[Official] Home Automation Thread

Yureak

All these are connect via IR so all what RFD..what ever....

each devices have a small IR stick on it.

I not sure how TS works

this is what i used to play before and noticed....

anyway Home automation is like " additional bonus to enhance your house " lor....

some people spend a lot on designing their home ...

got spare cash also add in " these home automation stuffs "

I avoid IR as much as possible. Mine is mostly zigbee or zwave, ip control or rf.

For blinds Zigbee or RF works

Starbutt

Has your electricity bill increased with all these 'automation'?

I am skeptical about such smart home gadgets unless you are living in a sprawling villa with so many rooms that will warrant such frills.

Otherwise if it's just a apartment, condo or hdb is just plain overkill.

Sent from Xiaomi MI 4I using GAGT

Yureak

so there is some sensor that sense for sunlight and bring down blind automatically? how does it know how much sunlight is too bright or is the right amount of brightness that you dont like?

how does it decide how dark then it turn on light by how much?

how does it decide when there is someone in the room and when to turn on and off by itself?

how does it decide when you are in the house and turn on the radio to the right channel for you?

Can it sense for rain and close the window and sliding door at the balcony for you?

Rgding blinds, dealer can set threshold.

Regarding occupancy it'll sense if youre home through motion sensors. Additionaly yale real living locks can know who's home based on the rfid card key. So eg if u come home after work and like a certain lighting or tv channel it'll switch for u. If your wife is home it'll be another config.

Rain sensor is also available and yes can work with motorised doors (but ive never seen a motorised balcony door)

Well u have to do ur own research

:)

Heng, I civil servant.

well....they don't do much in depth research one...=:p because jiak liao been daily and wayang..

The main issue is not research..because things how inside work is...they always want to use up all the funds given by MOE...so next financial year able to get new funds..

if never use up the funds will been ask etc

( irony right )

Not related to your thread..but as I work in stats boards , in the poly ...and since you mention about crestron this brand ...lol make me think of this

Yureak

Has your electricity bill increased with all these 'automation'?

I am skeptical about such smart home gadgets unless you are living in a sprawling villa with so many rooms that will warrant such frills.

Otherwise if it's just a apartment, condo or hdb is just plain overkill.

For high end systems, the gadgets can't even be seen. It's all hidden and it's designed and programmed just for you so it fits into your life.

Electricity bill is about the same. Only some additional hardware to be powered eg controller, network switches and infrastructure etc

cuppa

10k? Resberry pi $25 also can do the job. Though accessories and option modules not included yet.

Yureak

Heng, I civil servant.

well....they don't do much in depth research one...=:p because jiak liao been daily and wayang..

The main issue is not research..because things how inside work is...they always want to use up all the funds given by MOE...so next financial year able to get new funds..

( irony right )

Not related to your thread..but as I work in stats boards , in the poly ...and since you mention about crestron this brand ...lol make me think of this

I see. Personally i avoid crestron from experience using it prior. Control4 is a much better fit for me

cuppa

Heng, I civil servant.

( irony right )

Every company is the same.

DarthKool

All these are connect via IR so all what RFD..what ever....

each devices have a small IR stick on it.

I not sure how TS works

this is what i used to play before and noticed....

anyway Home automation is like " additional bonus to enhance your house " lor....

some people spend a lot on designing their home ...

got spare cash also add in " these home automation stuffs "

hmm was thinking too much then, thought got similar stuff like amazon echo, or a siri on steriods.

something like bring girl home, i say keyword followed by "jazz this place up", system turns multi color led lighting to pinkish and load up a jazz playlist from spotify...
and maybe auto turn on tv, connect to netflix and get 50 shades of grey :s13:

Yureak

10k? Resberry pi $25 also can do the job. Though accessories and option modules not included yet.

Won't be seamless and bespoke. Look at this video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujX5MTYKLwM

Not on pc would be grateful if someone could help embed

Yureak

hmm was thinking too much then, thought got similar stuff like amazon echo, or a siri on steriods.

something like bring girl home, i say keyword and then jazz this place up, system turns multi color led lighting to pinkish and load up a jazz playlist from spotify...

Yes all of which u mentioned can be easily done lol

Starbutt

something like bring girl home, i say keyword followed by "jazz this place up", system turns multi color led lighting to pinkish and load up a jazz playlist from spotify...
Add "block calls from wife" to task list. Hahahaha

DarthKool

will be fun to see how far this goes.. cant wait for my toilet to analyse my poop and urine and then plans the next day's meals :s13:

Yureak

will be fun to see how far this goes.. cant wait for my toilet to analyse my poop and urine and then plans the next day's meals :s13:

Wow this one is a scene right out of the island.

Anyways maybe in 10-20yrs time

regarding that

also possible,

I not expert on these home automation stuffs but I find it is more on " COOL " part whereby people come to your house

lol you just clap your hands , lights either turn on or off...etc

A lot videos online got show case about Home automation ..

I feel western countries more into this ....for asian countries not much...

Anyway , I don't surprised next time our HDB home will include all these...

in fact , If i not wrong , HDB got experience on some HDB flats liao...

for example now corridor lights ..they using " sensor type " if no body walk the light will do slightly dim a bit...

when a person happen to walk pass or around ..the light will brighten up a bit ..after the person walk off ...the light go back dimmer a bit.

makav31i

TS you DIY the system or ask soneone to help install...I'm thinking of using zwave smart switch for my lighting or do you think using a smart bulb like the Phillips Hue is better as you won't need an electrician to lay the Earth wire for your lighting switch...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.