Xiaomi redmi note

stonefish35

updated yesterday... finally had the time to try out a bit this evening. Have not found any major bugs at the moment. Initial impressions.... i) phone definitely feels snappier; ii) basic functions (whatsapp, facebook, youtube etc) works well; iii) battery life seems to be on par as previous (did not experience the crazy drain i had when upgrading note 4 & z ultra to lollipop).

Thanks for the review... will wait for my OTA.. haha.. despite gotten my Note at the 1st sale 1 yr ago.... no rush.. but recent the phone seems laggy...

seasonscrystal

The default camera app ? There are tons of other camera apps out there. Unless you are saying ALL cam apps settings cannot change...

Yes there are another apps that can do that, but if the default cam app in miui 5 can change resolution, why can't they do the same for miui 6? Like taking a step backwards. :s13:

stonefish35

Yes there are another apps that can do that, but if the default cam app in miui 5 can change resolution, why can't they do the same for miui 6? Like taking a step backwards. :s13:

You gotta remember. This is a Tiong Brand $199 phone. Can update we already 赚到 liao.

Like the initial, cannot save photos to Micro SD card issue.... just wait for the updates to resolve lor...

Cheap , Good , Fast, choose any 2.

For me, Note is cheap and reasonably good. So any updates is not going to be fast.

My Nexus7II, is Good and Fast, not cheap though....

seasonscrystal

You gotta remember. This is a Tiong Brand $199 phone. Can update we already 赚到 liao.

Like the initial, cannot save photos to Micro SD card issue.... just wait for the updates to resolve lor...

Cheap , Good , Fast, choose any 2.

For me, Note is cheap and reasonably good. So any updates is not going to be fast.

My Nexus7II, is Good and Fast, not cheap though....

You got to remember also that Redmi Note 4G is still in sales and the same function is missing from their miui 6 also. It's not like a discontinued product :s13:

I never think the redmi note is cheap or good or fast. It was just one of the value for money, with the expectation there'll be roms for future. :s13:

Xiaomi started from miui. They were giving hopes to discontinued or outdated phones that no longer gets updates. It's just that now they kept producing products that people (or themselves) no longer remember their core which is miui.

They do weekly developer updates (used to have a stable version every month or 2) where to keep adding new functions, so whatever missing now doesn't mean it'll be missing in future update. But users have to reflect out what is missing or needed. Like the double tap wake function which is highly voted on forum, will likely to be added in future updates as the Mi series are getting them on their miui 6.:s12:

halocast

i find that redmi note is one of the best value phone to come out of xiaomi.

:o

none of the other models from xiaomi comes close imo.

the only problem was the miui which was outdated.

now with miui 6.. the phone is better than before :D

Cissiboy

having said that it is kitkat 4.4 not lollipop, anyone can tell me if AT THIS MOMENT is it better the global rom just released or the weekly one i always installed on my wife's phone from xiaomi.eu ?

halocast

having said that it is kitkat 4.4 not lollipop, anyone can tell me if AT THIS MOMENT is it better the global rom just released or the weekly one i always installed on my wife's phone from xiaomi.eu ?

think the dev rom is more updated.

if u want continuous updates and features.. stick with the dev rom :s12:

Just Me

For those who flashed the global rom : miui_HMNoteWGlobal_V6.6.1.0.KHDMICF_2cd3e1148c_4.4.zip

Does it come with google play? Here's a mirror (not uploaded by me)
chrome://mega/content/secure.html#!MIQGWCTb!apqc4eOqxfGH_t0yX9LaAxTDe0LycCJKBvS1t9HVUA4

seasonscrystal

For those who flashed the global rom : miui_HMNoteWGlobal_V6.6.1.0.KHDMICF_2cd3e1148c_4.4.zip

Does it come with google play? Here's a mirror (not uploaded by me)
chrome://mega/content/secure.html#!MIQGWCTb!apqc4eOqxfGH_t0yX9LaAxTDe0LycCJKBvS1t9HVUA4

Yes comes with gapps

halocast

I'm on miui 5.
My ota still says I'm running the latest miui.
Why hah?

OTA will take time to spread out.

either u patiently wait or u go get the rom from the miui forums.

now they got a google link.. so can get easily :s12:

im updating now as i write this :s12:

couldn't wait for OTA :s13:

hyper_megaman

i find that redmi note is one of the best value phone to come out of xiaomi.

:o

none of the other models from xiaomi comes close imo.

the only problem was the miui which was outdated.

now with miui 6.. the phone is better than before :D
i agree

sadly xiaomi is now taking on flagship-level phones

the mi note is expensive sia. it's more powerful than galaxy note 4, but walau eh it's definitely a departure from what the redmi note stood for

halocast

want to update but scare got cock ups or bugs (due to nt so gd user experiences with other phone)...

besides, i only got abt 900+mb left, while the update is abt 600+mb.

Sent from Xiaomi HM NOTE 1W using GAGT

I would suggest at least have 2GB clear.so won't run into space issues for installation. I recommend doing the clean up under "security" before update.

If doesn't work, a full wipe including data before update will be better.

I only did a clean under security before update and all it seems fine.

halocast

i agree

sadly xiaomi is now taking on flagship-level phones

the mi note is expensive sia. it's more powerful than galaxy note 4, but walau eh it's definitely a departure from what the redmi note stood for

They shld focus on this kind of redmi note level phones. Their flagships all much too "expensive"

mikeymesina

Updated via download. Works very well! The phone feels brand new.

Sent from Xiaomi HM NOTE 1W using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.