HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

The AMD Zen2 Ryzen 3000 Discussion Thread

Like Tree84Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 17-11-2019, 06:42 PM   #856
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 29
Hi just wanna check with you guys. Is it normal for ryzen cores to spike up in temperature even while idling? Ryzen master seems more stable while coretemp and argus monitor seems to jump a bit too high. Had to adjust fanspeed accordingly
Bergdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2019, 11:44 PM   #857
Supremacy Member
 
Gaminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,236
Ran 3DMark on my rig to stress it, finally managed to get one core to hit 4.6Ghz or higher.....running BIOS version F10C from GB website, Windows 10 v1909.
Koenig168 likes this.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X+Tt Water 3.0 360/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X+H150i Pro/i7 4770K+ Tt Floe Riing 360
Mainboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus Rampage IV Extreme/Asrock Z87 Extreme6
Graphics Card
PC Vega64 Red Devil/2x GB RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC//LeadTek GTX1080 Hurricane
Memory
4x 8GB XPG D60G DDR4 3200/4x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator 2133/2x 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 2133
Display
Acer XR341CK 21:9/Samsung C49HG90DME 32:9/Panasonic 65" 4K TV
Storage
256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe M.2 (OS) + 4TB 860 EVO + 2TB 860 QVO + 2x 1TB 850 EVO + 6TB WD Black
Optical Storage
Liteon EB1 BR RW + Asus SBW-06D2X-U
Casing
CM MasterCase H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
PSU
Corsair HX1000 Plat/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MAX REVO 1500
Audio
Oppo HA1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD BL + Samsung HW-K651/Mobo Audio + Samsung HW-N650
OS
64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro

Gaminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2019, 12:43 AM   #858
Senior Member
 
MrAwesomeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,472
Hi just wanna check with you guys. Is it normal for ryzen cores to spike up in temperature even while idling? Ryzen master seems more stable while coretemp and argus monitor seems to jump a bit too high. Had to adjust fanspeed accordingly
suppose to be normal.
https://linustechtips.com/main/topic...pikes-on-idle/
__________________
Pm 4 my shopback referal
MrAwesomeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 10:39 PM   #859
Senior Member
 
Xethos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 651
I'm thinking of upgrading my CPU to a AMD Ryzen to replace my old i5. Last time I used AMD was back it the Athlon64 days if I remember.

I will be using back most of my components as listed on the right.
Will be running games for the PC as the old CPU seems to be a bottleneck for my GTX1070ti card.

Thinking of getting:
AMD Ryzen 3600
MSI Tomahawk Max B450 - bundled for $444
Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz $117

Are these items fine and do I need a non-stock CPU cooler?


Been using my updated Ryzen system for the last couple of weeks, really satisfied with it. I went for the MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC MB instead, and got a Deepcool Gamaxx GTE cooler. Wiring is not the neatest but compared to my old system which is a mess, this is very good already haha.

Also added in a M.2 Kingston SSD bought during 11.11 sale.
Mugenpower78 likes this.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3600
Mainboard
MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX 1070Ti
Memory
Corsair Vengeance Pro 3200MHz RGB 2x8GB
Display
Qnix QX2710 27" 1440p 90Hz, Prism+ 24" 144Hz
Storage
Samsung 860Evo 500GB, Transcend SSD370S 256GB, Toshiba 2TB, Samsung T5 500GB, Kingston A2000 500GB
Casing
Tecware Nexus Evo
PSU
Seasonic 620W
OS
Win 10 Pro

Xethos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2019, 12:38 AM   #860
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 229

Been using my updated Ryzen system for the last couple of weeks, really satisfied with it. I went for the MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC MB instead, and got a Deepcool Gamaxx GTE cooler. Wiring is not the neatest but compared to my old system which is a mess, this is very good already haha.

Also added in a M.2 Kingston SSD bought during 11.11 sale.
my i5-2400 motherboard cap just exploded on me today so time to change. I'm looking at the b450 msi pro carbon and x570 gigabyte aorus elite. gonna be running the system 24/7 again too but cant decide which
d4rkw1sH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2019, 01:50 PM   #861
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 49
I recently upgraded by GPU to a GTX1660 Super from a GTX 1050, but then I realised that my CPU (i5-7600) is bottlenecking my GPU, especially in open world games like AC and GTA V where I struggle to maintain 60fps.

I'm looking to upgrade my i5-7600 to a Ryzen 5 3600, but is the performance gain worth replacing my entire CPU + Motherboard for? or should I go for a 2600 or just wait out for Gen 4?
Processor
Intel i5-7600 @ 3.5GHz
Mainboard
MSI H110i Pro AC
Graphics Card
ZOTAC GTX 1050 Ti
Memory
8GB DDR4
Display
Dell U2417H
Storage
120GB SSD

weeasee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2019, 06:15 PM   #862
Senior Member
 
MrAwesomeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,472
I recently upgraded by GPU to a GTX1660 Super from a GTX 1050, but then I realised that my CPU (i5-7600) is bottlenecking my GPU, especially in open world games like AC and GTA V where I struggle to maintain 60fps.

I'm looking to upgrade my i5-7600 to a Ryzen 5 3600, but is the performance gain worth replacing my entire CPU + Motherboard for? or should I go for a 2600 or just wait out for Gen 4?
2600 only ard 100 bucks cheaper than 3600.
Might as well opt for 3600 in my opinion.prob can last 2-3 years given current intel incompetence manufacturing process.

But if super budget maybe can save more buying 2600 during BF sales when they clearing old stocks.
MrAwesomeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2019, 06:49 PM   #863
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
watzup_ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 18,265
I recently upgraded by GPU to a GTX1660 Super from a GTX 1050, but then I realised that my CPU (i5-7600) is bottlenecking my GPU, especially in open world games like AC and GTA V where I struggle to maintain 60fps.

I'm looking to upgrade my i5-7600 to a Ryzen 5 3600, but is the performance gain worth replacing my entire CPU + Motherboard for? or should I go for a 2600 or just wait out for Gen 4?
You can consider a 2700X on Amazon that cost pretty much the same as a 3600. It's a good processor that comes with a good stock heatsink.
Processor
Ryzen 5 1600X
Mainboard
Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX 1080 Ti 11GB
Memory
Klevv DDR4 3000 2x8GB CL14
Display
Dell U2515H
Storage
Samsung 850 Pro & Evo 512GB/ Crucual MX500 500GB/ WD Black 750GB
Optical Storage
LG Bluray Drive
Casing
Fractal Design ARC Mini R2
PSU
Seasonic G550
Audio
Realtek ALC887
OS
Windows 10 Pro 64bit

watzup_ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2019, 09:52 PM   #864
High Supremacy Member
 
Goodshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 43,581
I recently upgraded by GPU to a GTX1660 Super from a GTX 1050, but then I realised that my CPU (i5-7600) is bottlenecking my GPU, especially in open world games like AC and GTA V where I struggle to maintain 60fps.

I'm looking to upgrade my i5-7600 to a Ryzen 5 3600, but is the performance gain worth replacing my entire CPU + Motherboard for? or should I go for a 2600 or just wait out for Gen 4?
Ur 1660 super wasn't powerful in the 1st place, even a $250 used 1070ti easily pwn it
Processor
Ryzen R5 3600
Mainboard
MSI 450 Tomahawk Max
Graphics Card
Asus Gtx970
Memory
DDR4 16 GB
Display
Dell U2715H
Storage
Lexar Nvme 480GB
Casing
Fractal Design DEFINE R5
PSU
Super Flower 650
Audio
Swan m50w
OS
win 10

Goodshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2019, 01:41 PM   #865
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
XxInNOutxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14,066
Looking for some help here. Just pieced together my computer but my keyboard does not work.

ASRock B450 Steel Legend with Ryzen 5 3600
G.skill 2x8 GB 3600MHZ
Sapphire 5700xt nitro+

When I turned the Pc on, the monitor displays the POST screen where I have to input F2/Del to go into the BIOS setup. However my USB keyboard is unable to work. LEDs were on and it was on USB 2.0 input.

Anyone knows how to rectify this problem?
Processor
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 6000+
Mainboard
GA-MA69G-S3H
Graphics Card
BIOSTAR V8803GT52
Memory
2x Kingston DDR2-667
Display
Samsung Syncmaster510N
Storage
Hitachi 160GB
Optical Storage
LG Securdisc
Casing
CM 690
PSU
Antec Trupower Trio! 550w
Audio
DBtech USB speakers
OS
Windos XP SP2

XxInNOutxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2019, 02:38 PM   #866
Member
 
StationA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 410
Looking for some help here. Just pieced together my computer but my keyboard does not work.

ASRock B450 Steel Legend with Ryzen 5 3600
G.skill 2x8 GB 3600MHZ
Sapphire 5700xt nitro+

When I turned the Pc on, the monitor displays the POST screen where I have to input F2/Del to go into the BIOS setup. However my USB keyboard is unable to work. LEDs were on and it was on USB 2.0 input.

Anyone knows how to rectify this problem?
The MB has the sticker say Ryzen 3rd Gen ready? if so, just clear CMOS and try boot again...
StationA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2019, 03:14 PM   #867
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
XxInNOutxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14,066
The MB has the sticker say Ryzen 3rd Gen ready? if so, just clear CMOS and try boot again...
Yeap got the orange ryzen 3rd gen ready sticker on mobo box...

Clear CMOS is just power down, unplug the cable cord from PSU and use screwdriver to link with CMOS jumper header?
Processor
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 6000+
Mainboard
GA-MA69G-S3H
Graphics Card
BIOSTAR V8803GT52
Memory
2x Kingston DDR2-667
Display
Samsung Syncmaster510N
Storage
Hitachi 160GB
Optical Storage
LG Securdisc
Casing
CM 690
PSU
Antec Trupower Trio! 550w
Audio
DBtech USB speakers
OS
Windos XP SP2

XxInNOutxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2019, 03:57 PM   #868
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,073
Any news on 3900x n 3950x?
PPkiller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2019, 07:57 PM   #869
Member
 
StationA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 410
Yeap got the orange ryzen 3rd gen ready sticker on mobo box...

Clear CMOS is just power down, unplug the cable cord from PSU and use screwdriver to link with CMOS jumper header?
yes. just few seconds should do.
StationA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2019, 01:31 PM   #870
High Supremacy Member
 
haylui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29,048
Any news on 3900x n 3950x?
3950x Already released. Reviews are everywhere.
Processor
AMD FX 8350 + Antec Kuhler 920+ Corsair SP120 Perf
Mainboard
ASUS M5A97 PRO
Graphics Card
Sapphire HD7970
Memory
Corsair CMX16GX 4x4GB
Display
Philips 220CW
Storage
Transcend 128GB + 500GB WD Blue + 250GB seagate
Optical Storage
Samsung 22x DVD±RW
Casing
ThermalTake Level 10GTS
PSU
FSP AURUM 92+ Series PT-650M
Audio
VIA VT1828S + Logitech X-230
OS
Windows 10 Pro

haylui is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On