Air purifier?

plasticpistola

If you don't have access to the taobao HEPA filters and wanna keep your budget low, just change when there is any slight smell coming from the outlet. The smell between a fresh filter and even a moderately used one is quite telling. But most people would not know coz "gotten used to the smell liao".

HEPA can filter the aerosolised droplets containing the viruses/germs. No issue. Flu virus matter (eg the widest spread H5N1 is 0.1 microns), HEPA can also filter to a decent degree even if its Taobao ones (Samsung ones tested to do 99% @ 0.1 micron). That's why I recommend people to oversize their air purifiers whenever possible if budget allows. Don't worry if the HEPA does not catch all during the first pass, it would bring it down to below threshold for infection after some time.

50250 damn noisy lah.

Ya man, especially turn on on high, walao machiam like got generator inside the room :s22:

mikeeeey

Sharp models have way below permitted limits for Ozone. For babies, seriously just don't turn it on lah.

Remember, for babies, you can practically just times 2 of the current ug/m3. ie 35 ug/m3 wouldn't bother healthy adults.
But it'd be like 70 ug/m3 for them + during their growing up phase. Which is like PSI 110.

How about the VirusDoctor in AX40? Does it use negative ions also? Safe for babies?

chuanz

Ya man, especially turn on on high, walao machiam like got generator inside the room :s22:

That time 2013 I was unprepared for haze. Had to make do with the generator in MBR... Lol. Other than the CADR, there's nothing else to be desired about.

chuanz

How about the VirusDoctor in AX40? Does it use negative ions also? Safe for babies?

Yes negative ions. The ions are harmless but the question is whether or not ozone is generated as a byproduct. But for modern air purifiers that do, the level is very very low. Personally, I just leave it off (for all my A28E, AX40 and NAP620). I need the air filtering capability, not so much the negative ions.

chuanz

North side got faint haze smell and visibility is definitely not corresponding to 24ug/m3. Nor the sub 20s throughout the night.

WussRedXLi

No appreciable ozone emission for al these brands (they use the same generator/devices). Safe for newborns/infants, I haven't googled for this exact query.

Plasmacluster is not the same as negative ion, I think that is a mixture of positive and negative ion. Why they don't neutralise each other, I don't know. But individuals need to read up on the effect. I just know that Sharp Plasmacluster function can damage close to 100% H5N1 in a study they did. Whether or not this is marketing fluff and useful in your room size, requirement and setting, the individual decides.

But HEPA is confirmed able to filter or at least reduce very dramatically for the lower grades of HEPA, when used at the appropriate airflow and maintain a good Air Change/Hr.

Seriously, I think you do not have to worry about flu and virus spread via droplet infection at home lah. Worry about it in the public air-conditioned crowded places and aircraft cabin. Aircraft cabin is extremely susceptible to catch these things. And of coz, hospital A&E areas, GP waiting room.
Remember it spreads by contact too. Do not touch and remember to wash hands when you see some buggers who are super down with cough/sneezing and due to work commitments who won't take MC (can't be helped in today's biz climate).

If stuck in a small meeting room with 3 such person, then cant be helped if you don't have N95 and you have 2 babies at home. :D

nachos999

Hi guys just wondering if anyone could advise me on what should I get if my room is constantly always dusty. Not looking at those very expensive ones as my room is quite small.. Would really appreciate for any help :)

WussRedXLi

North side got faint haze smell and visibility is definitely not corresponding to 24ug/m3. Nor the sub 20s throughout the night.

Thanks for updating. I think north side you have lots of experience esp 2014 haze and 2015 Feb tg langsat landfill fire.

WussRedXLi

Hi guys just wondering if anyone could advise me on what should I get if my room is constantly always dusty. Not looking at those very expensive ones as my room is quite small.. Would really appreciate for any help :)

Buy 99 cents that Amazon Duck brand PU foam aircon filter. Abt 100 microns. Switch on aircon fan to high.

But still will have dust, generated be bedsheets and mkvement in the room etc. Those are very big n heavy particles. Wont be suspended for long in the air.

For powder type dust, you need. HEPA air purifier liao. Still it wont help a lot like let you skip cleaning to once every 2 weeks.

I will bring up previously discussed topic again. If you are veside any expressway and major heavy traffic roads, be it you have healthy adults or kids/elderly/medical condition patients, you WILL need air purifiers.

chuanz

Fuzzy SG v2 is live! Sorry guys, still no fancy charting like the Thai site.

- supports multiple consecutive days chart
- maximize chart to width of browser (if you need to take a screenshot, just shrink the browser width and refresh the chart)
- fully migrated to Google Spreadsheet as the back-end data store
- ... which means that data is now not live but refreshed from NEA page every 15 mins (don't wanna hit their server too frequently)
- eliminated necessity for Yahoo! Data Query service (causing some issues last year and also recently before I patched the site)

If you are getting a cached copy of the page, just hit "F5". Page title should read "Fuzzy SG v2"

Fuzzy SG v2

tmkedmw

Thanks for the v2.

When looking at multiple days, eg 1 week, graph becomes quite cluttered and not easy to differentiate betn the N,S,E,W,C lines.

If displayed graph can be filtered by a region, it will make long term graph more readable.

chuanz

Yeah, it's on my to-do list for Fuzzy. Need a little time as have to rework some of v1's code (e.g. N/S/E/W/C were hard coded).

drifting

Actually anyone staying opposite the tg langsat site? Am wondering if the burning is still taking place? Can't be right cos so many weeks liao

WussRedXLi

Actually anyone staying opposite the tg langsat site? Am wondering if the burning is still taking place? Can't be right cos so many weeks liao

Not likely with the super heavy showers for quite a few times, also the affected regions are for all regions INCLUDING literally whole of Malaysia for last week.

rollanddie

Guys, wanna check if anyone uses air cooler? How is it ah? Any reviews?? :D

785211ec-afb1-4e1f-912e-c5c5fc8c7f8a.gif
something like this.

Sorry if I'm asking in the wrong thread!

Sent from Nokia 8250 using GAGT

Niaoson

Any recommendations for a good air purifier?

Always monitor the NEA page and they show the PSI to be normal but I keep smelling the hazy/smoky smell! Very sure it's not my mind playing tricks on me! :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.