[Maylyn's Review] ASUS RT-AC87U

ASUS@SG

Let see who is faster... JK vs Sentinelvdx of SmallNetBuilder... :D

Dear Thiamhui,

I would suggest all users download their firmware from us "Vendor" to prevent any misunderstanding.

I will test before release the firmware.

Best regard,
JK

renfred89

I've been having some issues with my RT-AC87U router regarding speed consistency. I got the router recently together with the M1 1Gbps fibre connection. Installation was smooth but wireless performance so far has been underwhelming. I am doing 900Mbps+ on the cable for both upload and download but for the wireless connection I am not getting more than 50Mbps up/down in close proximity of the router on the 2.4ghz band and not more than 100Mbps up/down on the 5ghz band. If I test around 1 corner (5 room hdb flat) then performance of both bands drops to 5-20Mbps up/down.

The main issue is that after I do a default reset I get speeds on the 5ghz band of up to 500Mbps and on the 2.4ghz band of up to 250Mbps (in close proximity of the router). But for some reason this drops after a few minutes to the aforementioned speeds. Anyone knows what is happening or how I can boost the speeds?

I am using Firmware Version:3.0.0.4.378_5134 and an Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 #2 network adaptor

Tml my big brother will release a new build of firmware, which might likely fix the instability of your wifi performance. 5134 firmware is outdated. You might wanna hang around here tml to download the latest firmware.. :D

ASUS@SG

release today lah... many people here can test it for u.. :D

Dear Renfred89,

I am still testing to confirm the wireless and internet connection is stable.

I don't wish to sabo user and i will release at 2359hr today.

Best regard,
JK

thiamhui

Dear Renfred89,

I am still testing to confirm the wireless and internet connection is stable.

I don't wish to sabo user and i will release at 2359hr today.

Best regard,
JK
Wah... Like that you can't sleep before 1am leh... Cos I need around 30 mins to setup everything again...

If got any issue, I'll update here... :D

renfred89

Wah... Like that you can't sleep before 1am leh... Cos I need around 30 mins to setup everything again...

If got any issue, I'll update here... :D

Hahas you so siao on.. tml then submit your 5000 words report to asus@sg lor..

Let him have a peaceful night before tml's war with users. Hahas!!

*just joking*

thiamhui

Hahas you so siao on.. tml then submit your 5000 words report to asus@sg lor..

Let him have a peaceful night before tml's war with users. Hahas!!

*just joking*
Of course must be on… The previous beta was remove within 30 mins. 😁

ASUS@SG

Dear all,

We will post newer build another day as we found some GUI bug.

Best regard,
JK

shaobing_1010

Dear all,

We will post newer build another day as we found some GUI bug.

Best regard,
JK
Dear JK
When released the new version of the firmware? 7944 firmware presence 2WAN failure, not success dial, do not know the existence of this problem is not a new version?
best wishes
Shaobing

nez

Thinking of recontacting the 1GB fiber & this seems the only 'top of the line' router being offered by MR.

is this router still a good choice for WiFi capabilities? MR is not offering the AC3200 unfortunately which is my preferred choice.

So all this issues can be solved with the next firmware update? Is this router about a year old already. Till now there are still major unresolved issues?

carlover76

Yes. Can be used in Singapore..

I strongly recommend a reset regardless of whether it is stated..

I have installed the 7410 firmware and my Z3 Dual has also upgraded to Android 5.1 recently.

There is no "!" on the WIFI Signal Icon previously on the 5.0 but after upgrade to 5.1, it will have the "!" when it is connected to the router. My Tablet which is still on 5.0 do not have such issue.

Anyone know whether there is any solution? :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.