HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

The AMD Zen2 Ryzen 3000 Discussion Thread

Like Tree119Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 21-01-2020, 01:05 AM   #1501
Supremacy Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,822
Hmmm what's the flow setup - looks like it goes into the VRMs before the CPU block then the GPU?
Doesn't really matter... the water temp will normalize eventually. Highest diff is 1c.

Pump -> Flow sensor -> Rad 1 -> Rad 2 -> Temp sensor 1 -> Rad 3 -> VRM -> CPU -> GPU -> Temp sensor 2 -> Pump

Phil
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Mainboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Formula
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX1080Ti
Memory
32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Display
Acer x34
Storage
512GB Samsung 950 Pro + 6TB WD Green + 12TB Seagate Ironwolf
Casing
Lian Li PC-O11
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
Swan M60
OS
Win 10 Pro

Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2020, 08:49 AM   #1502
Supremacy Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,822
Lol. It's the stupid Aura Sync!! It's keeping my 3900x fully awake.

Phil
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Mainboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Formula
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX1080Ti
Memory
32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Display
Acer x34
Storage
512GB Samsung 950 Pro + 6TB WD Green + 12TB Seagate Ironwolf
Casing
Lian Li PC-O11
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
Swan M60
OS
Win 10 Pro

Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2020, 05:18 PM   #1503
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 235
Haha AMD Ryzen 5 3600 could be one of the best processors you can buy today.
charlesdygreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2020, 05:19 PM   #1504
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 235
Haha AMD Ryzen 5 3600 could be one of the best processors you can buy today.
AMD may have the top spot but it still has competition from Intel as sample!
charlesdygreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2020, 11:46 PM   #1505
High Supremacy Member
 
haylui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29,276
X570 Pro Carbon worth to get for 3700x ?

Sent from Samsung Galaxy Note 8 using GAGT
If that fits your budget. Otherwise get R5 3600 first then upgrade to r9 3900x or 3950x later
Processor
AMD FX 8350 + Antec Kuhler 920+ Corsair SP120 Perf
Mainboard
ASUS M5A97 PRO
Graphics Card
Sapphire HD7970
Memory
Corsair CMX16GX 4x4GB
Display
Philips 220CW
Storage
Transcend 128GB + 500GB WD Blue + 250GB seagate
Optical Storage
Samsung 22x DVD±RW
Casing
ThermalTake Level 10GTS
PSU
FSP AURUM 92+ Series PT-650M
Audio
VIA VT1828S + Logitech X-230
OS
Windows 10 Pro

haylui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 01:24 AM   #1506
Great Supremacy Member
 
||||||||||'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 52,991
Hi guys, can anyone recommend me a graphics card for my R5 3600.

not a gamer. budget $200~300. maybe can drive a 4K monitor i may get in the future?
|||||||||| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 03:23 AM   #1507
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,092
Hi guys, can anyone recommend me a graphics card for my R5 3600.

not a gamer. budget $200~300. maybe can drive a 4K monitor i may get in the future?
If you up your budget to >$400, have better choices for running games at 4K smoothly.

Otherwise, maybe a 2nd-hand GTX1070 and above, or a brand-new GTX 1660 Super onwards. But these are for 1080p at >100fps, 4K smooth gameplay have to depend on what games.

(Oo nice, hit my 1000th post)

Last edited by Nuclear Boy; 22-01-2020 at 03:27 AM..
Processor
AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Mainboard
MSI B450M Mortar Max
Graphics Card
ZOTAC GTX1070Ti
Memory
2x8G Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200C16 @ 3800C16
Display
PRISM+ W270 v2
Storage
512GB ADATA SX8200 Pro & 1TB WD Blue 7200rpm
Casing
Sharkoon T28 (green)
PSU
Corsair HX650 80+ Gold (modular)
Audio
Onboard Realtek ALC892
OS
Windows 10 Professional x64

Nuclear Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 09:19 AM   #1508
Supremacy Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,822
For those of you using Asus X570 boards, please dump Aura Sync, Armour Crate n AI Suite as these bloatware cause wild high idle temp!!!

Asus' lighting service, in particular, is infamous for causing high CPU load. This is most severe when running most RGB patterns except for static n breathing.

What's more, it's a know issue first reported many years ago n Asus has yet to resolve it! Hopeless.

Phil
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Mainboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Formula
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX1080Ti
Memory
32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Display
Acer x34
Storage
512GB Samsung 950 Pro + 6TB WD Green + 12TB Seagate Ironwolf
Casing
Lian Li PC-O11
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
Swan M60
OS
Win 10 Pro

Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 09:45 AM   #1509
Moderator
 
ragnarok95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 112,486
So your temp improved after shutting down all these?
__________________
i7 | 32GB | 1070FE | Soldam WiNDy FC500 | 650w



Hello, Are you Captain Obvious?
ragnarok95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 10:07 AM   #1510
Supremacy Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,822
So your temp improved after shutting down all these?
Idle temp now is around 39c. Room temp is around 30++.

Phil
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Mainboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Formula
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX1080Ti
Memory
32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Display
Acer x34
Storage
512GB Samsung 950 Pro + 6TB WD Green + 12TB Seagate Ironwolf
Casing
Lian Li PC-O11
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
Swan M60
OS
Win 10 Pro

Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 10:14 AM   #1511
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 824
I got some basic question as I'm struggling to understand the maximum memory speed I can achieve with Ryzen. Assuming this:

Ryzen 3 3200G
-System Memory Specification 2933MHz
Gigabyte B450 I AORUS Pro Wifi
-DDR4 3600/3466/3200(OC), 2933/2667/2133Mhz
Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200Mhz
-3200Mhz

1) When i first install, by default, what MHz speed it will default to? 2933Mhz?
2) Can I overclock to 3200Mhz even if the Ryzen 3 3200G specs says system specification is 2933Mhz
3) With the above setup, is this optimal setup or would you recommend something else? Moneyface rig was recommending 2666Mhz and 2933Mhz memory sticks.

Last edited by Project_Xco; 22-01-2020 at 10:17 AM..
Project_Xco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 10:30 AM   #1512
Supremacy Member
 
Koenig168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,497
1) When i first install, by default, what MHz speed it will default to? 2933Mhz?
2) Can I overclock to 3200Mhz even if the Ryzen 3 3200G specs says system specification is 2933Mhz
3) With the above setup, is this optimal setup or would you recommend something else? Moneyface rig was recommending 2666Mhz and 2933Mhz memory sticks.
1. 2133 MHz, you have to set XMP or manually set for higher speeds

2. Yes

3. At current prices, you should go for DDR4-3200. Ryzen benefits from higher RAM speeds.

Last edited by Koenig168; 22-01-2020 at 10:34 AM..
Processor
Ryzen 3700X
Mainboard
Gigabyte AX370 Aorus Gaming K7
Graphics Card
Galax GTX 1070Ti EX-SNPR
Memory
Team T-Force Night Hawk 2X8GB DDR4-3200@3600 16-17-19-36 1.36V
Display
Acer Predator Z35
Storage
Adata 2TB SX8200 Pro + Sandisk 480GB Extreme Pro + 2X4TB HGST NAS + 8TB Seagate Barracuda
Casing
Phanteks P400S
PSU
Corsair AX1200i
OS
Windows 10 Pro

Koenig168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 12:15 PM   #1513
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 824
okay thanks for the answer.

For #1, why does it default to 2133Mhz?
Project_Xco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 12:44 PM   #1514
Senior Member
 
MrAwesomeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,555
If you up your budget to >$400, have better choices for running games at 4K smoothly.

Otherwise, maybe a 2nd-hand GTX1070 and above, or a brand-new GTX 1660 Super onwards. But these are for 1080p at >100fps, 4K smooth gameplay have to depend on what games.

(Oo nice, hit my 1000th post)
wait for 5600XT .
dun bother with gtx1660 super and below already redundant tech

4K gaming? u need at least ~800 and above lol. Higher Frames are always better than pixels especially in shooting/fighting games which is pretty much most AAA titles.
__________________
USER NOTE: STOP SPAMMING MY PM WITH ADS.

Last edited by MrAwesomeX; 22-01-2020 at 01:01 PM..
MrAwesomeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 01:13 PM   #1515
Supremacy Member
 
Koenig168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,497
okay thanks for the answer.

For #1, why does it default to 2133Mhz?
DDR4-2133 is the DDR4 memory standard.
Processor
Ryzen 3700X
Mainboard
Gigabyte AX370 Aorus Gaming K7
Graphics Card
Galax GTX 1070Ti EX-SNPR
Memory
Team T-Force Night Hawk 2X8GB DDR4-3200@3600 16-17-19-36 1.36V
Display
Acer Predator Z35
Storage
Adata 2TB SX8200 Pro + Sandisk 480GB Extreme Pro + 2X4TB HGST NAS + 8TB Seagate Barracuda
Casing
Phanteks P400S
PSU
Corsair AX1200i
OS
Windows 10 Pro

Koenig168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On