[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wilsontan

Reaction score
Anybody knows how to re-index the files for Video Station?

I have a folder for Movies which now does not update and a tvshow folder which is constantly showing "indexing..." in Settings but never gets updated.

jtjt00

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Deciding on your need, then you can select the number of bays required:
https://www.synology.com/en-us/products/getting_started

I started off with a 2-bay ds212j before the current ds414 as my storage need increases.

Synology NAS does not comes with hard disk. WD Red is recommended.

I am new to NAS and looking at both 2-bays and 4-bays and really not sure which to use...most here using how many bays? Does the Synology come with HDD or do I have to purchase it separately? Any hdd to recommend to use if I were to purchase? Sorry for the noob questions..

makav31i

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Deciding on your need, then you can select the number of bays required:
https://www.synology.com/en-us/products/getting_started

I started off with a 2-bay ds212j before the current ds414 as my storage need increases.

Synology NAS does not comes with hard disk. WD Red is recommended.

Thanks for your input...Basically I want to use the NAS to download torrent when I am not at home, I want to be able to stream video, pictures and songs from my NAS both at home and outside, I want to be able to stream video to my chromecast at home..That is the main usage of the NAS...

discoburg

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Recently i keep having problems connecting to my NAS at home from my notebook in office. Anyone knows what could be the reason/s?

jtjt00

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
There are too many thing in between your NAS at home and accessing from office. Without any info, kinda hard to offer advice.