Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

marcoyeo

Anyone compared between non-inverter versus inverter air con before? I understand that inverter will cost more upfront. I am intending to air con just one bedroom since I just wanna cool down the bedroom before sleep. If you all have any experience, please share.

kimsim

Anyone compared between non-inverter versus inverter air con before? I understand that inverter will cost more upfront. I am intending to air con just one bedroom since I just wanna cool down the bedroom before sleep. If you all have any experience, please share.

Non inverter I though it has been discountied from R22 model.

The better go with inverter or non inverter with R410a gas.
Faster cooling down that room also use less energy.

Actually not much from between non vs inverter unit.
Let said usage for 8hrs daily x 30 days for non inverter enery clock on 6kw per day vs inverter just 3kw only.

Also depend how many bedroom you have.

terumo

To ZenArc,
20mm seems too big for hdb.

This clause is redundant.
4. Free One-Time Chemical Servicing + Free Gas Top-up (To be used within 3 months from installation date)
If u need chemical within 3 months of installation, means the envirnoment is super dirty like factory or cake bakery shop.
And if need to top up gas during warranty period, means high chance of leakage, they shouldn't top up gas for you, they should find the leakage & settle the issue for you.

There is no such thing as free installation, it has already been covered in the cost of the aircon.

If ur pipings are being boxed up, best is to go for 1/2 insulation.

kimsim

Bigger piping no good? Mine I think is 15mm. Always choke. Sianz..ed

25mm were better for use as main pipe, and the rest like FCU can be use 20mm for joint & connect together.

If using 15mm dia I guess is under size, not longer would be clogging jelly anytime

gentoro

25mm were better for use as main pipe, and the rest like FCU can be use 20mm for joint & connect together.

If using 15mm dia I guess is under size, not longer would be clogging jelly anytime

Oh tks. Noted.

Xeon_sg

Just got a quote from GC:

Mit Starmex Sys3 (3 x 9k + 24k)- $2979
Panasonic Envio Sys3 (3x 9k + 24k) - $2999

Comes with
23G copper piping
1/2" thinness insulation amarflex class 1
16mm drain pipe
4C40 wiring FCU to CU (Keystone)

Upgrade to 1/2" armaflex, need to top up $120.

Some questions:
  • Starmex vs Envio, which would be a model to get?
  • Is the 9k FCU sufficient for cooling the bedrooms (90sqm 4room BTO)? I saw some ppl opted for 12k FCU. Was told the upgrade cost from 9k - 12k is $50 or less.
  • Is the GC deal ok? (e.g is the armaflex upgrade overpriced?)

Or would it be cheaper/better to get those aircon specialist companies instead? Like Coolserve, CT Aircon, etc.

alvinzl

Very very bad experience with Gain City.

Bought Mitsubishi Starmex Sys 3 (2x9k and 1x12k) top up $120 for the upgrade insulation and also bought their extended warranty. System installed last friday 13/2/15.

After installing on all 3 aircon for about an hour or so and surprisingly all 3 aircon start to give out normal temperature air (just like normal blower) thought as system is new thus need some "warm" up.

Then on my master bed room throughout the night and can feels that its totally not giving out any cold air at all even when i put my hand near to the fin.

The next morning 14/2/14. I on and check the aircon in my living room (12k BTU) and to my horror water start spraying out from the system NOT dripping but spraying... I immediately off the aircon.

Called their service hotline the moment its available at 9am. And they arrange a technician to come down at around 11.30.

The technician came empty handed. On the 3 aircons see the flow and open the filter for the system at the living room after seeing water still dripping and close back telling me they can't do anything now and will get back to me next monday which is today as of writing 16/2/15. Guess what he left after around 10mins or so..

From some experience with aircon and getting a 2nd opinions from my renovation contractor. He feels the same as what i feels.... There's some wrong fittings of the inlet and outlet thus resulting in this scenario whereby on Aircon A its not cold but the cold air actually divert to B which is not on thus water condense. Or some major installation issues with the hoses.

Nevertheless they suppose to call em back on monday 16/2/15 to get back to me on the solution but i got to email plus call their service line again and explain the whole situation again to the poor customer service guy and verdict is they told me got to wait for Mitsubishi to get back to me and arrange a date for the repair.My new year in my new house will be in a mess as they told me Mitsubishi will get back to me in 3 days then arrange a date in god knows how many days for technicians to come down at my place for surveying and god knows again when can the system be repair or replace..

Told him my disappointment as firstly
-I can't on any of my aircon now as water will start to drip after switching off unless i on all 3 which will not have this problems

-Water will start to drip for a few hours whenever i on 1 or 2 aircon after switching off and thus inconvenience to my new house and also to my appliances.

I request Gain City to send a senior technician to check the installation works as me and my contractor suspect its due to the installation and not the system or both...

As of now still negotiating with the incharge who's handling my case. And most funny thing is he called and told me the guy on Sat 14/2/15 who left after around 10mins in his report that the installation work got no problem and i told the in charge on the phone how can he check the installation work by just opening the filter compartment of 1 unit and left after 10mins be consider a check.

Just receive a call. Gain city say they don't have manpower to come down to check the installation work again as it seem likely they believe the Sat guy actually do a through check written in his report. And told me to continue waiting for Mitsubishi personnel to call me.

Here's my plead for help and suggestions.

What can i do now other than waiting for Mitsubishi?

Should I request for 7 days money back guarantee?

Writing on their facebook page, email to their feedback@gaincity.com seem to be fruitless.

With the installation warranty, extended warranty what rights do i have as a consumer?

Really regret getting from gain city even though i pay a higher price but thought their workmanship gonna be good.... Should have gotten from other retailer instead....:(

Xeon_sg

Very very bad experience with Gain City.

Bought Mitsubishi Starmex Sys 3 (2x9k and 1x12k) top up $120 for the upgrade insulation and also bought their extended warranty. System installed last friday 13/2/15.

After installing on all 3 aircon for about an hour or so and surprisingly all 3 aircon start to give out normal temperature air (just like normal blower) thought as system is new thus need some "warm" up.

Then on my master bed room throughout the night and can feels that its totally not giving out any cold air at all even when i put my hand near to the fin.

The next morning 14/2/14. I on and check the aircon in my living room (12k BTU) and to my horror water start spraying out from the system NOT dripping but spraying... I immediately off the aircon.

Called their service hotline the moment its available at 9am. And they arrange a technician to come down at around 11.30.

The technician came empty handed. On the 3 aircons see the flow and open the filter for the system at the living room after seeing water still dripping and close back telling me they can't do anything now and will get back to me next monday which is today as of writing 16/2/15. Guess what he left after around 10mins or so..

From some experience with aircon and getting a 2nd opinions from my renovation contractor. He feels the same as what i feels.... There's some wrong fittings of the inlet and outlet thus resulting in this scenario whereby on Aircon A its not cold but the cold air actually divert to B which is not on thus water condense. Or some major installation issues with the hoses.

Nevertheless they suppose to call em back on monday 16/2/15 to get back to me on the solution but i got to email plus call their service line again and explain the whole situation again to the poor customer service guy and verdict is they told me got to wait for Mitsubishi to get back to me and arrange a date for the repair.My new year in my new house will be in a mess as they told me Mitsubishi will get back to me in 3 days then arrange a date in god knows how many days for technicians to come down at my place for surveying and god knows again when can the system be repair or replace..

Told him my disappointment as firstly
-I can't on any of my aircon now as water will start to drip after switching off unless i on all 3 which will not have this problems

-Water will start to drip for a few hours whenever i on 1 or 2 aircon after switching off and thus inconvenience to my new house and also to my appliances.

I request Gain City to send a senior technician to check the installation works as me and my contractor suspect its due to the installation and not the system or both...

As of now still negotiating with the incharge who's handling my case. And most funny thing is he called and told me the guy on Sat 14/2/15 who left after around 10mins in his report that the installation work got no problem and i told the in charge on the phone how can he check the installation work by just opening the filter compartment of 1 unit and left after 10mins be consider a check.

Just receive a call. Gain city say they don't have manpower to come down to check the installation work again as it seem likely they believe the Sat guy actually do a through check written in his report. And told me to continue waiting for Mitsubishi personnel to call me.

Here's my plead for help and suggestions.

What can i do now other than waiting for Mitsubishi?

Should I request for 7 days money back guarantee?

Writing on their facebook page, email to their feedback@gaincity.com seem to be fruitless.

With the installation warranty, extended warranty what rights do i have as a consumer?

Really regret getting from gain city even though i pay a higher price but thought their workmanship gonna be good.... Should have gotten from other retailer instead....:(

Sound quite jialat. Which GC branch did you sign up at?

alvinzl

Just an update. A technician came down on Sat 14/2/15 and left after 10mins saying to refer back to agent Mitsubishi for rectification and wait for their call.

On Monday 16/2/15 I call Gain City up when i never receive any calls. This time round i request for a senior technician to come and check my installation thoroughly but after they check the service report from the technician on Sat. They claim and told me the it was not due to installation but the aircon unit and thus already refer to agent.

I was pretty upset as i get some opinion from some of my company inhouse air con maintenance team and all told me its due to fault in installation. After numerous emails exchanges and phone with Gain City management, customer service and feedback department. I finally gotten a call at around 8pm with their installation manager who arrange for a technician to come down today.

Technician came today and after some check and testing concluded its really due to mis connection to the outdoor compressor during the installation and thus resulting in the problem.

After less than an hour of work. All my aircons now working as intended.

But from this episode. I have lost my trust in Gain City. SO much for being professionalism as listed in their company core values and the way they trying to push the blame towards the Agent Mitsubishi initially till the honest technician send down tome as arrange by their manager admit to their mistake. This i must give them a thumb up.

Windowlover

Plan to change my air con after CNY, from here alot of review for Mit Starmex, my current is old Daikin set and servicing me for past 15 year without problem. but current last few servicing like topping up gas is expensive + servicing, plan to replace with Daikin again... Mit Starmex is better option than daikin ?:s22:

habsters

Deciding between Sys 3 Mit Heavy Industry and Mit Elec Starmex, which one is better?

Am quite attracted by the power efficiency of the MHI compressor, and the easy cleaning of the Starmex. Am looking one of high efficiency (cost saving) and reliability, roughly how much does it cost a month to operate one living room aircon (assuming 2 hours a day) and two bedroom aircons (10 hours a day)? First time buying multisplit aircon so not sure if it would be expensive to operate...

kimsim

Deciding between Sys 3 Mit Heavy Industry and Mit Elec Starmex, which one is better?

Am quite attracted by the power efficiency of the MHI compressor, and the easy cleaning of the Starmex. Am looking one of high efficiency (cost saving) and reliability, roughly how much does it cost a month to operate one living room aircon (assuming 2 hours a day) and two bedroom aircons (10 hours a day)? First time buying multisplit aircon so not sure if it would be expensive to operate...

Look at specs of MHI maybe slightly better than ME, but in term of quality and realiable still on ME, even my friend was Aircon installer also saying on ME is a better Aircon than MHI & Daikin

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
Look at specs of MHI maybe slightly better than ME, but in term of quality and realiable still on ME, even my friend was Aircon installer also saying on ME is a better Aircon than MHI & Daikin

That's strange because I've met more aircon installers/maintenance guys telling me that Daikin is better than Mitsubishi.

I guess everyone has different experiences.

kimsim

That's strange because I've met more aircon installers/maintenance guys telling me that Daikin is better than Mitsubishi.

I guess everyone has different experiences.

Daikin spare parts expansive but not last & realiable too.

Not sure lah, maybe is depend luck also.

kimsim

After visit relative house, they used MHI the FCU and design so so only, the quality not up to ME.

7C50214F-A96F-4205-92C3-595ED0BB5443_zpsvrln6pid.jpg

aunty lucy

Very bad service , be careful !

numix wrote:

Dear all

please think twice or even thrice if you were to engage "EDDIE" to fix your AC !!

I suspected he or the gf is posting some fake "self-promoting" threads in the forum here

The contact is either +6596119717 or +6581134479

I have very very bad experience with this "EDDIE" recently after engaging his service

So be careful guys !!
yes !U are right !!! So many of them "self-promoting'' in here talk like friend but working **** . add like very experience and helpful answer and replay question in here . all just want to give work in here . why hardwarezone still didn't block them ?
( xxxcoolservices and Terumxx and Kimsixx)

Be careful of them !

kimsim

numix wrote:

Dear all

please think twice or even thrice if you were to engage "EDDIE" to fix your AC !!

I suspected he or the gf is posting some fake "self-promoting" threads in the forum here

The contact is either +6596119717 or +6581134479

I have very very bad experience with this "EDDIE" recently after engaging his service

So be careful guys !!
yes !U are right !!! So many of them "self-promoting'' in here talk like friend but working **** . add like very experience and helpful answer and replay question in here . all just want to give work in here . why hardwarezone still didn't block them ?
( xxxcoolservices and Terumxx and Kimsixx)

Be careful of them !

Lol

Anyway free consultant fee also get trouble..

Happy CNY

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.