The Watch Thread - Part 8

DXMachina

how much did you get the strap for? the shipping of 30 eur for watches when purchasing from Steinhart directly scary sia :s22:

Straps and other accessories enjoy free shipping, but the base price is on the higher side. I got my Flieger strap for SGD$68, but am not sure if it's because of it being in "limited supply" as stated on the website: http://www.steinhartwatches.de/en/Flieger-strap-chestnut-vintage,881.html

Either way, can't help it as I really like the strap and there doesn't seem to be any way to get it locally.

DXMachina

Wahh 44mm for me is pushing the limit liao. Wanted the type B too but it's always out of stock for 44mm so went for the type A instead haha. Nice to meet a fellow Steinhart Flieger owner :D

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

The A Type is beautiful too. I was contemplating on getting it before I decided that the B Type suits me better. Dial might seem a bit cluttered for most people though.

Is the Type A your only piece from Steinhart?

Donten

Hello, am new in this watch forum.

How is Squale 20 ATMOS classic compared with Steinhart Ocean 1.

Thinking of getting a watch lately. Both having the same Swiss automatic movement ETA 2824-2 and the price fits my budgets (slightly <$600).

Or shall I get a Seiko sumo.....

Thanks

I vote sumo.

DXMachina

Thinking of getting a watch lately. Both having the same Swiss automatic movement ETA 2824-2 and the price fits my budgets (slightly <$600).

Thanks

In my humble opinion, the Steinhart Ocean 1 looks the best out of the 3 you have in mind.

Seannie

lol.
very wrong concept. there's a world out there.
but i shall leave it here and not start anything.
:s22:

Happybro, you mean they can even replicate the movements mechanisms as well as the original rolex? I thought fake ones quality are alot worse than original brand. No mah?
Im also worried of paying 10k for a fake one so asking my fren for lobang seller.

gaoxing84

Happybro, you mean they can even replicate the movements mechanisms as well as the original rolex? I thought fake ones quality are alot worse than original brand. No mah?
Im also worried of paying 10k for a fake one so asking my fren for lobang seller.
Lol not going to teach you the wrong path. Haha.
But there's a world out there. And Rolex all close case back.

Damn it. Just buy the real thing and get it over and done with Haha.
Think think over think. Just yolo

confusedboi

Thanks

Used to have both a sumo blue and squale 20 atmos. If you are looking for Rolex homage then squale definitely. Sumo is good but a little on the big side for me. Bracelet is 20 mm for sumo instead of 22mm .

randomgreen

Thanks

depending on what material of the bezel you are going for for the Ocean 1, the Squale ATMOS is slightly more expensive than the Ocean 1 aluminium or around the same price as the ceramic version. I went to gnomon watch recently and tried both. Might wanna call in first and check for stocks if you decide to go there and try.

in my opinion, you can't really compare the above 2 with sumo. Sumo is rather a sportier watch compared to ocean 1 or atmos classic. if you prefer a slightly more casual and sporty look, go for the sumo. i am eyeing the blumo currently :s13::s13::s13:

as for comparing between squale and steinhart...in terms of looks, I abit buay gum the logo of Squale on the dial itself. so in the end I chose to get the Steinhart Ocean 1 Black instead. but with regards to workmanship and overall quality of the watch, I've heard from people that for the price you are paying, Squale probably provides a better quality of the watch overall.

DH7_6074-crop.jpg

picture stolen from WUS by heebs
s_sbdc001a_1_large.jpeg

picture stolen from seiyajapan

just my 2 cents! :s12::s12:

Donten

hmmm, ok. actually the blue Sumo really caught my eye. I just that want to try wearing different brand instead of seiko

End of the day follow your heart.I might be snobbish because the other 2 are sub homage and when you group the 3 together the Sumo wins my heart for being well made, affordable, in house movement and a design that stands on its own. Not to say the Sumo is without it's flaw, I hate the winding feel and thin crown stem. Here's my 62masumo.

lnY9XvA.jpg

Seannie

To seannie, rolex submariner is definitely a classic. Read up and learn to appreciate it. U will enjoy your watch much more.

Thank you for your kind words and affirmation on rolex submariner. I think losing $2k is still worth it considering the prestige & brand.

Seannie

But there's a world out there. And Rolex all close case back.

Just buy the real thing and Just yolo

Thanks bro. Can teach me how to differentiate real and fake? I only know the real one seconds hand glide smoothly while fake ones tick. TIA.

fabiaN__

End of the day follow your heart.I might be snobbish because the other 2 are sub homage and when you group the 3 together the Sumo wins my heart for being well made, affordable, in house movement and a design that stands on its own. Not to say the Sumo is without it's flaw, I hate the winding feel and thin crown stem. Here's my 62masumo.

lnY9XvA.jpg

True, I'll pick the Sumo too, for being able to stand by itself rather than be noticed as a homage...

dominicwor2

Thanks bro. Can teach me how to differentiate real and fake? I only know the real one seconds hand glide smoothly while fake ones tick. TIA.

Don't go for the ones which ticks, if it glides it is good and real,confirms plus chop dude :)

if scared here n there, either don't buy or go AD and buy so you can sleep at night peacefully.or just buy plain old good seiko like what the other good folks here recommended.not as if seiko watch can't tell time. But if u intend for hao lian, fully understood.

Quote u back in ur own words if u really is not trolling and manage to get an authetic and bling rolex one fine day in the near future: Thats hallucination liao lar. 自欺。

Like how you discouraged us last time against carl zeiss lenses, and made crude and useless remarks when pple tried to ask for advise on whether the stuff they bought is authentic, you then went blabbling out of context why must buy branded lenses la, this society too brand conscious, we are jokers la, jin funny sia u.

Then now you think buy rolex and wear urself will make you satki immediately, or successfully in other pple's eyes? I hope not though. If you're not cut to be that, even if u buy new one to show off, pple will still say this guy here confirm buy fake one, or pay via installments etc. But i sincerly hope ur peers or family will see u up sibei high and kow tow to u whenever u bring ur hands out of pocket and glance at your rolex to tell the time in future. Money well spent in that case!

Really the best joker of here since part 1 of this thread when mostly I'm just a lurker here. Long time never type so long post liao, lol.
Ok with fake cartier ring but disgusted with fake watch and stuff? Gl with u bro, i understand u have ur own extremely unique views. But out of so many different posts here, urs simply takes the cake man, lol.

Seannie

thank you dominic, thank you for taking the effort & time to type such a long post today. Im truly apologetic if i did offended you last year regarding your query on lenses, probably i sounded too harsh but i meant well. I didnt expect you to remember it till now, if you never mentioned i already long forgotten. Sincere apologies. I probably was too disappointed by my own sad experience that time to have spoken so bad.

On the topic of rolex, thanks for confirming that the seconds-hand of a real rollie glides smoothly, and a fake one will surely tick. Will look out for that. So will the card also prove its authenticity? I know for spectacle lenses they can fake the card, but im a noob in rolex world. Will they do that too?

Im not too sure if my friend's seller can be trusted or not. But buying straight from AD is a bit steep and the moment i swipe card i lost few k already. Actually rollie is more for attending functions, meetings etc. You know my boss, my clients, professional bodies never look up to us. Not to mention my family. Now i admit this society is much too brand conscious, especially applicable in sg. They see you treat you differently when you are dressed in a certain extent. Im ok with fgake cartier ring cos nobody can tell the difference, really. It looks exactly like the real, just as exquisite and made from real 18k gold. I sell i get back sme monies. But sell fake rolex?

If i wear fake rolex like one bro here said, those rich bosses can surely tell its fake and more look me no up. But cartier you cant really tell unless take the whole ring out and scrutinise. LOL.

dominicwor2

thank you dominic, thank you for taking the effort & time to type such a long post today. Im truly apologetic if i did offended you last year regarding your query on lenses, probably i sounded too harsh but i meant well. I didnt expect you to remember it till now, if you never mentioned i already long forgotten. Sincere apologies. I probably was too disappointed by my own sad experience that time to have spoken so bad.

On the topic of rolex, thanks for confirming that the seconds-hand of a real rollie glides smoothly, and a fake one will surely tick. Will look out for that. So will the card also prove its authenticity? I know for spectacle lenses they can fake the card, but im a noob in rolex world. Will they do that too?

Im not too sure if my friend's seller can be trusted or not. But buying straight from AD is a bit steep and the moment i swipe card i lost few k already. Actually rollie is more for attending functions, meetings etc. You know my boss, my clients, professional bodies never look up to us. Not to mention my family. Now i admit this society is much too brand conscious, especially applicable in sg. They see you treat you differently when you are dressed in a certain extent. Im ok with fgake cartier ring cos nobody can tell the difference, really. It looks exactly like the real, just as exquisite and made from real 18k gold. I sell i get back sme monies. But sell fake rolex?

If i wear fake rolex like one bro here said, those rich bosses can surely tell its fake and more look me no up. But cartier you cant really tell unless take the whole ring out and scrutinise. LOL.

Dude, nowadays fake rolex are so well made that you can't tell the diff unless u take off the case back to inspect. Nuff said abt fakes.

If u really intend to go high end to impress pple, then take it up one notch to either pp, vc or ap liao. Doubt ur rich bosses or clients or biz associates will be impressed by ur rolex at that level already. To them ur rolex means nth.

I still believe a watch doesn't make a man, but yes for vice versa. It says alot if u try to impress by purposely buy branded to wear. Big bosses don't go online ask here n there before buying. They just hoot without battling an eyelid because they got nth to lose and they jolly well can well afford to do so. Just my two cents.

gaoxing84

hahaha really must wear a watch to prove yourself meh?

later big boss see you wear rolex, no give you raise cause you don't need it.

fabiaN__

hahaha really must wear a watch to prove yourself meh?

later big boss see you wear rolex, no give you raise cause you don't need it.

Now I know why I got no pay raise... But me wearing the "P" brand! But yes, no need to wear expensive watch to prove oneself lah.

If really like watches and it's within budget, just hoot only. No have to care what others say think or say...

LondoBell

Thanks

i would choose sumo. but honestly, if u are not looking at dive bezel type of diver, i would rec the alpinist.

9616587651_bbe336afc8_b.jpg

i do find it more refined than sumo and boast the same 200m specs.

@seannie: your watch doesnt command respect, your action does. end of day its just a hunk of metal. if you want respect, do smth that will gain you that instead of buying a rolex

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.