Whats your expected or target return for 2015?

Obama486

What did singaporeans complain about that affected the stock market?

Anyway, measures to curb the not necessarily bad mah. Otherwise when the bad times come, people will really go jump. For instance, I feel China needs some cooling measures before the whole thing explodes.

China from 2000 points going towards 5000 liao, like 1 year plus nia... this kinda bull... is test their people's level of greed

more millionaires borned everyday in china, till the bubble bursts...

dunno if China market crash, our SG market will affected or not sia

I worry about my bank stocks, my OCBC got china exposure.. but UOB don;t have much... so quite balanced

Obama486

These two links are very misleading, and in my opinion very wrong. Read investopedia and other more reputable webbies as listed on my previous post.

there's always 2 sides to a coin ma hahaha
i just share share for discussion nia

I neither bearish nor bullish on rate hikes, for me I have allocated my portfolio in a way that overall the companies should maintain their earnings and continue to give me decent dividends ^_^

as for reits, I prefer those with low gearing (less than 30%)
good debt portfolio (spread out over 10 years)
quality assets (good location, A grade office for example)
selling below book (margin of safety)

cheers

winorlose

During 2007 cct was over $2.50

They only did 1 rights issue in 2009 1for1 @$0.59 due to GFC

mas want to keep sgd strong because we are net import country.. But hurting alot of businesses who are export heavy

Obama486

During 2007 cct was over $2.50

They only did 1 rights issue in 2009 1for1 @$0.59 due to GFC

mas want to keep sgd strong because we are net import country.. But hurting alot of businesses who are export heavy

hope no more rights issue riao

no more cash LOL

winorlose

Bobby.. Means u havnt gone through any sino/china stocks saga yet.. Haha no problem la.. To learn u need to give tuition fees to the mkt..

Its sad that the china stocks in sgx already smelly until no one want to touch liao.. Now Sse already 5000.. If all china sgx stocks follow sse, worth 100 p/e pple also whack. Too bad name smelly liao haha

there's always 2 sides to a coin ma hahaha
i just share share for discussion nia

I neither bearish nor bullish on rate hikes, for me I have allocated my portfolio in a way that overall the companies should maintain their earnings and continue to give me decent dividends ^_^

as for reits, I prefer those with low gearing (less than 30%)
good debt portfolio (spread out over 10 years)
quality assets (good location, A grade office for example)
selling below book (margin of safety)

cheers

SPH REIT owner spotted :o

winorlose

Yea im small vested in sphreit too.. 10k shares only.. Hope they faster makan seletar mall to increase dpu.. 100% leased somemore

Obama486

Bobby.. Means u havnt gone through any sino/china stocks saga yet.. Haha no problem la.. To learn u need to give tuition fees to the mkt..

Its sad that the china stocks in sgx already smelly until no one want to touch liao.. Now Sse already 5000.. If all china sgx stocks follow sse, worth 100 p/e pple also whack. Too bad name smelly liao haha

our S-chips so smelly until... china man also dun consider them china stocks lor hahahaha

Obama486

US red red... tmr STI maybe red red too

CCT and M1....... Nooooooooooooo

The-Dutch-burn-English-ships-during-the-expedition-to-Chatham-Raid-on-Medway-1667Jan-van-Leyden-1669.jpg

Darkzi0n

Evidence suggest otherwise, if you actually read whay Obama486 posted. REITs are equities, and equities rose 12 times out of the last 14 times the feds raised interest, according to http://www.fool.sg/2015/05/21/how-would-stocks-perform-when-interest-rates-rise/. The second link he posted also showed that the correlation between REITS and Bonds are zero, and bonds are of course strongly correlated with interest rates.

In the end all the theorizing is pointless. I believe in the data, and that is my explanation of the data. It is fine if you disagree. But if I were to bet on the price of a REIT 6 months to a year from an interest rate increase, I will personally not bet that the prices will drop on average.

Can explain the part about the correlation between bond and REIT being near zero? The blog did not give any detail about how he derived the claim (based on whxih years result?) And the supporting sentence in the blog does not make any economic sense.

Asphodeli

different people different views ba, some say when interest rates go up, reits will crash

others think that interest rates go up means we in a strong economy

http://letsgetrichtogethersg.blogspot.sg/2015/05/interest-rates-have-very-little-effect.html

http://gotmoneygothoney.blogspot.sg/2015/05/reit-symposium-2015-post-mortem.html

the above 2 links I shared is quite a good read, but only when interest rates go up then we will know ba

new few years.. see how it goes

for me out of my 8 holdings, only 2 are reits or related
CCT and ARA.. I wouldn't go all-in into reits
but neither do i wanna miss out on this asset class

so I bet a bit on reits, good enough for me riao hahaha

The data seems to agree for Singapore also...

CapitaMall Trust, first REIT listed in SGX
https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=C38U.SI#symbol=C38U.SI;range=my

SIBOR rates
http://www.moneysmart.sg/home-loan/sibor-trend

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.