TV repair discussion thread (consolidated)

i1magic

Hello

My tv is samsung LA32A550P1R. Cannot switch on although got standby light. But after pressing the on button a few times, standby light also gone.

Anyone knows what's the issue?

And also who I can call and how much is repair?

About 5 yrs old...

Ok. If the repair is going to cost you $100-$200. After changing, if any other parts of same part spoilt again, you'll have to pay again.

Would you wanna proceed repair?

I bought a SkyWorth 42" LED TV for like $430. Fyi.

kun1he2

hi, i have a LG 55LW6500. the power light is on, but there is no picture or sound. No response to control too. can pm the cost of repair

My LG 55LW6500 just died too!! *sad* Delivered 2/12/2011, died 3/8/2015.

Seems to be the same problem, LED lights at bottom left come on in the usual sequence but no picture and no sound. (My power light goes off thereafter, but probably because I set it to turn off after start up)

Can hear the usual clicking sounds when powering on and powering off.

Did you manage to repair yours? How much did it cost?

freakinclown

Ok. If the repair is going to cost you $100-$200. After changing, if any other parts of same part spoilt again, you'll have to pay again.

That depends on what kind of repair you go for - repair at the component level, or replacement of the entire board, which reduces the risk of the same board failing due to age.

As for the option of replacement of tvs, if the cost of the tv purchased is low, it wouldn't be worth it to repair since getting a similar low cost replacement usually means you are entitled to a 3 year warranty coverage.

On the other hand, there are people who purchased tvs on the higher end. That is when the option of repair becomes viable.

This is just my humble opinion and hope it helps anyone who's thinking of repairing or replacing your tv :)

freakinclown

bro i same issue with u leh

my model is 42lb582t

sun night i unplugged power cord left it overnight, then i try again on monday noon, suddenly can power on, after watching liao, power off. today same issue. ccb

lg is shyt sia

1year old tv nia

Heyy! If your tv is only 1 year old, it should still be covered under warranty :)

freakinclown

Seems to be the same problem, LED lights at bottom left come on in the usual sequence but no picture and no sound. (My power light goes off thereafter, but probably because I set it to turn off after start up)

Replied to your pm!

jq75

SS 26" lcd

Images auto gets over exposed, too bright, after 5mins

What's the quote?

i1magic

That depends on what kind of repair you go for - repair at the component level, or replacement of the entire board, which reduces the risk of the same board failing due to age.

As for the option of replacement of tvs, if the cost of the tv purchased is low, it wouldn't be worth it to repair since getting a similar low cost replacement usually means you are entitled to a 3 year warranty coverage.

On the other hand, there are people who purchased tvs on the higher end. That is when the option of repair becomes viable.

This is just my humble opinion and hope it helps anyone who's thinking of repairing or replacing your tv :)

Yes. For high end TV that people spend alot of $$, of course repair will usually be a more viable option.

That's why, after my LG TV spoilt. I lose "faith" on the "so-called" expensive TV / brand last longer mentality liao.

jq75

SkyWorth - got local after sales service?

Clarence80

hey guys, have a LG 32LH20R tv that recently went kaput. no standby light or anything, sent it to repair shop but they said they no longer have the parts. thinking if its powerboard prob or could be other probs? the tv was working well prior to the fault, sound and picture all crystal clear.

might consider getting the board perhaps from tb to try out since the two repair places I've been to claims to no longer have parts.

appreciate your help!

jq75

I recommend Mr Ho Tel 62524555 because he is honest and charges reasonably. He came the day I called and fixed my Sharp Aquous 46 inch LED TV for less than $100. My TV was turning itself on and off every few minutes.

Where is he based? The cost include transport?

i1magic

SkyWorth - got local after sales service?

Yes. Their service centre is at Kaki Bukit / Ubi area.

xxxjhxxx

not really related to tv but.. I bought LG Smart TV LM6200 2+ years back and now the wifi dongle AN-WF100 is not working.. anyone knows where i can buy the dongle? Or is there a compatible dongle available?

i1magic

not really related to tv but.. I bought LG Smart TV LM6200 2+ years back and now the wifi dongle AN-WF100 is not working.. anyone knows where i can buy the dongle? Or is there a compatible dongle available?

This one?

Item : LG Wifi adapter AN WF 100
Price : About SGD$49.20

$_12.JPG

Source :
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/FREE-SHI...-FI-ADAPTER-/252044303627?hash=item3aaf02dd0b

If you really really want this, can wait for me to confirm that my LG 42" TV cannot repair, then I'll sell this wifi adapter.

kun1he2

LG customer service claims that Korea is no longer producing spare parts for this model and given the above observation, they suspect that it should be the mainboard that needs to be replaced.

Called the LG Spare Parts sales line and got this part number:

- EBT61555001 Chassis Assembly (540)

Other than that, the TV itself is in excellent condition.

Received two offers via PM to buy my spoilt LG 55LW6500...

Thought it might be better to create a WTS thread here for anyone else who might be interested:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/electronics-bazaar-259/wts-*spoilt*-lg-55lw6500-5129764.html

~WindzStriker~

My LG 42LV5500 42" LED TV also got problem about 20-30 days after warranty expired.

I left the TV at a corner for about 3mths, took it out a few days ago, power it up and guess what, can watch again. I turned it off and back on again, cannot watch liao. But leaving it on for awhile, can watch again.

I left is on playing MV from thumbdrive for about 1hr+ and still playing. Then I turned it off and then back on and left it on there for awhile, cannot watched liao.

I suspect it's the T-Con board fault because still got backlight and got power. Ordered the T-Con board from Aliexpress for about SGD$22, now waiting for it to arrive to test.

If still cannot, bo bian liao, need to buy new TV liao.

omg, I had the same TV model and size and same problem as you.

My warranty ends June, 2 months from the warranty end, straight away now it has problem, so zhun ? :s22:

~WindzStriker~

I don't know if mine is consider small issue.

The color spectrum is off, other than this everything is working as per normal.

However, after leaving the TV on for awhile, sometimes it will go back to normal, but when off it, and re-ON, it is like this again.

I have hence uploaded pictures for all the experts here to see what could be the possible problem to my TV and will I be able to buy the spare parts and repair it myself ? Thanks.

Model: LG 42LV5500

bky14uR.jpg

DVAjtDV.jpg

VV5rHKl.jpg

RedSky01

Feeling sad here. My 3+ year old Samsung UA55D7000LN which is so lightly used suddenly after 20-30 minutes of watching has vertical lines appearing. Not too many lines but very noticeable on some coloured backgrounds.

Would any of you know if this repairable and at what cost?

Thank you so much. I appreciate all the help and advice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.