what is the difference between a single module and dual module GPU??

kandinsky

Actually i want to ask is 2x2gb vram in a single card cause that what the repair guy told me..

Sorry for confusing you all...so it worked like a SLI but just that is in a single card right?

You need to find out an exact model name and number then we have something meaningful to talk about... All your comments are too vague, bits and pieces here and there, plus the repair guy could be wrong, or he could be smoking you, etc.

vickigoh

You need to find out an exact model name and number then we have something meaningful to talk about... All your comments are too vague, bits and pieces here and there, plus the repair guy could be wrong, or he could be smoking you, etc.

Actually i got find out the actual model but this card is not out yet in the market..so no info at all. He only told me is Palit GTX960 thunderstorm 2x2gb vram and is a dual gpu in a single card with premium warranty.

Sorry about my comments for being vague and bits and pieces..LOL.
As i din know got multi gpu in a single card too thought that the repair guy smoke me..so need to find out more only..

However seeing your comments then i know titan Z and R295x2 are using multi gpu in a single card..

My CPU just sent back to me and can find out more tonight.

enenyi

Actually i got find out the actual model but this card is not out yet in the market..so no info at all. He only told me is Palit GTX960 thunderstorm 2x2gb vram and is a dual gpu in a single card with premium warranty.

As i din know got multi gpu in a single card too thought that the repair guy smoke me..so need to find out more only..

However seeing your comments then i know titan Z and R295x2 are using multi gpu in a single card..

Woah power lah that repair guy...:s13:

U shld have smoked him back, say that dual-module Palit Thunderstorm card not powerful enough, need something like a quad-module Palit FireFox (coz fox got 4 feet) or 6-module Palit Dragon-claw...:s13::s13::s13:

But seriously, no such thing as Palit Thunderstorm. Palit's own custom design cooler is called Jetstream, and it recently launched StormX line of cards. Closest to "Thunderstorm" is MSI's "Lightning".

monikernemo

U shld have smoked him back, say that dual-module Palit Thunderstorm card not powerful enough, need something like a quad-module Palit FireFox (coz fox got 4 feet) or 6-module Palit Dragon-claw...:s13::s13::s13:

But seriously, no such thing as Palit Thunderstorm. Palit's own custom design cooler is called Jetstream, and it recently launched StormX line of cards. Closest to "Thunderstorm" is MSI's "Lightning".
:s22:

Sent from Huawei NEXUS 6P using GAGT

vickigoh

LOL...you are so funny leh ..but tonight i will see the graphic card box and the card itself .. i will know..

So far Storm X only GTX950..that why thot maybe is GTX960 storm X version lol

Palit dragon claw not enough...i prefer palit centipide better...more modules leh

wacko

LOL...you are so funny leh ..but tonight i will see the graphic card box and the card itself .. i will know..

So far Storm X only GTX950..that why thot maybe is GTX960 storm X version lol

Palit dragon claw not enough...i prefer palit centipide better...more modules leh

oh, so you bought into your repair man's advice? how much did you pay for this replacement graphics card?

wacko

going through the other threads that you have posted/created, I think you may have been duped big time.

please explain clearly, step by step, what is it that you have done/comunicated with this repair guy? specifically around your previous graphics card, were you the one who brought it to Asus service centre (it should not even go to Asus service centre, but rather the distributor), or was the repair guy who told you that Asus will not be covering the warranty of it?

kandinsky

Please GPGT when you have the chance :D

I just saw your thread: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/h...x-960-thunderstorm-2gb-duam-vram-5302339.html

Anyone heard of Palit Gtx 960 Thunderstorm 2gb duam vram??

I.heard that this card is not out yet so is that true??

Nobody except for your repairman would have heard of it cos it sounds like he has top-level secret access to Palit product development team.

AFAIK, Palit has never released any gpu with 'thundermaster' branding, and the only Palit product with the word 'thunder' in it seems to be their overclocking tool - Thundermaster :s13:

kandinsky

Not out in market but he has managed to sell it to you ah :s11: Power top-level secret access with Palit, your repair guy has.

Any chance you actually misheard some words/terms? Unless you have it in black and white, I think that's another possibility for all this confusion. Maybe he was just talking about a normal palit 960 with 4GB ram instead. Then mentioned Thundermaster app for overclocking and you remember it as 'thunderstorm' :s13:

wacko

worst case scenario, repair guy "makan" the GTX 980, claiming that it will not be covered under warranty by manufacturer, and sold Palit to TS at inflated "premium" pricing.

I do hope I'm wrong, but just can't help fearing the worst.

kandinsky

worst case scenario, repair guy "makan" the GTX 980, claiming that it will not be covered under warranty by manufacturer, and sold Palit to TS at inflated "premium" pricing.

I do hope I'm wrong, but just can't help fearing the worst.

This is seriously an exciting thread for a Monday, can't wait for TS to GPGT this mystery card + box tonight.

muddle

From their website, the storm moniker only appear on 950 and 750 storm x dual. Nothing out of the ordinary. It's a typical card with dual fan. It would be sad to see someone traded in their 980 for either of these.

vickigoh

From their website, the storm moniker only appear on 950 and 750 storm x dual. Nothing out of the ordinary. It's a typical card with dual fan. It would be sad to see someone traded in their 980 for either of these.

LOL..i never trade in my GTX980 as i still get back my card.

wacko

LOL..i never trade in my GTX980 as i still get back my card.

that's good. did you attempt to send the GTX 980 to Ban Leong Technologies for warranty service? and how much did you pay for the Palit?

vickigoh

Any updates on this special card?? You left us hanging :o

Sorry for waiting.. i think i kena smoked by him. He give me zotac GTX 950 OC 2gb and i ask him he still say actually this is better than palit one..zzzz

He still say got 2nd core something like that...i totally catch no ball ...

I am so upset and i am asking him to send me spec of the card .. still waiting also...

wacko

that's good. did you attempt to send the GTX 980 to Ban Leong Technologies for warranty service? and how much did you pay for the Palit?
in case you missed out both questions... not sure why you are avoiding these questions, we are ultimately trying to help.

kandinsky

Sorry for waiting.. i think i kena smoked by him. He give me zotac GTX 950 OC 2gb and i ask him he still say actually this is better than palit one..zzzz

He still say got 2nd core something like that...i totally catch no ball ...

I am so upset and i am asking him to send me spec of the card .. still waiting also...

Wah, not funny liao. Please remember to keep records of all your correspondence with this person (even phone calls if possible), in the event you need to make a police report, or pressure him to refund your $$.

If he continues with the BS, I would prioritize getting the rig back first. Confront him about getting your money back + police report after you get your rig back. Cos you dunno if he will try something funny to get back at you and you are left with nothing.

Is this repair guy a freelancer or what? Can give us the back story on how your system ended up with him?

vickigoh

in case you missed out both questions... not sure why you are avoiding these questions, we are ultimately trying to help.

Sorry din see these questions..ya i am arranging to send GTX980 to ban leong
and i think i got smoked by the repair guy as the product end up is a zotac GTX950 OC version...he claimed that is better than palit one..

i am asking him to sent me spec too.

Gloom me

Sorry din see these questions..ya i am arranging to send GTX980 to ban leong
and i think i got smoked by the repair guy as the product end up is a zotac GTX950 OC version...he claimed that is better than palit one..

i am asking him to sent me spec too.

Spec is here.

Can SIC your repair man? Want to check if he has any Palit secret card to sell.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.