The Watch Thread - Part 8

Henabi

thank you uncle teentitan for your advice!

the shop that I went to has the full box, papers, receipt and guarantee card.

as I know that when purchasing second hand Rolex, people will pay $107(the salesperson told me) to verify if the watch is authentic.

the watch that the shop carries still has the guarantee card.

she told me that I need not pay the $107 to verify and instead just bring the card and the watch to the shop and if they do accept the watch, it means the watch is authentic. if not, bring it back to the shop and they will do a full refund for it.

I did went to the boutique ytd to see the watch also. but I think they see I teenager, serve me the face smelly smelly one. :( two times that I went to the official shop to see, the service was quite bad.

whereas when I go to the other dealers, the service is always very welcoming. :s22:

regarding getting a new one from boutique,
a brand new sub in the boutique cost 11,500
but a brand new sub in the second hand shop (are they called dealers?) cost 10,500

I'm actually still quite confused between a brand new in a boutique and a brand new in the dealer. it's the same thing right?

but given the price, if 9,500 for second hand and 10,500 for a first hand. I might consider getting a brand new sub from the second hand shop itself.

the engraving idea is new to me! and sounds like a viable idea as well :s13:

Verify the watch, not the card dude... wondering what the salesperson was smoking that day.

Most 2nd hand shop, specially reputable ones like Chuan, HJ, JW and Monster, will tell you that they will do a full refund if RSC verified that the Rolex you bought from them is a fake.

For preowned watch dealers, their reputation is utmost important. Cuz once got people spread words that they are selling fake preowned watches it's GG for them

-----------
Well...not sure if you were following Seannie "watch saga", but basically that Seannie initially want to buy a rolec because it's ATAS, SATKI and can haolian.

Several watch lovers here told him to get a replica... after a while he changed his mind to Tudor... then GS... then citizen.

Say wan skyhawk... turned out to be a shadowhawk lolx

anyway... still waiting for him to GPGT. A watch

Donten

Verify the watch, not the card dude... wondering what the salesperson was smoking that day.

Most 2nd hand shop, specially reputable ones like Chuan, HJ, JW and Monster, will tell you that they will do a full refund if RSC verified that the Rolex you bought from them is a fake.

For preowned watch dealers, their reputation is utmost important. Cuz once got people spread words that they are selling fake preowned watches it's GG for them

-----------
Well...not sure if you were following Seannie "watch saga", but basically that Seannie initially want to buy a rolec because it's ATAS, SATKI and can haolian.

Several watch lovers here told him to get a replica... after a while he changed his mind to Tudor... then GS... then citizen.

please.... dont fan it already.... just ignore him...

randomgreen

Envy those youngsters who havent graduate and already have 11k spare cash to down on a Rolex.

If I were you, I'd definitely get it first hand from an authorised dealer and let them serve me until gao gao. Plus you get the peace of mind that you are getting the real deal, with ample opportunities for you to ask them countless questions. That's what I see the price difference as -- paying for the service and peace of mind.

Wah Jin satki teenager can have 10k savings to buy Rolex ...

But I don't think Rolex is suitable Leh... Especially if you gonna step into the corporate world, small fry wear Rolex

:(:( dont misunderstand. im just an average kid.

not exactly spare cash to throw into the watch. i'm also working and studying at the same time.

I feel that as now I am still young, there is not much commitment that I have to attend to. I can save the majority of my salary and use it to purchase something that I wish to own instead of just dreaming about it.

compared to majority of the teenagers out there who just party and drink or spend it on unnecessary stuffs, I believe all those money spent add up can too buy a luxury item if it has not been spent on those activities.

hence I am considering a second hand rollie as a gift to myself for getting this far and graduating :s12:

randomgreen

-----------

definitely. i'm aware of the saga. :s13:

fret not. I'm definitely clear of what I want. Done ample research before I decide on this goal of mine.

just needed a little more feedback as to which shop to patronize and the process of getting it as it is not a minor purchase. :s22:

thanks for the advice! will definitely keep those in mind before I make my purchase :s12:

Henabi

definitely. i'm aware of the saga. :s13:

fret not. I'm definitely clear of what I want. Done ample research before I decide on this goal of mine.

just needed a little more feedback as to which shop to patronize and the process of getting it as it is not a minor purchase. :s22:

thanks for the advice! will definitely keep those in mind before I make my purchase :s12:

reputable preowned watch shops are like HJ, JW, Chuan and Monster.

But since you are looking at Rolex, Chuan is the best. Their staffs are extremely friendly and knowledgable as well.

josephkjc

U want new or 2nd hand? For special occasion, I will also suggest buy new from those parallel importer who does not have a shop, aka grey dealers. This guy is quite famous in the local grey dealer scene:

http://www.mywatchmart.com/users/yeo kim choy/

Leave the 2nd hand for your subsequent rolex ... :p

Yes I second this very reputable grey dealer Yeo Kim Choy. Bought a new GMT master from him before and it was a pleasant experience. He took time in explaining details of watch and answered my questions on maintenance and winding etc.

fabiaN__

Yes I second this very reputable grey dealer Yeo Kim Choy. Bought a new GMT master from him before and it was a pleasant experience. He took time in explaining details of watch and answered my questions on maintenance and winding etc.

But he isn't that active on SWX/Singapore Rolex forums liao. His prices are quite competitive!

Donten

Citizen-Signature-Grand-Touring-Sport-13.jpg

Im hoping is this.

cichlid

Long time never see watch porn from you already. Nice!

Btw, how did you managed to take that pic? Via tripod and timer?

Thanks bros :)
For this shot, flip up the cam's rear LCD so that I can compose the shot, place cam on table, touch rear LCD with left hand (LCD with touch and shoot function), lol.

Other times, I use the wifi function :D

Henabi

Anyone got any Montblanc watches to recommend? Budget about $5k.

$5k should be able to get a decent Montblanc mechanical watches or an entry-level automatic watch iirc.

you can head down to Cortina to look see look see

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.