The Watch Thread - Part 8

Henabi

I dont have much spare monies. But is preowned rolex submariner a wise choice? Lets say i want to sell back when i need monies ok?

Save it up bro...

No point whack 10k on a watch whereby this money can be saved for rainy days.

Agree with iverson

An inexpensive and durable seiko 5 is equally good as well.

Seannie

Save it up bro...

No point whack 10k on a watch whereby this money can be saved for rainy days.

Agree with iverson

An inexpensive and durable seiko 5 is equally good as well.

Hi bro im only looking at rollie. I already had a jap watch not interested in seiko.

My fren told me rollie is the only watch to consider as it keeps its value very well. So anytime can sell back without much loss so im not worried.

Just want to gauge roughly the cost and resale value of a submariner. Appreciate your advice.

gaoxing84

I think brand new abt $11k? I suppose preowned is around $8k issit? Or $6k can get already? Thanks.
Got Pre owned non ceramic one. The older model. 6-7k.
Pre owned. 8-9k

The clean sub 8-9
The one with date 9-10

gaoxing84

Yeap. Cheapest way.
1 tablespoon baking soda powder + 1 tablespoon water.

Rub the paste on both sides of the watch strap (remove strap from watch first)

Let it sit for at least 1 hour.

Then use a damp cloth to remove the paste and let it dry completely and naturally.

Use leather conditioner to keep it from cracking.
My tissot original leather cracked. Lol.

Meaning all leather strap best is use leather conditioner on it to prevent cracking?
I better start doing for my pam strap. Later crack I heart pain.

soilwork

Bo jio. At ion ah?

I left liao. Went at 3pm or so haha saw a patek aquanaut owner, a AP roo volcano owner ar the exhibition.

Took the photo with the pig. Drool abit at the two pam tourbillion ( pocket watch 446 i think 528) then stare at the bronzo day dream abit. Wife ahem, wake up then finish the tour and left at 330pm or so with the new catalogue.

QjY8NzL.jpg

Sent from why like that using GAGT

gaoxing84

I left liao. Went at 3pm or so haha saw a patek aquanaut owner, a AP roo volcano owner ar the exhibition.

Took the photo with the pig. Drool abit at the two pam tourbillion ( pocket watch 446 i think 528) then stare at the bronzo day dream abit. Wife ahem, wake up then finish the tour and left at 330pm or so with the new catalogue.

Sent from why like that using GAGT

Just went Haha took pic of the tourbillion then chao alr.
Got pretty jiejie also

Seannie

Got Pre owned non ceramic one. The older model. 6-7k.
Pre owned. 8-9k

The clean sub 8-9
The one with date 9-10

Actually looking at the green submariner with date. 116610LV. U mean this one preowned is $9-10k?
http://m.rolex.com/watches/submariner/m116610lv-0002.html

Seannie

Preowned hulk i ever saw 9.9k but dont know hows the conditon but normally still commands a good premium at 10k to almost 11k.

Wow thanks guy. Looks like what my friend told me is true. Incredible hulk keeps value well. Think i die die oso hoot one. Dont think i will flip but in case i want to sell can get back monies not so wasted. I also heard that submariner goes well with all kind of outfit. Work or casual. Just unsure to get a new one or a preowned.

soilwork

Wow thanks guy. Looks like what my friend told me is true. Incredible hulk keeps value well. Think i die die oso hoot one. Dont think i will flip but in case i want to sell can get back monies not so wasted. I also heard that submariner goes well with all kind of outfit. Work or casual. Just unsure to get a new one or a preowned.

Hmm..keep value as in? Buying a watch is more than the value. You want to lose less then get a preowned but you will still lose. Unless you keep it for 5 years then maybe lose lesser.

If you wan value, keep the dough in the bank. Can earn interest. Safer.

and please buy the seller, later you think you got a good deal but actualu end up buying a fake watch...

Seannie

Hmm..keep value as in? Buying a watch is more than the value. You want to lose less then get a preowned but you will still lose. Unless you keep it for 5 years then maybe lose lesser.

If you wan value, keep the dough in the bank. Can earn interest. Safer.

and please buy the seller, later you think you got a good deal but actualu end up buying a fake watch...

Buy the seller ?:s11:

Thanks for advice, so preowned will lose less and keep 5 years lose lesser. By the way my fren told me, there are only 2 options if i want to buy watch. Either save up monies to buy rollie, or dont buy watch at all. :s22:

acess 1

Thanks for advice, so preowned will lose less and keep 5 years lose lesser. By the way my fren told me, there are only 2 options if i want to buy watch. Either save up monies to buy rollie, or dont buy watch at all. :s22:

Save up and buy a patek . PP is timeless .

slow_mo

There's more than Rolex in the world of watches... To the layman, yes... get a Rolex!

trickle_on

How about this advice. Keep your money in your bank. Buy the Rolex only when you don't need the money on short notice.

Rolex is not going to go out of business. You can always get one later when your financial situation improves.

But if you still insist, then you can't go wrong with a pre-owned piece.

Sent from Somewhere to Everywhere using GAGT

ceecookie

2vmscpu.jpg

My watch bracelet had accumulated plenty of scratches over the years..i think so much that Melchers refused to machine polish it during a recent overhaul, so I decided to DIY instead.

Found a store that sell Cape Cod polish cloth. It works well on minor scratches but major one are still there though.. Will do another polishing season to see if can remove deeper scratches :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.