The Watch Thread - Part 8

Seannie

IMHO, bro, you should wear more of the Speedy and PAM... Spend so much $$ liao, but only wear on weekends a bit sian. That's what I'd feel.. Haha..
Aiyar its a clear trend that young ple now spend and waste alot monies. Nextime my kids like that i disown them. Rather go old home stay than angered to death. Monies so hard earn wasted like that. I think i spend all my monies before i die insteas of them wasting away.

Seannie

these two really jin wu eng... edmw not enough must come here and #troll

Wui bro toking abt me? Seannie no clone or troll. One and only. No fakie okie. Rem i say i hate fakes? True blue original.

Henabi

Lately. .got a penchant for diamond watch.....

Incoming piece. .....

es0010.jpg

OMG!!!! I have to wear sunglasses plus SPF 1000+++

too bling liao... you eh tahan ah iceflight dai dai kor?

Henabi

its a fake,but seems like no one is able to see right thru it,u can't deny that the workmanship is good

Hello... limpeh first to point out the date window look awfully out...

What you trying to imply??? That those who own real rolex here can't tell the difference???

There are many many many rolex experts here who didn't comment at all cuz they are busy with their lives and work

Btw...I laughed hard at your comment when you said that this is a high grade replica.

F.O. dude

Seannie

Hahaha that's not going to happen in the near future. Maybe 10 years later can come find me, I'll be ready to buy a GS ;)

If I buy a Rolex now, I can sell the Rolex a few years later and buy half a Rolex. If I buy a house, I can sell it a few years ago and buy another house plus 10 Rolex (or maybe less Rolex and throw in a PP instead :D)

A $200 watch will give me more satisfaction than a Rolex because I will be getting more value for my money. To give a VERY crude and simplistic example:

1) Breakdown a $10,000 Rolex = $500 (raw material plus assembly cost) + $4500 (overhead cost, distributorship and dealership cost) + $5000 (marketing budget, all the cost of commercials, ads and celebrity endorsement to create the brand)

vs a brand like CW or Steinhart:

1) Breakdown of a $1,000 CW/Steinhart: $500 (raw material plus assembly cost) + $400 (Overhead cost, sell direct) +$100 (minimal ad cost)

Of course, I'm leaving out things like R&D and designing etc but it should show my point.

This is the reason why Christopher Ward started CW. He was in the watch industry and saw that big brands were selling watches at 20 to 50 times the raw material and assembly cost of the watches because of additional costs that come with being a famous brand. He said for CW watches, he's selling them at 2 to 5 times of the actual raw material costs.

This is another reason why microbrands can thrive as a niche product among watch hobbyists, because only watch hobbyists can see the true value in a watch while the general public can only see

Will post my wrist shot but unfortunately won't be so soon haha.

Wow xuan you are a young but deeply respectable guys. Not onlt did u not join the rest to hantam me but you gave your truthful useful views. Thanks man. Zhun bor rolec raw costs only $500???? Knn. Then i suspect GS is same. Where can i buy CW in sg got boutiques??

Henabi

Paiseh... limpeh no rolec, no Patel, Panerai, no vacheroll.

Limpeh has g shock, seiko 5, kenneth Cole, tudor and 25 hours automatic.

Me no gentleman. Limpeh is PHD graduate ah beng who knows the difference between an idiot and a moron.

jonleelk

The vehicle problem has no easy solution. At least we have a good public transportation system that I don't miss having a car. When seriously need a car, then can still quite easily find a cab.

My personal solution is to replace COEs with island wide ERP. Charge people for usage instead of ownership. And different time of the day, different roads, different charges. But that comes with its own set of difficulties like determining the right fees, build more ERP etc.

Anyway in case people say I go OT, I'll like to start a fun exercise:

Over at wornandwound, they have a series of articles where each editor was asked to recommend 5 watches for a total cost of US$2,000, so a newbie can get a decent collection for decent money. The five categories are: dress, chronograph, sport or diver, quartz or digital, and tool or beater.

I found those articles very interesting as they not only introduce me to new watches, but to new watches that are highly valued for money. I'm sure many bros here also have such watches in mind and I think it'll be good for us to share with everyone else their recommendations.

Who want to go first?

dress : Orient Bambino SS$183
FER24001B0.jpg

chrono : Citizen Promaster Eco-Drive Aqualand Diver Watch BJ2120-07E S$535
BJ2120-07E.jpg

sport or diver : Seiko SKX007J2 SS$400
SKX007J-Jub.jpg

quartz or digital : Casio G-Shock GW-S5600-1JF S$373
GW-S5600-1JF.jpg

tool or beater : Laco Flieger Miyota 42mm Type A S$509
LacoFliegerMiyotaA861688.jpg

SGD2000!!!

gaoxing84

Oh crap, when you mention pebble, that reminded me that I might get the Moto 360 V2 in the near future too #facepalm

Hahaha. Good luck to that. I usually wear my Pebble for an entire week. Make sure battery get used up before I charge it for the following week. Good for work.

Henabi

dress : Orient Bambino SS$183
FER24001B0.jpg

chrono : Citizen Promaster Eco-Drive Aqualand Diver Watch BJ2120-07E S$535
BJ2120-07E.jpg

sport or diver : Seiko SKX007J2 SS$400
SKX007J-Jub.jpg

quartz or digital : Casio G-Shock GW-S5600-1JF S$373
GW-S5600-1JF.jpg

tool or beater : Laco Flieger Miyota 42mm Type A S$509
LacoFliegerMiyotaA861688.jpg

SGD2000!!!

The g shock is sivei old school lah! Reminds me of my very first g shock watch when I was only 10 year old... it was around $79 back then

gaoxing84

Should consider wearing your speedy and pam for work more. After all buy and don't flash at work (ok lah, more like admire them while working) is a bit of a shame, no?

Anyway bro gaoxing84, yours are all excellent choices, no fat, all lean muscle!

Sometimes watch wearing got season, a watch may get more wrist time for a while before another rotates to take its place.

As for your pebble, do you think smart watches will eventually edge out traditional watches, given that some people find it more useful? I mean unless the fashion allows for wearing watches on each wrist, once you slap on a smart watch, the traditional watch will have to take a hiatus, no?

Your thoughts, gentlemen?

Maybe should do a one watch one day Haha. Both my speedy and pam is winding one. Admire at them later boss scold me Hahaha

For me I think it cannot fully replace mechanical watches but it can act as compliment to it? Or rather just be part of the entire watch thing. Just like how digital watch has integrated into part of watches.

Smart watches will soon be mainstream for the mass

gaoxing84

Thought you wanna be low key? Pam low key?

Lol I didn't say I wanna be low key? Where did you get that from? I usually wear my pam on Friday.

Low key as in I don't flaunt. Lol I not seannie. I not out to seek for recognition. I small fry. Lowest life form in civil sector. Lol ppl probably think it's a huge ass Nixon or Armani exchange watch. Lolol

runningman123

Hello... limpeh first to point out the date window look awfully out...

What you trying to imply??? That those who own real rolex here can't tell the difference???

There are many many many rolex experts here who didn't comment at all cuz they are busy with their lives and work

Btw...I laughed hard at your comment when you said that this is a high grade replica.

F.O. dude

limpeh your head,,i your limbu,another act tough wannabe ah beng

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.