this on the front tyre leh. :s22::s22:

Xeon_sg

if you buying electronics components can try RS. free ship in sg. I always use them for electronic components. not sure about bike battery but they certainly have more than a few batteries

RS Singapore | World Leading Distributor of Electronics, Electromechanical and Industrial Components

Batteries... are ******* exp @ RS. :s13:
1 x CR2032 is $2?! I looked at the Value store... $1.95 for 5pcs.

i bought bulk power banks from volumerate (which is DX) 2weeks delivery.

my usual stuffs from dx, small electronic component usually shipped from HK is minimum 3weeks to arrive.

but urs is 2mths already...... something wrong....

Well, like i said... the 1st report to them, they confirmed is mail lost in transit. Not so sure what happened to the 2nd package. But whatever the case, I'm done with DX. :mad:

Xeon_sg

Now school holiday many cheesepie Kia

Night riding no light yet they wanna speeding

Or full burst their lm light

FULL of ** kias I agree... and not just at night. Rode in the DAYTIME... along GBTB, along the CYCLING TRACK. Hoards and hoards of ****** occupy the entire track like their own grandfather's road.

This XMM looked at her screen the entire time walking towards me, and i leaned to the side to bypass her... and w/o warning she made a sudden change in direction to the same side I'm heading to. End up i had to e-brake. KPKB at her for not looking where she's walking... and her eyes are still glue to the screen the ENTIRE TIME! She acted like nothing happened! And it felt as if I was an idiot making noise coz the surrounding pedestrians just turned their heads to look.

That's it. I'm so gonna get myself an air horn. :mad:

And for those who are going to cycle there, i advise you to install a camera to record and protect yourself if anything goes wrong. Majority of the pedestrians there are super inconsiderate, and I won't be surprised if their kids suddenly dash out and accidents happen... and the blame's on ya. :s22:

Sadisticnoob

tried to reduce the vibrations by clamping the clamp to the aerobar using duct tape but not working

toolbox03

Any decent foldable to recommend? Important is lightweight and speed

smoothtalker

Batteries... are ******* exp @ RS. :s13:
1 x CR2032 is $2?! I looked at the Value store... $1.95 for 5pcs.

haha. RS different quality laa. every product they sell got data sheet there. more for electronic people i guess. You can see the battery's discharge characteristics curve. the nominal voltage and capacity all inside

SmilingDevil

Thursday night ride 8 pm at big splash
Going to Punggol loop.
Half pcn, half road.
Speed 25 to 33km/h
80km

patcheon

Damn lucky...ride till Changi village at ard 2330 then chain break. Bike shops ard there all close liao. Gotta take cab back. Spent like 10mins trying to put the bike into the boot but rear pannier rack keeps blocking. End up take out both wheels and put frame into rear passenger seat. Reach home past midnight liao. Not sure if got incur midnight charges. :s22: Lucky chain did not break while on coastal. =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.