[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

koroshiya8

selling ur old DS ?
my 414 full liao , now looking for a simple 2 bay one.
oh and btw , anyone tried the new DSM 6 beta ?

yes gua, most likely .... pm me if you keen ? sell u cheap cheap, free 250GB HDD ok :s13:

Gribber

finally took the plunge to replace my aging DS212J :D

now got a small dilemma.. I got the Red 4TB just like 2 months ago. Honestly i look around this thread there really isnt many criticism on this Drive except Woodoo who probably have a faulty NAS.
Other than that if i switch off HDD Hibernation will it still give issue?

You sure you read it correctly ?

koroshiya8

You sure you read it correctly ?

Yeah.. his latest reply indicate his NAS is ok LOL.... so ya, maybe put my Red as the 3rd HDD w/o any Raid then run Raid 0 or 1 with 2 of the Toshiba 4TB first.. still thinking.
Alternatively get another Red and start praying no issue lor.

Gribber

Yeah.. his latest reply indicate his NAS is ok LOL.... so ya, maybe put my Red as the 3rd HDD w/o any Raid then run Raid 0 or 1 with 2 of the Toshiba 4TB first.. still thinking.
Alternatively get another Red and start praying no issue lor.

why want to pay more for RED + slower performance and questionable reliability on Synology NAS?

Is more on the "hibernate thingy" but most people won't do anything to it until...

tarui04

the ds1515+ seems to have some strange issues for a while

When the nas is switched off, at Computer the nas displays the exact same drive capacity as the C drive. if my C drive is 70GB free of 238GB, then the nas will show the same thing

when the nas beeps after powering up, instead of showing the actual capacity (1tb free of 10.5tb), it shows the exact same capacity as my C drive
all the lights that should be on are lit up, there's no red lights/error message.

if I open the drive, most of the folders and files are missing.

a few mins later, the drives seem to accessed all at once and producing a fair bit of noise. all the folders and files appears after a refresh as if nothing is wrong.

Anyone????

minute_me

hello experts,

if my ds414 motherboard fail , where do i bring them for exchange ? assuming still under warranty (how many years warranty anyway ?)

sam9959

hello experts,

if my ds414 motherboard fail , where do i bring them for exchange ? assuming still under warranty (how many years warranty anyway ?)

Usually 2 yrs for 2 bay n 4 bay , 4 yrs is 4 bay above

tarui04

I just had a degraded nas. and when i reinserted the same drive back into the nas, it's undetected. (doesn't show up in the storage manager) does it mean hdd is totally dead?

eliteFX

I just had a degraded nas. and when i reinserted the same drive back into the nas, it's undetected. (doesn't show up in the storage manager) does it mean hdd is totally dead?

try it on your desktop?

koroshiya8

OK after reading the past 20pages or so have made up my mind on Toshiba but almost whole SLS no stock for 4TB

k3tcm0.jpg

Except for cybermind :s13: Kudos to the guy who wrapped it in the bubble wrap and used 2 plastic bag... thumbs up.

2508a5l.jpg

phayze

U planning to use on which model?

OK after reading the past 20pages or so have made up my mind on Toshiba but almost whole SLS no stock for 4TB

k3tcm0.jpg

Except for cybermind :s13: Kudos to the guy who wrapped it in the bubble wrap and used 2 plastic bag... thumbs up.

2508a5l.jpg

koroshiya8

Try Tradepac?

that was the first shop i asked.. they say dont have 4TB leh :( disappointed cos their price is the cheapest.. then went to PCT, Fuwell (who say they dont sell Toshiba), Bizgram, Infinity... then finally end up ask CM and they have stock.

U planning to use on which model?

415Play, got this for their transcoding ability..

minute_me

if you take out the disk drive and jumble up the sequence how ah ? is it possible to try all the possible combination till i get in right ?:s11:

i read on the synology website you can use ubuntuu to recover your data but the tech guy i called up say not really.

anyone any idea to recover the data without the synolgy ?

THis thing very sensitive man....mess around a bit only the thing up lorry.....most important is data.....damn sad

Gribber

if you take out the disk drive and jumble up the sequence how ah ? is it possible to try all the possible combination till i get in right ?:s11:

i read on the synology website you can use ubuntuu to recover your data but the tech guy i called up say not really.

anyone any idea to recover the data without the synolgy ?

THis thing very sensitive man....mess around a bit only the thing up lorry.....most important is data.....damn sad

It is. You could ssh to see the sequence. Alternatively, get synology to help you on that.

Gribber

Tried inserting the hdd elsewhere to do a health check?

t258jgn

that was the first shop i asked.. they say dont have 4TB leh :( disappointed cos their price is the cheapest.. then went to PCT, Fuwell (who say they dont sell Toshiba), Bizgram, Infinity... then finally end up ask CM and they have stock.

415Play, got this for their transcoding ability..

ChopCarrot shop :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.