The Watch Thread - Part 9

gaoxing84

To the 戴好野 fan.. if 4K is like $4.. I think really.. buy what you like. And many will agree with your assessment that 戴好野 is a well marketed, recognized brand. Juz that many watch enthusiasts may not find that movement-wise, it is not worth its weight in dollars..

But if you are like many of us, $4K equates to many months pay, then some deeper reading is in order to ascertain if you are really getting the most most value for your money..

Watch is juz a minor portion contributing to the image of a man. No point rocking a real Richard Mille if you dun walk with the requisite swag or confidence of someone who can.

Juz like the satki Tangs counter boyboy, would anyone believe that he blow 20months of pay on his ROO, even if he was wearing a real one?

One must wear watches appropriate for his station in life.. and most part of the population dun know and dun care about watches. I wear my Seiko with an appropriate swag for Seiko wearers.

cwsmT9q.jpg

A blur lady colleague innocently asked if that was a Rolex.. but I can reply confidently, without feeling offended, that "Nope. The boss doesn't pay me well enough for me to get a Rolex. Thanks for the compliment. It's juz a Seiko."

Wear RM must swag. Confirm. Haha.

Eh the last portion. I wear mine. Also kena say eh Siao Wei Rolex ah. Haha I say Bo leh. Seiko nia. No money for Rolex. Haha.
They say wah from far see like Rolex. Haha.
Alot of times alr. Haha
I got a colleague saw and ask me how to zhng. Gave him the site and he's rocking the same thing as me in office. Hahaha.

I gian to change to ceramic green bezel. Mine got scratches badly.
Seiko 007 is really use to take and hoot. Haha solid solid watch.

Ed.YEO

Tia gong Teochew nang all quite rich de
别人拉开抽屉,就有三,四只皇冠,加加起来就有二十支火柴。
我拉开我的抽屉,杂七杂八的。。。超过五十只,加加起来便宜过皇冠牌。。。该算是选择丰富吧。。。不够格与皇冠对干。

kiosai

Juz to add.. there's been a very unhealthy undercultutre amongst sales personnel wearing rep watches..

From Courts, Harvey, to Credit Card and all sort of salespersons.. it's either stupid to blow more than 5X monthly pay for a gen TT Sub or stupid to spend hard earned money on illegal reps.

no offense intended to the humble, honest hardworking bona fide salespersons..

kiosai

Wear RM must swag. Confirm. Haha.

Eh the last portion. I wear mine. Also kena say eh Siao Wei Rolex ah. Haha I say Bo leh. Seiko nia. No money for Rolex. Haha.
They say wah from far see like Rolex. Haha.
Alot of times alr. Haha
I got a colleague saw and ask me how to zhng. Gave him the site and he's rocking the same thing as me in office. Hahaha.

I gian to change to ceramic green bezel. Mine got scratches badly.
Seiko 007 is really use to take and hoot. Haha solid solid watch.

Sia la! Since when got ceramic 007 bezel? Share leh..

gaoxing84

Sia la! Since when got ceramic 007 bezel? Share leh..

Got sia. Haha carousell. haha.
$40 bucks though.
http://carousell.com/dlw.watches/
But not like the Rolex cerachrom standard. Haha

binnie

lol the basic piece la. the standard issue la. the one fly to moon. jin satki one. you know right?

:s22:

nobody have to follow my logic. that's what I thought. I didn't say he's wrong.

Well, u think it's pointless liking the snoopy if you don't like the standard issue.
Who's to say the 1861 is the "standard"? As far as i know, the 1861 never made it to the moon. Only the Lemania 321 and the 861 did.

gaoxing84

Well, u think it's pointless liking the snoopy if you don't like the standard issue.
Who's to say the 1861 is the "standard"? As far as i know, the 1861 never made it to the moon. Only the Lemania 321 and the 861 did.

Yeap. I ain't talking about the movement. Just the pure speedmaster basic blueprint design (before you tell me the bezel got difference). I may think it's pointless. Like you said. To each of his own Haha. That's my point. You don't have to follow or adhere to it. Lol.
If you want to talk about legit making it to the moon then buy the one Neil wore lol
The rest didn't made it. Neither the movement nor the entire watch. Lolol

a562140

Still doesn't change the fact that Cartier roots is jeweler first, watches second.

no it doesn't but by going on "first", then all pilot watches should defer to cartier.

then again the AP sports series appeal isn't about movement though - its about looks.

confusing world of watch collecting i guess.

binnie

Yeap. I ain't talking about the movement. Just the pure speedmaster basic blueprint design (before you tell me the bezel got difference). I may think it's pointless. Like you said. To each of his own Haha. That's my point. You don't have to follow or adhere to it. Lol.
If you want to talk about legit making it to the moon then buy the one Neil wore lol
The rest didn't made it. Neither the movement nor the entire watch. Lolol

yea exactly!

you're entitled to your opinion la. but when you express your opinion, don't have to make it sound like you're forcing it down someone's throat. or like they're stupid for having their own preferences.

btw Neil didn't wear the watch on the surface of the moon. he kept his watch in the shuttle.

gaoxing84

yea exactly!

you're entitled to your opinion la. but when you express your opinion, don't have to make it sound like you're forcing it down someone's throat. or like they're stupid for having their own preferences.

btw Neil didn't wear the watch on the surface of the moon. he kept his watch in the shuttle.

Yeap haha. I know the last one. At least the watch landed on the moon.
I never force ah. I said no offence lol

a562140

haha nice info!

after i read the article, cartier already have their movements long ago.

if i am not wrong, a watch maker is also known as jeweller. as far as i know.

somehow or rather it goes together. haha

as far as i am concerned, today, all luxury mechanical watches are considered jewelry. they are created to look good and to make people feel good.

they are too expensive and precious to be considered as tool watches - to accept knocks and scratches. in if you own a phone/tablet you certainly don't need the analog time.

and if you need something on your wrist - for absolute convenience and accuracy, it would not be a chronometer, it would be a solar-powered, maintenance free capacitor driven quartz. anything else is a want, because you can - i.e. jewelry.

Ed.YEO

“身上无只“捞”,一生不成功。
身上无只“爱”,一生不成才”,

听过无?
用广府话来念,押不押韵?哈~~~

Ed.YEO

as far as i am concerned, today, all luxury mechanical watches are considered jewelry. they are created to look good and to make people feel good.

they are too expensive and precious to be considered as tool watches - to accept knocks and scratches. in if you own a phone/tablet you certainly don't need the analog time.

and if you need something on your wrist - for absolute convenience and accuracy, it would not be a chronometer, it would be a solar-powered, maintenance free capacitor driven quartz. anything else is a want, because you can - i.e. jewelry.
学其他师兄弟常说的。。。太长,不读。
我只有4个字送做结论,
"外强中干"

Ed.YEO

Wow the thread move by >10 pages today! so fast
话题对正不同看法,就会引发不同回应。要不然只是你秀你的表,我秀我的。。。没有个人看法对冲,争论。。。就完全失去论坛应有的精神了。

iV3RsOn

别人拉开抽屉,就有三,四只皇冠,加加起来就有二十支火柴。
我拉开我的抽屉,杂七杂八的。。。超过五十只,加加起来便宜过皇冠牌。。。该算是选择丰富吧。。。不够格与皇冠对干。

That's y many people love ur review. Cater to huge crowds

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.