Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 5

LesterQ

Best bang for buck is subjective. For me I bought Crius Master V for $600, knowing that I will likely upgrade the components if I don't feel happy with the gear shifting. Even if so, it will be cheaper than if I go and buy a high end specs foldable bike which will cost more than 2K.

But right after I learned about an online shop that sells customised Crius bikes, I immediately felt that the one I bought was too "expensive" (in the sense that I prefer to change many components and the existing parts will go to waste.) I could have gotten a new foldable body for $300, and install all the specs to my liking. Not just the drive train components, but the entire groupset and wheelset. Heck, even the seatpost and stem/post as well. :s13:

Haha. I actually went to MBS and almost bought the Tyrell fx. But I'm justifying the purchase. So I'm looking out for other bikes. I am also feeling that the Tyrell's highest gear is about lacking.

Why do you need a folding bike? :o

Hide in my room lo.

I find it pretty lousy value given that a raleigh mv8 retails at 400 SGD or so maybe lesser, gives you enough spare cash to upgrade your crap wheels and buy a proper helmet

Sent from Asus ASUS_T00P using GAGT

Mini Velos cannot be folded leh. Unless Dahon athena?

Gixxerfied

Haha. I actually went to MBS and almost bought the Tyrell fx. But I'm justifying the purchase. So I'm looking out for other bikes. I am also feeling that the Tyrell's highest gear is about lacking.

Hide in my room lo.

Mini Velos cannot be folded leh. Unless Dahon athena?

From $799 Crius to Tyrell FX...

Big jump lehx...

VD

have you taken it out for a spin? the FX is the entry level bike, but it pack a punch.

Sadisticnoob

They are Giant bike agent.. and most of their giant road bike are using black color spoke. I think they should carry black color spoke to service their own bike and their bike ain't cheap.
At least they have spokes so you can ride again quickly

Have you ever waited 6 months for your spokes? I did when I broke my fulcrum racing zero

aromilk

If you do consider service millen of fusion cycle is good, I used his stuff before and his quite liberal in letting you try his stuff, basically just trade ic and can try his bikes liao, good if you're undecided and he's one of the most knowledgeable guy that runs a shop

Roger that. Will consider through on what you advice. Cheers bro

tonyc

At least they have spokes so you can ride again quickly

Have you ever waited 6 months for your spokes? I did when I broke my fulcrum racing zero

Black spoke can be easily get from AliExpress...

But being a Giant Bike distributor in Singapore. They should at least carry the basic parts with the same color parts to service the client's bike. What is the point of having 3 years warranty on my bike and worst, my spoke broke within 5 months time with only just few rides at PCN?

I am ok if they charge me but to have a different color spoke on my new bike is totally unacceptable.

Maybe you don't mind to have one outstanding different color spoke on your bike :s13:

aromilk

If you do consider service millen of fusion cycle is good, I used his stuff before and his quite liberal in letting you try his stuff, basically just trade ic and can try his bikes liao, good if you're undecided and he's one of the most knowledgeable guy that runs a shop

Bro, in your opinion which is more suitable for a beginner? F3, F5 or C3? They are within my budget

Sadisticnoob

Black spoke can be easily get from AliExpress...

But being a Giant Bike distributor in Singapore. They should at least carry the basic parts with the same color parts to service the client's bike. What is the point of having 3 years warranty on my bike and worst, my spoke broke within 5 months time with only just few rides at PCN?

I am ok if they charge me but to have a different color spoke on my new bike is totally unacceptable.

Maybe you don't mind to have one outstanding different color spoke on your bike :s13:
warranty doesnt cover wear and tear.

if you want go buy from ali express and fix yourself lor, or even better buy then give them do lor, you do know that spoke lengths come in multiple lengths and need to cut right, cannot anyhow buy.

can always go other bike shop and do wheel de, unless youre using wheels that require specific spokes like campagnolo or fulcurm

i dont really care about the colour of my bike or stuff as long as it works can liao
Bro, in your opinion which is more suitable for a beginner? F3, F5 or C3? They are within my budget
think get a road bike, flat bar on road bike looks weird to me

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.