Air purifier?

plasticpistola

Clean Air Delivery Rate. It's a metric by Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM) and in use for all air purifiers sold in US. Over here we just use air flow (m3/hr). They technically mean different things but would be very close for air purifiers using HEPA filters.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clean_Air_Delivery_Rate

Ah ok thanks!

Guys, wanna check if anyone uses air cooler? How is it ah? Any reviews?? :D

785211ec-afb1-4e1f-912e-c5c5fc8c7f8a.gif
something like this.

Sorry if I'm asking in the wrong thread!

Sent from Nokia 8250 using GAGT

I've an air cooler - the kind you need to fill it with ice to get cool air.

Basically if the weather is really hot then it's pretty much useless, which means it useless most of the time lol. It's also very bulky n takes up a fair bit of space.

End up it's in the storeroom cos I'm back to using my trusty Panasonic fan when I dun turn on the AC.

WussRedXLi

Is humidifier necessary for a master bedroom with aircon on 24/7?

If you set it below 25 deg C, maybe so for those who are sensitive to dry air (eyes, skin, upper respiratory tract etc). If not, nope.

Why? If you have a hygrometer and put it in your room IRL, you'd know why.

WussRedXLi

Guys, wanna check if anyone uses air cooler? How is it ah? Any reviews?? :D

785211ec-afb1-4e1f-912e-c5c5fc8c7f8a.gif
something like this.

Sorry if I'm asking in the wrong thread!

If you are @ Chiang Mai or NE Thailand, it's a real good idea.

38 deg C, 15% RH. Dew Point 7 deg C. With those big evaporative air coolers with huge wicks + low fan speed, you can expect air outlet temperatures range of low 10 degs C, as good as an air conditioner here. :D Not too bad in 38 deg C weather blowing the air directly at ya and it helps with the dryness also.

http://www.wunderground.com/history...reqdb.zip=00000&reqdb.magic=1&reqdb.wmo=48327

Over here, not really. It's literally useless and waste $$$. The water wick smells after a period of time and is a good breeding ground for bacteria coz it takes like a few hours to make it dry after emptying the tank. In low RH countries, less than 15 mins dry liao. :D

Not kidding, in Beijing hotel room during winter, even though it was cold at 20 deg C room temp, a wet t-shirt can be dry within an hour. Hotter weather and under the sun lagi better.

WussRedXLi

Any recommendations for a good air purifier?

Always monitor the NEA page and they show the PSI to be normal but I keep smelling the hazy/smoky smell! Very sure it's not my mind playing tricks on me! :s22:

Today just before the state funeral (stormy weather, weird winds?), West hit a high of 42 and 49 ug/m3. Funny, coz only the west spiked. 49 ug/m3 1hr PM2.5 concentration raw data, there's no official conversion to AQI or PSI but just taje it that's AQI 134 or PSI 93 very short term of 1hr. (actually 2hrs for West)

There's no issue for even sensitive folks coz it's very short duration and not high enough a level. Unless extremely sensitive folks.

After that evening time, South and Central see-sawed a bit in the 30+ ug/m3 regions.

Maybe you have a sensitive nose also, but that's not good quality air, albeit very transient in nature. Not sure where's the source.

Too early to tell now, but El Nino could be poised to rear its ugly effects on Indonesian haze again.

My fav here are the LG LA-Q379SB and Samsung AX40. Buy from Qoo10

Niaoson

Today just before the state funeral (stormy weather, weird winds?), West hit a high of 42 and 49 ug/m3. Funny, coz only the west spiked. 49 ug/m3 1hr PM2.5 concentration raw data, there's no official conversion to AQI or PSI but just taje it that's AQI 134 or PSI 93 very short term of 1hr. (actually 2hrs for West)

There's no issue for even sensitive folks coz it's very short duration and not high enough a level. Unless extremely sensitive folks.

After that evening time, South and Central see-sawed a bit in the 30+ ug/m3 regions.

Maybe you have a sensitive nose also, but that's not good quality air, albeit very transient in nature. Not sure where's the source.

Too early to tell now, but El Nino could be poised to rear its ugly effects on Indonesian haze again.

My fav here are the LG LA-Q379SB and Samsung AX40. Buy from Qoo10

Actually I was referring to a few nights ago, not this afternoon :o

But thanks for the recommendation! Will check them out! :D

rollanddie

Ah ok thanks!

I've an air cooler - the kind you need to fill it with ice to get cool air.

Basically if the weather is really hot then it's pretty much useless, which means it useless most of the time lol. It's also very bulky n takes up a fair bit of space.

End up it's in the storeroom cos I'm back to using my trusty Panasonic fan when I dun turn on the AC.

38 deg C, 15% RH. Dew Point 7 deg C. With those big evaporative air coolers with huge wicks + low fan speed, you can expect air outlet temperatures range of low 10 degs C, as good as an air conditioner here. :D Not too bad in 38 deg C weather blowing the air directly at ya and it helps with the dryness also.

http://www.wunderground.com/history...reqdb.zip=00000&reqdb.magic=1&reqdb.wmo=48327

Over here, not really. It's literally useless and waste $$$. The water wick smells after a period of time and is a good breeding ground for bacteria coz it takes like a few hours to make it dry after emptying the tank. In low RH countries, less than 15 mins dry liao. :D

Not kidding, in Beijing hotel room during winter, even though it was cold at 20 deg C room temp, a wet t-shirt can be dry within an hour. Hotter weather and under the sun lagi better.
Wa, it's that bad ah. Moi still thought of hooting one and try since the promoter promote till got dragon got tiger :D :D

Thanks guys!

mikeeeey

If you set it below 25 deg C, maybe so for those who are sensitive to dry air (eyes, skin, upper respiratory tract etc). If not, nope.

Why? If you have a hygrometer and put it in your room IRL, you'd know why.
Thanks

I dont have a hygrometer. Was worried that my room will be too dry cos of the constant aircon.

plasticpistola

Ya not to mention really messy cos mine is those with the water tanks at the bottom.

Gotta pull it out, add water/ice then push it back in. The floor will be damn wet every single time.

plasticpistola

Wa, it's that bad ah. Moi still thought of hooting one and try since the promoter promote till got dragon got tiger :D :D

Thanks guys!

The promoters will demo how cool the air from an air cooler is, but of cos la, you turn on an air cooler in an aircon environment of cos the air will be cool.

The other time got one sales guy from Courts - I was asking him about air cooler and he whispered "don't waste your money, doesn't work one."

Lol damn honest.

wongminmin

Any recommendations for a good air purifier?

Always monitor the NEA page and they show the PSI to be normal but I keep smelling the hazy/smoky smell! Very sure it's not my mind playing tricks on me! :s22:

Xiaomi - Air Purifier

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi

WHO standard
Annual mean : PM2.5 not more than 10 ug/m3
24-hr mean : PM2.5 not more than 25 ug/m3

http://www.arb.ca.gov/desig/pm25desig/pm25desig.htm
US EPA standard (more lax)
Annual mean : PM2.5 not more than 12 ug/m3
24-hr mean : PM2.5 not more than 35 ug/m3

Note : The annual standards are for the general healthy population as a whole, (excludes infants/elderly/those with sicknesses) etc.

Singapore past 6 months data
West total average = 18.6 ug/m3
East total average = 18.1 ug/m3
South total average = 17.2 ug/m3
North total average = 16.3 ug/m3

159586867.4eLEjTVQ.6mths.jpg

pie

Is it normal to experience static discharge when touching the unit? Have a Novita NAP 620...

chuanz

Is it normal to experience static discharge when touching the unit? Have a Novita NAP 620...

I encountered that too. It's caused by the negative ions. Once you turn off the anions function it'll no longer happen (it worked for me)

nYOYnPS.jpg
RblZPF9.png

chuanz

It's kinda stupid coz the control buttons are like chrome plated (shiny silver plastic) and it's above the air outlet so I guess the charges build up over time.

laironpark

IFAN air purifier - model IF3232

Hi guys, I intend to get an air purifier for one of my bedrooms. Being checking out the stores ans spotted this brand IFAN model no IF3232 selling for $199. This is my first time buying one, so would like some opinion abt this particular item. Thanks.

http://www.ifan.com.sg/ifan/if3232

Ximple

WHO standard
Annual mean : PM2.5 not more than 10 ug/m3
24-hr mean : PM2.5 not more than 25 ug/m3

US EPA standard (more lax)
Annual mean : PM2.5 not more than 12 ug/m3
24-hr mean : PM2.5 not more than 35 ug/m3

Note : The annual standards are for the general healthy population as a whole, (excludes infants/elderly/those with sicknesses) etc.

Singapore past 6 months data
West total average = 18.6 ug/m3
East total average = 18.1 ug/m3
South total average = 17.2 ug/m3
North total average = 16.3 ug/m3

At this rate, rooks rike Sg ish gonna bust both the safety limits. :eek:

WussRedXLi

At this rate, rooks rike Sg ish gonna bust both the safety limits. :eek:

Ard there lah...actually our annual air quality have been ranging betwee 16 and 18ug/m3. I rem 2004 it was a bit higher @ 21 ug/m3.

2015 should have a decent chance to be interesting. El Nino 2015 seems to be shaping up nicely. (El Nino brings dry weather to this region incld Indonesia, PSI 226 in 1997 was due to an El Nino period for eg, among others)

First supertyphoon of the season right now in Western Pacific region, Cat 5 Supertyphoon Maysak. It's not common to have a supertyphoon in Jan, Feb, Mar. It needs pretty warm surface waters to drive such storms to Cat 5 strength.

>>does anyone know the record of the early season Category 5 typhoons in the Western Pacific?

>>>>>
2002 Super Typhoon Mitag during the first week of March.
One key thing to notice: All seasons with an April (or before) super typhoon were all at least moderate El Niño years... (1997, 2002)

http://www.storm2k.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=117156&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=380

gtRvBSI.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.