HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

The AMD Zen2 Ryzen 3000 Discussion Thread

Like Tree113Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 27-10-2019, 02:19 AM   #796
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 348
1. Depends on which b450
2. MANY videos out there with VRM checks for many b450 boards. Go research a bit before assuming things.
Hi bro

thanks for the reply

i bought asus b450-f gaming

did some research that the VRM is 4+2 phase (am i wrong?), and most people do not recommend to use this motherboard with 3900x, is this true? thanks
nickyviii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2019, 09:50 AM   #797
Senior Member
 
12122012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 875
Hi bro

thanks for the reply

i bought asus b450-f gaming

did some research that the VRM is 4+2 phase (am i wrong?), and most people do not recommend to use this motherboard with 3900x, is this true? thanks
https://i.redd.it/v41vtfrvxkk31.png
https://www.techspot.com/bestof/amd-b450-motherboards/
MSI B450 Tomahawk is cheaper and better than asus b450-f gaming. as for "motherboard with 3900x" since u r spending so much on cpu at least get a X570 mb like ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus which is highly recommended for Best Value.

Last edited by 12122012; 27-10-2019 at 11:14 AM..
Processor
[MainPC] AMD R7 3700X | [HTPC] Intel Pentium G4560 | [Family] Intel i5-4690 | [Spare] Intel i3-4170
Mainboard
ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi) | ASRock H110M-HDV R3.0 | Asus Vanguard B85 | ASRock H81M-HDS R2.0
Graphics Card
SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX480 4GB | Intel HD610 | Intel HD4600 | Palit GTX750 Ti StormX Dual 2GB
Memory
Corsair V. LPX 16GB DDR4 3200MHz | Corsair V. LPX 8GB | Kingston HyperX 16GB | Kingston HyperX 8GB
Display
Dell SE2717H IPS FreeSync | Sharp LC40LE460X | Dell UltraSharp U2412M | -
Storage
Adata SX8200 Pro 512GB+1TB+WD Blue 500GB | Transcend SSD370S 256GB | SSD370S 256GB | SSD370S 256GB
Optical Storage
Sony Optiarc AD-7280S | - | - | SONY DRU-870S
Casing
Cooler Master K282 ATX | Jonsbo C2 Micro-ATX | Deepcool Smarter Micro-ATX | Cooler Master Elite 342
PSU
Superflower Leadex II Gold 92+ 650W | Seasonic G-Series 450W | FSP Aurum S 500W | Seasonic M12II-520
Audio
Realtek® ALC S1200A | Realtek® ALC 887 | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS | Realtek® ALC 662
OS
Windows 10 on all PCs

12122012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2019, 11:01 AM   #798
Supremacy Member
 
Koenig168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,467
hi bros

need your advice pls.

i made a mistake by pairing 3900x with b450 motherboard

i read many reviews that b450 have poor VRM design and i am worried about VRM temperature. I do not do any CPU overclocking.

1) Should I continue using the b450 motherboard?

2) Should I upgrade b450 to x470/x570 with better VRMs?

Thank you
You can run Prime95 for 15 mins or so to stress the VRMs and check the VRM temps. If you manage to hit 90C, stop the test.

For comparison, my max VRM temp is 65C with the 3700X on full load with Prime95.
Processor
Ryzen 3700X
Mainboard
Gigabyte AX370 Aorus Gaming K7
Graphics Card
Galax GTX 1070Ti EX-SNPR
Memory
Team T-Force Night Hawk 2X8GB DDR4-3200@3600 16-17-19-36 1.36V
Display
Acer Predator Z35
Storage
Adata 2TB SX8200 Pro + Sandisk 480GB Extreme Pro + 2X4TB HGST NAS + 8TB Seagate Barracuda
Casing
Phanteks P400S
PSU
Corsair AX1200i
OS
Windows 10 Pro

Koenig168 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2019, 01:25 PM   #799
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Rashkae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,927
The b450-f gaming is a so-so board only. Weak VRM, but if they are cooled properly it's ok. Still, you're on a 3900x - it's like putting a Ferrari engine into a Toyota Corolla.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X
Mainboard
Gigabyte Aorux Xtreme x570
Graphics Card
MSI 2080Ti Trio X
Memory
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB (4x8GB)
Display
Alienware 3418DW
Storage
Sabrent 2TB PCIE-4
Optical Storage
Who needs one
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo EvolvX
PSU
Asus ROG Thor 850w
OS
Windows 10 Pro 64

Rashkae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2019, 02:25 PM   #800
Senior Member
 
MrAwesomeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,531
hi bros

need your advice pls.

i made a mistake by pairing 3900x with b450 motherboard

i read many reviews that b450 have poor VRM design and i am worried about VRM temperature. I do not do any CPU overclocking.

1) Should I continue using the b450 motherboard?

2) Should I upgrade b450 to x470/x570 with better VRMs?

Thank you
Add more fans to your casing ... preferably RGB ones hehehe.

If you dun oc CPU and good airflow in casing there's little to worry abt.
MrAwesomeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 07:20 PM   #801
Master Member
 
SKinny86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,695
Can someone enlighten me, i'm having ryzen 3600 with tomahawk max, but cpuz and task manager showing 4200mhz and temps are idling arnd 60 degrees!


Last edited by SKinny86; 30-10-2019 at 07:23 PM..
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3600 w Corsair H100i GTX
Mainboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Graphics Card
ZOTAC GAMING GeForce RTX 2060 AMP
Memory
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB
Display
PRISM+ F270i Pro
Storage
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB / Samsung 840 Evo 250GB / Toshiba Red 1TB
Casing
NZXT H500
PSU
Corsair RX650 Modular
Audio
Creative X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro & Creative Gigaworks T3
OS
Windows 10 Pro

SKinny86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 07:44 PM   #802
Senior Member
 
12122012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 875
Can someone enlighten me, i'm having ryzen 3600 with tomahawk max, but cpuz and task manager showing 4200mhz and temps are idling arnd 60 degrees!

only use Ryzen Master to monitor your cpu. other softwares can cause an "observer effect" where the monitoring itself causes the clocks to stay higher, thus increasing temps.

u using stock cooler? can play around with cpu fan settings... i set mine @ min 50% to maintain low 40s at idle if in silent mode will be in the 50s... since i don't hear any fan noise i leave it @ 50%. else u can just buy a Snowman CPU Cooler for less than $20.
https://www.lazada.sg/catalog/?from=...&sort=priceasc


Last edited by 12122012; 08-01-2020 at 07:43 AM..
Processor
[MainPC] AMD R7 3700X | [HTPC] Intel Pentium G4560 | [Family] Intel i5-4690 | [Spare] Intel i3-4170
Mainboard
ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi) | ASRock H110M-HDV R3.0 | Asus Vanguard B85 | ASRock H81M-HDS R2.0
Graphics Card
SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX480 4GB | Intel HD610 | Intel HD4600 | Palit GTX750 Ti StormX Dual 2GB
Memory
Corsair V. LPX 16GB DDR4 3200MHz | Corsair V. LPX 8GB | Kingston HyperX 16GB | Kingston HyperX 8GB
Display
Dell SE2717H IPS FreeSync | Sharp LC40LE460X | Dell UltraSharp U2412M | -
Storage
Adata SX8200 Pro 512GB+1TB+WD Blue 500GB | Transcend SSD370S 256GB | SSD370S 256GB | SSD370S 256GB
Optical Storage
Sony Optiarc AD-7280S | - | - | SONY DRU-870S
Casing
Cooler Master K282 ATX | Jonsbo C2 Micro-ATX | Deepcool Smarter Micro-ATX | Cooler Master Elite 342
PSU
Superflower Leadex II Gold 92+ 650W | Seasonic G-Series 450W | FSP Aurum S 500W | Seasonic M12II-520
Audio
Realtek® ALC S1200A | Realtek® ALC 887 | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS | Realtek® ALC 662
OS
Windows 10 on all PCs

12122012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 08:15 PM   #803
Master Member
 
SKinny86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,695
long story short... only use Ryzen Master to monitor your cpu. as for temps, u using stock cooler? it takes time for the TIM to "sit-in". mine takes about 2-3 weeks... from ~53c to ~43c during idle.
Ahh thanks for the enlightenment!
Now my temps and cpu looks more normal.

Last edited by SKinny86; 30-10-2019 at 08:18 PM..
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3600 w Corsair H100i GTX
Mainboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Graphics Card
ZOTAC GAMING GeForce RTX 2060 AMP
Memory
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB
Display
PRISM+ F270i Pro
Storage
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB / Samsung 840 Evo 250GB / Toshiba Red 1TB
Casing
NZXT H500
PSU
Corsair RX650 Modular
Audio
Creative X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro & Creative Gigaworks T3
OS
Windows 10 Pro

SKinny86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 08:28 PM   #804
High Supremacy Member
 
firezero10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26,348
Ahh thanks for the enlightenment!
Now my temps and cpu looks more normal.

Stock cooler?
Processor
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 w/ Cryorig H7 Plus
Mainboard
ASRock B450 Steel Legend
Graphics Card
Palit GTX 1070Ti Jetstream
Memory
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB DDR4-3200 CL16 16GB
Display
Prism+ F270i Pro + Dell 2311H
Storage
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + Samsung F3 1TB
Casing
NZXT H500
PSU
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Audio
Altec Lansing VS2621/ Audio Technica ATH-M50X/ Sennheiser HD598SR
OS
Windows 10 64-bit

firezero10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 08:57 PM   #805
Master Member
 
SKinny86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,695
Stock cooler?
Corsair H100i AIO, but in balanced mode. In performance mode brings it down to abt 46 degrees
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3600 w Corsair H100i GTX
Mainboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Graphics Card
ZOTAC GAMING GeForce RTX 2060 AMP
Memory
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB
Display
PRISM+ F270i Pro
Storage
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB / Samsung 840 Evo 250GB / Toshiba Red 1TB
Casing
NZXT H500
PSU
Corsair RX650 Modular
Audio
Creative X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro & Creative Gigaworks T3
OS
Windows 10 Pro

SKinny86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 09:54 PM   #806
Member
 
StationA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 423
one finding about the memory latency:
today I lowered the VDDCR SOC from 1.1v to 1.05v and then to 1.0v use Ryzen Master. the latency not changed when undervolt from 1.1 to 1.05. but after I set it to 1.0, the latency increased more than 3ns.
StationA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2019, 11:42 AM   #807
High Supremacy Member
 
MacClipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 33,362
one finding about the memory latency:
today I lowered the VDDCR SOC from 1.1v to 1.05v and then to 1.0v use Ryzen Master. the latency not changed when undervolt from 1.1 to 1.05. but after I set it to 1.0, the latency increased more than 3ns.
Is the RAM tested stable? DDR4 is supposed to have some form of error correction.

I currently run mine at low volts (1.3625V) cos trying to run cool on a mITX setup.

Ryzen 5 3600 running at DDR4-3600 scoring 3600 in Cinebench R20. lol

__________________
♪ What good is life, if in the end we all must die... ♫

Looking to Casket Late-eX for Intel...
MacClipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2019, 04:04 PM   #808
Senior Member
 
neomages's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,665
one finding about the memory latency:
today I lowered the VDDCR SOC from 1.1v to 1.05v and then to 1.0v use Ryzen Master. the latency not changed when undervolt from 1.1 to 1.05. but after I set it to 1.0, the latency increased more than 3ns.
My experience is that ryzen master's voltage change may not be the same as changing in bios.

Whatever i tested to be stable when using ryzen master to change voltage, becomes unstable when i change the setting in bios.

Not sure about the rest though.
Processor
Ryzen 5 3600 w Cryorig R1 Ultimate @ 4.25GHz
Mainboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Graphics Card
Palit RTX 2060
Memory
Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 8GB x 2
Display
BenQ XL2411Z + DELL S2340L
Casing
Fractal Design Meshify C Dark TG
PSU
Seasonic X-750
OS
Window 10 x64

neomages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2019, 07:05 PM   #809
Member
 
StationA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 423
Is the RAM tested stable? DDR4 is supposed to have some form of error correction.

I currently run mine at low volts (1.3625V) cos trying to run cool on a mITX setup.

Ryzen 5 3600 running at DDR4-3600 scoring 3600 in Cinebench R20. lol

I did a quick memtest and no errors. but seems not stable, today it crash when gaming. I increased to 1.075v seems become stable now.

My experience is that ryzen master's voltage change may not be the same as changing in bios.

Whatever i tested to be stable when using ryzen master to change voltage, becomes unstable when i change the setting in bios.

Not sure about the rest though.
some settings only visible in Ryzen Master, for example the VDDCR SOC I changed above is not exist in my MB's BIOS. and the change use Ryzen master will persistent even after reboot. (this makes me belive that must be very carefull when change those parameters, as if goes wrong can only power off and move the CPU out from the MB to get settings cleared.
StationA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 08:40 AM   #810
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 223
just got myself upgraded to a ryzen 3600 and rx 5700.. going full amd this time.

reading thru here, its better to use ryzen master to do OC than to do it in the bios?
Processor
Ryzen R5 3600 w/ Cryorig H7
Mainboard
ASUS Strix B450-F
Graphics Card
Powercolor RX 5700 Red Dragon
Memory
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 3600MHz 2x8GB Cl18
Display
Crossover 144hz Fast (27", 2,560 x 1,440)
Storage
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB + Sandisk X600 1TB
Casing
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
PSU
Coolermaster MWE Gold 650W

Zijin_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On