HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

The AMD Zen2 Ryzen 3000 Discussion Thread

Like Tree504Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 18-08-2020, 09:39 AM   #4861
Senior Member
 
NightRaven49's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1,216
I'm also limited by the size of my Tecware Nexus M case.
the size of the nexus m isnt the problem, the case itself is. i also have this case and temperatures are pretty bad, primarily due to the very thin and restricted side intake. do consider other cases like the silverstone ps15.
Processor
Intel Xeon E5-2696v2/Core i7-4510U
Mainboard
HUANANZHI X79-6M/Lenovo Cherry 4A
Graphics Card
ASUS ROG Strix Radeon RX580 8GB OC/Intel HD Graphics 4400
Memory
2x4GB Crucial DDR3 1600MHz/4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Display
Dell S2418H
Storage
Intel 545S 512GB SSD/Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Casing
Tecware Nexus M/Lenovo U430p
PSU
Super Flower Iceberg Golden Butterfly GX450
OS
windoze 10/ubuntu 18.04 (both PC and laptop)

NightRaven49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 09:47 AM   #4862
Master Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,889
Any recommendations for an aftermarket cooler to replace the stock Wraith Stealth?

Previously, my idle temps for Ryzen 3600 was 40 degrees. Then I realized the BIOS autoset my RAM frequency to 2666Mhz even though my RAMs were 3200Mhz. After enabling XMP profile to use the correct frequency, gaming performance improved but now my idle temps shot up to 50 degrees!

I have a used fullly working Hyper 212X from my previous Ivy Bridge setup. But the AM4 upgrade kit to use it is no longer available in the local market.

I'm also limited by the size of my Tecware Nexus M case.

Would appreciate any advice from the experts here. Many thanks!
Try setting a more aggressive cpu fan curve in bios.
And use AMD's Ryzen Balanced power plan in windows, if you are not currently using it.

Last edited by Beefsteak; 18-08-2020 at 06:43 PM..
Beefsteak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 01:38 PM   #4863
Supremacy Member
 
AnTiLooP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,079
Try enable AMD Cool n' Quiet in your bios. I think it's set to auto which is off by default.
And use AMD's Ryzen Balanced power plan in windows, if you are not currently using it.
cool and quiet is no longer an option for x570 chipsets. It was removed approx a year ago via AMD agesa code. This makes sense for zen2 since power management is well taken care off by the platform automatically.
Processor
R9-3950X | NZXT-Z73
Mainboard
AORUS X570 Master
Graphics Card
AORUS 1080Ti
Memory
G.Skill Trident-Z 3200Mhz 32GB CL16
Display
ROG-PG348Q | Dell-2713H | Sony-TV
Storage
960Evo 500GB | 840Pro 256GB | Lexar 1TB | Synology-DS413
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo Primo
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
SoundBlaster-Z | Logitech G560 2.1
OS
WIN10 Pro

AnTiLooP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 01:40 PM   #4864
Supremacy Member
 
AnTiLooP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,079
Any recommendations for an aftermarket cooler to replace the stock Wraith Stealth?

Previously, my idle temps for Ryzen 3600 was 40 degrees. Then I realized the BIOS autoset my RAM frequency to 2666Mhz even though my RAMs were 3200Mhz. After enabling XMP profile to use the correct frequency, gaming performance improved but now my idle temps shot up to 50 degrees!

I have a used fullly working Hyper 212X from my previous Ivy Bridge setup. But the AM4 upgrade kit to use it is no longer available in the local market.

I'm also limited by the size of my Tecware Nexus M case.

Would appreciate any advice from the experts here. Many thanks!
I'm guessing the increase is related to the effective IF difference between 1333 Vs 1600.

Assuming proper mounting is in place, using the Ryzen power plan is your best bet.
Processor
R9-3950X | NZXT-Z73
Mainboard
AORUS X570 Master
Graphics Card
AORUS 1080Ti
Memory
G.Skill Trident-Z 3200Mhz 32GB CL16
Display
ROG-PG348Q | Dell-2713H | Sony-TV
Storage
960Evo 500GB | 840Pro 256GB | Lexar 1TB | Synology-DS413
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo Primo
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
SoundBlaster-Z | Logitech G560 2.1
OS
WIN10 Pro

AnTiLooP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 04:36 PM   #4865
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 36
noctua a12x25 pwm 12v finally restocked at newegg!
I mistakenly bought the 5V PWM version the other day

Anyone has any experience returning an item to Newegg? What's the cheapest shipping alternative? They quoted me $30 if ship with UPS..
Processor
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Mainboard
ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming ITX
Graphics Card
Nvidia GeForce 2070 Super FE
Memory
G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x8GB 3200MHz CL16
Display
AOC 24G2
Storage
WD Black SN750 1TB
Casing
NCase M1
PSU
Corsair SF600 Gold
Audio
Edifier R19U + Cooler Master MH752
OS
Windows 10 Pro

zxLvvv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 10:23 PM   #4866
Supremacy Member
 
AnTiLooP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,079
Aorus x570 master owners, will a failed ram overclock result in a unpostable system ?
Processor
R9-3950X | NZXT-Z73
Mainboard
AORUS X570 Master
Graphics Card
AORUS 1080Ti
Memory
G.Skill Trident-Z 3200Mhz 32GB CL16
Display
ROG-PG348Q | Dell-2713H | Sony-TV
Storage
960Evo 500GB | 840Pro 256GB | Lexar 1TB | Synology-DS413
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo Primo
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
SoundBlaster-Z | Logitech G560 2.1
OS
WIN10 Pro

AnTiLooP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 10:24 PM   #4867
Supremacy Member
 
Charlie_Zhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5,697
Aorus x570 master owners, will a failed ram overclock result in a unpostable system ?
yes. it will either boot loop for a couple of times and auto clear cmos or you would need to manually clear cmos.


Last edited by Charlie_Zhan; 18-08-2020 at 10:28 PM..
Processor
AMD Ryzen 5900X + IS-60 HSF
Mainboard
Gigabyte X570-I Aorus Pro Wi-Fi
Graphics Card
GeForce RTX 3080 FE
Memory
Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200MHz DDR4 32GB (16GBx2) CL16
Display
Acer VG272U P
Storage
Sabrent Rocket NVMe 4.0 2TB x2 in RAID 0 + Crucial MX500 2TB
Casing
Fractal Design Node 202
PSU
Corsair SF600 80 PLUS Platinum
OS
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Charlie_Zhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 10:35 PM   #4868
Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,780
yes. it will either boot loop for a couple of times and auto clear cmos or you would need to manually clear cmos.


Yup experienced it when i pushed my RAMs to far the other time.
Nothing to worry. At most clear CMOS. I also saved my preferred settings on a USB stick in the case I need them.
Processor
Ryzen 7 3700X + ML360R AIO
Mainboard
Aorus X570 Master
Graphics Card
EVGA RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra UV Edition
Memory
32GB (2 x 16GB) GSkill Trident Z Neo 3600Mhz CL16
Display
LG 27UL850-W
Storage
Corsair MP600 1TB + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2TB + Samsung Evo 860 500GB
Optical Storage
Will buy if there's a need.....
Casing
CM H500M
PSU
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Audio
Onboard
OS
Windows 10 Pro

Proximus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 12:16 AM   #4869
Supremacy Member
 
Charlie_Zhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5,697
cool and quiet is no longer an option for x570 chipsets. It was removed approx a year ago via AMD agesa code. This makes sense for zen2 since power management is well taken care off by the platform automatically.
its still there.


Processor
AMD Ryzen 5900X + IS-60 HSF
Mainboard
Gigabyte X570-I Aorus Pro Wi-Fi
Graphics Card
GeForce RTX 3080 FE
Memory
Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200MHz DDR4 32GB (16GBx2) CL16
Display
Acer VG272U P
Storage
Sabrent Rocket NVMe 4.0 2TB x2 in RAID 0 + Crucial MX500 2TB
Casing
Fractal Design Node 202
PSU
Corsair SF600 80 PLUS Platinum
OS
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Charlie_Zhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 08:56 AM   #4870
Supremacy Member
 
AnTiLooP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,079
its still there.


Interesting cause AMD did remove it from agesa. What Board and bios version ? Aorus master x570 here and I don't see the option. F21
Processor
R9-3950X | NZXT-Z73
Mainboard
AORUS X570 Master
Graphics Card
AORUS 1080Ti
Memory
G.Skill Trident-Z 3200Mhz 32GB CL16
Display
ROG-PG348Q | Dell-2713H | Sony-TV
Storage
960Evo 500GB | 840Pro 256GB | Lexar 1TB | Synology-DS413
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo Primo
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
SoundBlaster-Z | Logitech G560 2.1
OS
WIN10 Pro

AnTiLooP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 08:57 AM   #4871
Supremacy Member
 
AnTiLooP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,079
Yup experienced it when i pushed my RAMs to far the other time.
Nothing to worry. At most clear CMOS. I also saved my preferred settings on a USB stick in the case I need them.
I'm going to try getting my rams to 3600 from current xmp3200.
Processor
R9-3950X | NZXT-Z73
Mainboard
AORUS X570 Master
Graphics Card
AORUS 1080Ti
Memory
G.Skill Trident-Z 3200Mhz 32GB CL16
Display
ROG-PG348Q | Dell-2713H | Sony-TV
Storage
960Evo 500GB | 840Pro 256GB | Lexar 1TB | Synology-DS413
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo Primo
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
SoundBlaster-Z | Logitech G560 2.1
OS
WIN10 Pro

AnTiLooP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 09:21 AM   #4872
Moderator
 
ragnarok95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 114,488
The Ryzen 9 3900 is quite a nice chip, 65W tdp.
__________________
i7 | 32gb | gtx | 5tb | Soldam WiNDy Altium FC500 | 650w | 27
ragnarok95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 09:37 AM   #4873
Senior Member
 
hafiz116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,154
The Ryzen 9 3900 is quite a nice chip, 65W tdp.
Don't you mean Ryzen 7? Ryzen 9 is 105w tdp,...

Sorry my bad,... without the X is 65w tdp

Last edited by hafiz116; 19-08-2020 at 09:39 AM..
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X Aorus Liquid Cooler 360 & Ryzen 9 3950X
Mainboard
Gigabyte x570 Aorus Xtreme / ASUS ROG Strix X570-I Gaming
Graphics Card
Gigabyte 3080 Eagle / Gigabyte RTX 2080 Ti Aorus Xtreme 11Gb OC / GTX 1070 Founders Edition
Memory
64GB (16GB x 4) G.Skill Trident Z Neo RGB 3600Mhz CL16
Display
Dell Ultrasharp 32 4K U3219Q / Dell Alienware AW3420DW
Storage
Aorus NVMe Gen 4 SSD 1TB x2 / Sabrent 1TB & 2TB Rocket Nvme PCIe 4.0
Casing
Lian Li PC-011 Dynamic Razer edition / NZXT H1
PSU
Corsair AX850
OS
Windows 10 Pro x64

hafiz116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 09:37 AM   #4874
Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,780
The Ryzen 9 3900 is quite a nice chip, 65W tdp.
From what I know, it is not available for mass consumer but for system builders / SIs..

I know HP OMEN system using it.
Processor
Ryzen 7 3700X + ML360R AIO
Mainboard
Aorus X570 Master
Graphics Card
EVGA RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra UV Edition
Memory
32GB (2 x 16GB) GSkill Trident Z Neo 3600Mhz CL16
Display
LG 27UL850-W
Storage
Corsair MP600 1TB + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2TB + Samsung Evo 860 500GB
Optical Storage
Will buy if there's a need.....
Casing
CM H500M
PSU
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Audio
Onboard
OS
Windows 10 Pro

Proximus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 09:47 AM   #4875
Moderator
 
ragnarok95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 114,488
From what I know, it is not available for mass consumer but for system builders / SIs..

I know HP OMEN system using it.
Yap, Omen using it!
__________________
i7 | 32gb | gtx | 5tb | Soldam WiNDy Altium FC500 | 650w | 27
ragnarok95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On