Serious help: cpu burning smoke

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

sacredrays

im pretty sure we are divert away from his initial help request.. :s13::s13:

anyway ts, i think your old psu still enough to run your comp...

and yea, try check where exactly is the smoke coming from, then go back to the repair shop tell him ba..

pedokuma

I saw. While the PSU is more powerful than he needs, it will only affect efficiency. My point is that a PSU with higher wattage does not mean that it will supply more volts. The fans are likely powered off the 12V rail, which will still be 12V whether you use a 300W PSU or 1000W PSU.

some ppl go split the motherboard fan headers to multiple fans on other forums. That was some of the causes when i search smoke from pc online.
That why i checked if he fixed it himself or shop fixed.

pedokuma

im pretty sure we are divert away from his initial help request.. :s13::s13:

anyway ts, i think your old psu still enough to run your comp...

and yea, try check where exactly is the smoke coming from, then go back to the repair shop tell him ba..

need to check the ratings on the old psu. might not be enough for him as branded pc have overrated psu. but 500W psu would be more than enough.
GTX 750 recommends/requires an output of 20 Amps on the 12V rail and a PSU rated for 400W

If you are not confident in checking yourself, bring back to the shop and most likely you will need to pay a fee to check.
If they ask you to replace parts for a fees, say no...

sacredrays

no way ....

you don't tell the psu is good or not by just the brand

both seasonic / corsair their low tier have cheapo components inside if u look at review

ya lor.. good brand is a start but still need see heng suay.. hahaha.. my old fsp aurum not even 1 year go rma liao :s13::s13:

jtjt00

no way ....

both seasonic / corsair their low tier have cheapo components inside if u look at review

Agreed, my Corsair HX620W blew up into 2 years of service out of 5 years warranty.

sacredrays

need to check the ratings on the old psu. might not be enough for him as branded pc have overrated psu. but 500W psu would be more than enough.
GTX 750 recommends/requires an output of 20 Amps on the 12V rail and a PSU rated for 400W

If you are not confident in checking yourself, bring back to the shop and most likely you will need to pay a fee to check.
If they ask you to replace parts for a fees, say no...

he mentioned 460watts.. duno what oem acer use though..

radiobox

One thing for sure, this bro kena chop, gtx 750ti dun need to use high watts psu. I interested how much he pay for it and which shop. Next ask the forum first if u new to pc, many ppl will help u.

Steyr69

no way ....

Not trying to stir up an argument....but brand name serves as a guide....what i mean is if brand name not important....then everyone will buying cheap iCute psus....

Sent from Asus ME173X using GAGT

localITguy

actually 750w on a 750ti not too bad, hahahhaa

i have seen a 1000W with a GTX 770 that is overkill LOL efficiency will be a problem

zenniz

I don't consider this scam. I think you kinda psycho to buy overkilled parts.
Even if you intend to upgrade, confirm you won't use more than 500W.

Your whole system uses less than 250W. Your recommended PSU wattage is 300W.

xtwis7

Can expose the shop at least? Sorry about your unpleasant experience.

Coolman

have u took out e gfx card and check and smell, normally a burnt will last very long.
i goggle on e acer, e casing seem to have only a fan nxt to cpu.
good casin wif well ventillation wil keep pc live for longer yrs, where heated environment wil cause component to overheat which in turn increase current and cycle on.
if smoke and burnt @ psu, chances wil trip e fuse and ac lines.
burnt and even smoke/fire @ dc compoent/board may not even cut off psu and may even grow, only if gnd is shorted to voltage line which trip which cut off e psu.

Coolman

i have seem unknown brand psu catch fire b4 from overclocking(overloading e psu) @ my fren club in tawian, i dun understand how a coasir can get smoke from even underloading.

Rgyl11

have u took out e gfx card and check and smell, normally a burnt will last very long.
i goggle on e acer, e casing seem to have only a fan nxt to cpu.
good casin wif well ventillation wil keep pc live for longer yrs, where heated environment wil cause component to overheat which in turn increase current and cycle on.
if smoke and burnt @ psu, chances wil trip e fuse and ac lines.
burnt and even smoke/fire @ dc compoent/board may not even cut off psu and may even grow, only if gnd is shorted to voltage line which trip which cut off e psu.

Yeah I took out the gpu to smell. Smells good tho don't think it's coming from gpu strong smoke smell is from motherboard area and psu

Rgyl11

TS disappeared.....yah.....good to expose the shop. Always avoid level 2 shops.

Sent from Asus ME173X using GAGT

Not disappear. No comp use then went to sleep lol!

Not I don't wanna expose but I don't know the shop name and yeah just avoid 2nd or 3rd level. I'm not sure myself either as I randomly walked pass it. Should've seriously seek help from hwz first before heading down! Really regret my decision.. It's from sealed box for the psu.. $159 including installation. And for warranty they say bring back to him for any issues so I guess they won't charge me ? Just hoping it's not motherboard that burnt and extra fees to be pay...

Coolman

Yeah I took out the gpu to smell. Smells good tho don't think it's coming from gpu strong smoke smell is from motherboard area and psu

normally oem mobo r quite low performance, cost cut, simple bios and cnt tweet.
ur mobo is bit performance range come wif liteon 460psu, but i stil prefer diy mobo for upgrade and performance, running as it original config is still ok , upgrade den u nid to test den u noe esp durin warrany time e vendor(sell u acer) may not wan to honor it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.